Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 11-15/15-21 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.3L V8 320HP
5.3L V8 310HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche in the top 23% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
77%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche also consider:
2008 Chevrolet Avalanche Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Versatility and features
  2. Looks
  3. Powerful engine performance
  4. Solid fit and finish
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Torque and low RPM performance
  2. Better transmission
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More storage spaces
  5. Remote start range
Submitted Oct 6, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Look,Handling,performance and gas mileage is 4 to 5 gallons more than the Chev. Silverado

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche?
A few more ext. colors would be nice, but BLACK is still the best looking one!!

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Review Guide from a 1 to a 5 would be 4.9. Bull give it a 5. That is the LTZ Model. Which I own!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Feb 6, 2016
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The Avalanche is an excellent truck, it's the first truck I've ever personally owned and I think I've made the perfect choice. With its very comfortable and drives incredibly well and easy to maneuver around town, especially for a truck. I don't spend a lot of time hauling stuff so the short box is nice, but what's even nicer is the ability to make it into a long box when I need to, along with having the 3 piece hard top to keep out weather and thieves

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The biggest complaint I have about the Avalanche is the gas mileage, 13-14 in town and 17 to 18 on the high, but what can you expect? It weighs nearly 6000 pounds and only has a 5.3 liter in it. Another problem I have is a relatively low payload capacity of only about 1400 pounds, although for short trip it shouldn't be too bad to overload this slightly, I've had about 1700 in there before with no noticeable damage.

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
The Avalanche is an excellent vehicle, it's comfortable and has a very nice interior. It has a nice towing capacity and drives amazingly. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a useful truck that doesn't always need a long box.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 27, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
It's a shame it's being taken out of production now, especially when it stands alone in the pickup/suv market. It's well built, versatile, and one of the most safe trucks on the market. Not any other vehicle made fits the overall usefulness of this truck.

The ride is as good as you can get in any SUV. Seats 4 to 5 adults with comfort. Has the luxury of an Escalade, and had the unmatched cargo space that is easily transformed from a safe travel vehicle a place to put your luggage out of site locked up out of the weather and away from theft.

Easily converted to a unit that will hall full 4 x 8 sheets of plywood and still not be exposed to the weather. Or in two minutes, remove the top from the bed and haul a refrigerator or bed. At the same time, tow a large trailer like no car/van can do. All the while looking sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
One thing I have always wished is for more power with better fuel economy. But don't we always want more for less.

Consider this. Not one vehicle out there provides a complete package for the family, young or old. This one truck may not get 25 miles / gal., but this one vehicle serves the purpose of 3, therefore, not bad when you consider that you will only need this one truck for all of your needs.

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Though this truck is being discontinued, it is worth your time to consider getting one now. GM had to cut models fell through the cracks. However having put over 300,000 miles of the past two Avalanche trucks I owned. I went to purchase another top of the line model last month while the selection was still available.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2013

Don Nesbitt
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I am extremely pleased with my 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche and only wished the gas mileage was better. The first trip was 20.3 MPG Canadian. I recognize the vehicle was new. I enjoyed driving it on the highway more than my 2013 Lexus RX350. The vehicle was very tight and comfortable to ride in. I believe I made a good decision in purchasing the Avalanche. Entry and exit were very comfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 12, 2009

facebook user
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?
4 wheel drive

Cons: How would you improve your 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Breaks are screwed up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the look i have red. i like the ride it is grate .this is my fist truck thanks chevy/

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
i added my on litte flava.i wish u could see it ladies love it

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I love my truck HELLOW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
style ride

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
more mpg

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
nice ride, good off road, good on beach, nice tow veh.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The overall versatility. Great ride characteristics. Good horsepower. Great looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Better fit on tonneau panels. Better choice of wheels. Better low end performance.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
This is my second Avalanche. My first, 2003, was great and this one is even better. This one is the LTZ and has everything I want, or need.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Looks/Style, Ride, Versatility, Rear view camera.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Telescopic steering column, coin holder, and add a "dead pedal".

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
A good all-purpose vehicle and you can't beat the nice smooth ride. I like all of the features on my LTZ AV, but a vehicle of this price should have a telescopic steering column to allow a more comfortable driving position. Handles good, tows good, rides great, decent gas mileage for a vehicle of this size.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 19, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Looks, ride and flexability

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Although I haven't experienced it, there appears to be a problem with discolorization of the exterior vinyl material. Hopefully, that has been addressed.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I love it! It fits my needs very well.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche? 2008 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2008 Avalanche
2008 Aveo
2008 Cobalt
2008 Colorado
2008 Corvette
2008 Equinox
2008 Express
2008 HHR
2008 Impala
2008 Malibu
2008 Malibu Hybrid
2008 Silverado
2008 Silverado HD
2008 Suburban
2008 Tahoe
2008 Tahoe Hybrid
2008 TrailBlazer
2008 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact