Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-24/32-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 148HP
2.4L I4 171HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 21 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt in the bottom 17% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
17%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Mar 29, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
lots of pep..great gas mileage..fold down seats...antenna NOT on the roof

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
haven't found any yet

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I love this little car!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 19, 2012

Gopi
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Super smooth ride for a small car
No engine noise at highway speeds
Great gas mileage
Reliable
Affordable
Well designed

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Ummm cons, I'll be honest on this as well, I wish the stereo was a bit louder and more leg room in the rear but this is a compact car. There is some wind noise.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I love the smooth ride and no engine noise at highway speeds, you can tell when GM designed this car they thought about the ride quality and gas mpg also reliability. I've never had a single problem with mine. Maybe I just got a good one??? I also use it as my daily commuter.
Also my interior isn't that bad. It's black dash with gun metalish grey and light gray. It's not an eye sore but I think this type of interior only comes with 2008+ but I love it!!!
Would definitely be buying Chevys from now on! :) Mine is a LT.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Love the get up and go the little car has and offten find the cruise control is my friend do to the smoth ride the car gives considering how small it is.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Seems to have a lot of road noise and with 28000 miles the gas mileage is lagging to 26 miles per gallon instead of the 34 that I was getting.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I like the car over all. It is the first new car I have ever had. I would like to see it improve over the next few years however.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2009
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I have had since 02/08 purchased new and now in 12/09 have 43k miles. So far I have had to replace a broken valve stem on my tire that fused to the valve (GM would not warrant) today I am having an upper control arm replaced which, according to the shop, should have lasted 40k more miles, a sway bar is being replaced and an alignment.

The dealer cannot explain but I am outside of my powertrain and did not purchase an extended warranty thinking it would not be necessary. Lesson learned here--get the extended warranty and do not buy GM. They have been absolutely heartless. I couldn't have caused the bushing to pop out of my control arm--impossible. So, today has set me back 440.00.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Read above.

I am seriously disappointed. This was the first brand new car I ever purchased and I can't stop kicking myself.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 6, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
quick w/ good milage

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
interior, street credit

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
need tips for x-tra hp and fuel econ.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Look,Gas Mileage! Very Smooth ride!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Center console could be a little better

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Overall great gas mileage good price nice look smooth ride


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I actually like the interior (LT, coupe) compared to the rest of the reviews I have read. Large windows. Smooth ride. Great gas mileage. I had a cavalier and my mom bought a sedan cobalt in 2006, then I recently bought my cobalt. I LOVE THIS CAR!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The spoiler does cut off the view through the back window. Seats seem a little tough/hard compared to other cars I have sat in.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Best car ever!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It gets good gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It does 180's in the ice and snow on the road. I could have been in a serious accident. We have no keyless entry on our model which is annoying. Also it is so small my husband and son hit their heads on the ceiling when they get in.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
A lot of car for the money. Quiet and smooth ride. Revolution package is a great value with anti-lock brakes,16 inch alloy wheels and tires, spoiler, chrome exhaust tip and some have front to back stripe all for about $800.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nicer interior

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Great car for the money, especially with the rebates and deep discoints which make it one of the best values period.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 15, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Exterior appearance (the coupe only).
Lay-out and design of the radio and H-VAC center stack. The design of the dash is very straight forward and pleasing.
Driver info center with features like oil life monitor and tire pressure gauge.
Gas mileage, considering the nice performance.
Lots of "extra" features not found in other cars of this class.
Lovely brushed aluminum trim inside and quality switches on doors/radio.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The plastic materials used on the dash and doors could use an upgrade.
Rear visibility.
Poor quality/insufficient height and storage in the tiny armrest/console.
Cramped, uncomfortable back seats (BUT it's is a compact car).
Gas cap is located on the passenger side leading to unusual maneuvering at gas stations.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I have had two 2010 Cobalts: A base LS coupe with a manual tranny and no frills, and now a 1-LT coupe with an auto tranny and lots of bells and whistles. I totalled the first one due to my driving.

The manual was fun for a while and helped wring every horsepower out of the 2.2L engine. The base car had very cheap fabric on the seats. However, for an LS (the LS has base content plus air conditioning), I got the wonderful trip computer, tire pressure monitor, and other information features; remote trunk release, split rear seatback, NICE radio with auxillary input, chrome ringed guages, and nice looking brushed aluminum painted trim bits.

When I got the LT, I was really really happy with the content level. First of all, the seats/fabric was so much better! Having power windows, locks, mirrors and remote lock/unlock/trunk is so much better. Remote start is very cool. Also, it has a superb 4-speed auto which seems to almost anticipate my foot on the petal. My car also has the top radio with the USB port. Unfortunately I think it only recognizes Apple Ipods as it won't work with my MP3 device. I also have cruise on the steering wheel, along with driver and passenger vanity mirrors. This car is a great value! Also the DOHC 2.2L LAP engine is awesome, with variable valve timing- it has more horsepower than Corolla, Focus, and Civic standard models and is always willing to play.

This is all a great value because I happened to find this car as a leftover 2010 and a discontinued model that the dealership wanted to get rid of. I got the car for around $13000 (sticker was $18700) with all of the rebates. I plan on keeping this care a long time (long live the powertrain warranty!)!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2008 Avalanche
2008 Aveo
2008 Cobalt
2008 Colorado
2008 Corvette
2008 Equinox
2008 Express
2008 HHR
2008 Impala
2008 Malibu
2008 Malibu Hybrid
2008 Silverado
2008 Silverado HD
2008 Suburban
2008 Tahoe
2008 Tahoe Hybrid
2008 TrailBlazer
2008 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact