Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Acura TSX Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Acura TSX

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Luxury Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-20/28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 205HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 13 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Acura TSX in the bottom 39% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
39%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Acura TSX in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Acura TSX also consider:
2008 Acura TSX Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Acura TSX
  1. XM radio
  2. Fun to drive
  3. Heated seats
  4. Luxurious
  5. Leather seats
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Acura TSX
  1. Bluetooth connectivity
  2. Moon roof control location
  3. Rear visibility
  4. Wind noise
  5. Comfortable ride
Submitted Jul 14, 2017

NP
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
- Great handling
- Strong headlights
- Very reliable
- Good fit and finish
- Understated, handsome styling
- Smooth, eager engine
- Strong resale value

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
- More low end power
- VTEC point high up in powerband
- Weak fog lights
- Manual shift mode on automatic has backwards shift pattern
- Tan leather stains easily
- Integrated audio system makes upgrades tough
- Back seat space can be tight for taller passengers

2008 Acura TSX Review:
2008 TSX 5AT purchased February 2016 with 33,000 miles from Florida. Cross shopped with G35 and 328i, was put off by interior of G35 and reliability concerns regarding the 328i. The 8,000 miles I've put on the car so far have been a pleasure, possibly one of the best handing and well rounded cars out there.

Ride is composed and tight but never jarring except on the harshest NE roads. No wallowing or floating at highway speeds.
Body roll kept to a minimum by front swaybar. Brakes are reassuring but wear on the quicker side. Steering is well weighted and has good feel. The throttle by wire system has touchy tip in.

Headlights are terrific with great projection and sharp cutoff. Fog lights are weak and not very useful. High beams are good but are halogens. Best guess is that halogens are used since HID bulbs take some time to warm up, a negative when the high beams have to be flashed.

The engine, while lacking grunt down low, has excellent top end, although VTEC point is set too high for my liking (kicks in at 6000 rpm for a 7100 rpm redline). Engine is smooth for a large displacement 4 cylinder (twin balance shafts) and sounds good. An easy 30 hp can be found with mild bolt-ons. Engine takes premium only (due to the high compression ratio). Range has been ~350 per tank during mixed mode driving

Transmission shifts are smooth and quick. Manual mode pattern is up for upshifts, down for downshifts (opposite of a true sequential gearbox) and is responsive. Transmission will automatically downshift to prevent stalling. No experience with manual version but universally praised for smooth action.

Interior is very well appointed for an entry level luxury car. Power seats (manual lumbar adjustment). Real leather for perforated sections of the seats, synthetic (vinyl) for the sides. Seat heaters, side mirror heaters, sunroof, HID lights, fog lights, bluetooth (calls only) are all standard. Only options available were transmission and navigation. Rear seats split 60/40 and are tight for taller passengers. Trunk space is good. Tan leather shows stains from dark jeans. Some cheap feeling hard plastics but overall fit and finish are solid. Stock sound system is good but very tough to upgrade (head unit is incorporated with climate control). Bluetooth only works for calls, not music. Added a bluetooth receiver to the aux port (located inside glove box) to remedy issue.

Reliability has been great, although still early in ownership. Only issue has been 2 AC recharges due to a leak.

Overall, a very well rounded car. Terrific combination of performance and practicality. A great alternative to European competitors. Only major complains are lack of low end power and inability to upgrade the stereo system to modern standards.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 9, 2014

Fringineer
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
My '08 feels so plush and smooth, I almost don't regret having to give up my '94 Integra GS-R. Almost.
Great look, and still not too big.
Tech package put handsfree Bluetooth, satellite nav and satellite radio into this car pretty early relative to competitors.
I get 30-32 mpg during mixed commuting in the Rocky Mountain front range.
In winter, fitted with 4 x Studded Hankook Winter iPike the TSX is rock solid in heavy blizzards.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
Better brakes first.
Suspension upgrade second.
I'm told that there aren't many ECU's that will work with my automatic. Crud. Put in manual shift mode, the automatic is almost like paddle shifters.

2008 Acura TSX Review:
Anyone who thinks they need more power than the 2.4 liter four needs to learn to drive! It's a Honda, let it run!
This was a slightly mature replacement for my 1994 GS-R Integra. Beautiful and sophisticated when I need to take the family to the dinner theater, but fun and thrilling enough to appreciate my 104 commuting miles along the mountain foothills.


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
Engine, handling, interior, exterior in that order. Best bang for the buck out there for a luxury car. Engine is more than adequate. Inspires you to drive. Solid build quality, fit and finish. Pick up a low mileage year old model and really save some coin.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
Maybe an 18" wheel option but as is, the car is damn near perfect.

2008 Acura TSX Review:
Purchased an 08 model. I replaced my 03 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT. The Subie was beyond reliable. 7 years old, never in the shop for anything but routine preventative maintenance. The Acura has a lot to live up too. I wanted an 09 Legacy GT but just couldn't swing the price. The 09 stickers for 31K. I paid 24K for mine new in 03. I went to a website and found a bunch of TSX's. They had 1 08 that was just stunning. The car looked, smelled and drove brand new. I paid less for this than I paid for my 03 Subie new. You can't beat the list of standard features for the price. The 2.4L 4 in the TSX is a jewel. Smooth and VERY powerful. Sure it doesn't have the torque of a V6 but the gearing is so well done on the auto that you don't need it. This car wants to run. Putting the tranny in manual mode and launching from a dead stop has high grin factor. The engine sings up to the 7000RPM redline. The chain driven cams have a real F1 sound that is pure music. I'm hooked. Just hope it's as reliable as my Subie was. Not too worried though. Honda/Acura didn't get where they're at by building shoddy products. Looking forward to 7+ years with this car now!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 18, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
Beautiful car with an extensive list of features at a great price!

More importantly though it is an Acura which means it will last a very long time with minimal maintenance. This is my 4th Honda (2 Hondas 2 Acura's) and I have never had a problem with any of them, and all I've ever done is change the oil.

This is the best car I have ever owned and I will never drive anything other than Honda/Acura. They are simply the best! Powerful, comfortable, reliable, sporty, luxurious and great handling!

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
I can't think of anything.

2008 Acura TSX Review:
Great car you will not regret its purchase. Just go get one and you will not have to worry about your car for a very long time! Extremely reliable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 10, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
Features for the money. Good acceleration once you get going. Seating comfort. Placement of controls.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
Torgque off the line. Economy (23 is not that great for a 4 cyl car) The stereo system is not up to luxury car standards. The rear visibiliy is limited.

2008 Acura TSX Review:
Overall I really like my 2008 TSX. I shopped extensively before I bought it and found nothing with all its features for anywhere near the price. It handles very well and is an extremely comfortable car to drive. The controls are well placed, and while intimidating at first, they are easily mastered.
The voice control system is fun, but does not always respond properly.
The most disappointing thing is the initial acceleration. I would think a 205 hp engine could do better. The economy is pretty close to what is on the sticker, (22 and 28), It generally average 23-24 in mixed town/country driving. Acura needs to sub contract the sound system, it is mediocre at best.

Bottom line, it's not perfect, but it is a lot of car for the price and it is fun to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 3, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX?
Luxury and quality at an affordable price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX?
Six cylinder engine and add a convertible model


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Acura TSX?
I love the look of the exterior, especially my pallidium metalic. It has a sporty but classy look with flowing lines.

The interior has a very attractive layout and appearance, with a soft touch dash, very comfortable leather seats, excellent sound system,and a very quiet cabin.

The 4 cylinder has plenty of pep. Admittedly not a race car, but I'm not looking to drag muscle cars off the line. I cruised to Chicago and back at 65-75 miles per hour, including some city driving and averaged 41 miles per gallon (Canadian) for 1800 miles. I had lots of power to pass when necessary.

Transmission is buttery smooth and the car corners very well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Acura TSX?
Always some room for improvement, perhaps add a 6th gear to the auto, and a little more torque to the 4 cylinder.

2010 Acura TSX Review:
This is an excellent car that combines luxury and performance, reasonable price, top rated resale value, and fuel economy for the driver who enjoys driving but doesn't feel the need to have 300+ HP.

I liked the 6 cylinder but found that the 4 had all the power and performance I needed for significantly less.

The front wheel drive in my part of the world is a must over a rear wheel drive car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 22, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Acura TSX?
Larger and more comfortable than old TSX. Quiet, excellent handling, good gas mileage. Excellent base sound system with USB port.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Acura TSX?
Non-glare screen for sound system readout. Push button start.

2009 Acura TSX Review:
Overall, I'm very happy with the car. It has almost as much room as the TL. There's enough (not great) power from the 4 cyl. along with excellent handling. Some have criticized the electric power steering, but I don't have a problem with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 1, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Acura TSX?
I love the Technology Package with the 415 watt ELS Surrond Sound System. The interior is first class all the way and the extrior has really grown on me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Acura TSX?
I would give it more horsepower but to be honest, I went with the TSX because of fuel prices today. It feels quick enough to my surprise, coming from a Nissan Maxima (255hp)with the Elite Package.

2009 Acura TSX Review:
I test drove the new Infiniti G35, and the 2009 Acura TSX with the Tech Pkg. One of the main reasons I went with the TSX is because of fuel prices today. However, the interior in my opinion is a lot better than the G35's. It feels cleaner and more inviting. The Technology Package has every bell and whistle I could ever want. I have gotten many compliments so far in the 3 days I've own it and it really justifies my decision. It really looks a lot better in person than in the photos. I am so happy with my purchase, I would have to recommend this new car to anyobody looking for the right balance of luxry, sportiness and trying to go "green" at the same time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Acura TSX?
Fun to drve.Interior front seats very confortable
Gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Acura TSX?
Torque low RPM
All wheel drive
Diesel engine available

2007 Acura TSX Review:
I used to be in love with VW Passat. Since I bought the TSX, I have just good words to say. Even with the automatic transmission I feel tht I'm driving a european touring car


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Acura TSX Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Acura TSX?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Acura TSX? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Acura TSX? 2008 Acura TSX Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Acura Model Lineup:
2008 MDX
2008 RDX
2008 RL
2008 TL
2008 TSX
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Acura TSX | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact