Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen Beetle Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2007 Volkswagen Beetle

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 22/30-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I5 150HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2007 Volkswagen Beetle in the top 34% of 2007 model year vehicles.
Rank:
66%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2007 Volkswagen Beetle in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2007 Volkswagen Beetle also consider:
2007 Volkswagen Beetle Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2007 Volkswagen Beetle
  1. Sound system
  2. The looks
  3. Aux port for MP3
  4. Convertible top
  5. Ergonomic design
Top 5 Cons of the 2007 Volkswagen Beetle
  1. Reduce wind noise
  2. Build quality
  3. Gas mileage
  4. Less interior plastic
  5. Standard CD changer
Submitted Feb 12, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
The VW Convertible has great pick up, easy to pass other cars. The interior is good and durable (leather).

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
As soon as I got the VW (17000 miles) there was a leak coming from the rag top, and the dealership refused to fix it, or asked for 600.00 to dry out the carpet. I replaced the carpet for $70.00.

Then the clutch broke when I was about 150 miles away from home.

I have also reported the brake pedal sticking on numerous occasions. Finally at the last recall, I was able to get the service person to put it in writing about the brake pedal. The pedal continues to stick although "they" couldn't make it happen, also sometimes I can't get the car to go in reverse or 1st gear.

Poor visibility for backing up.

I believe the car is basically a lemon mechanically.

2007 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Due to the mechanical problems at such low mileage, I would give this car a poor rating. It's not reliable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 5, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
I love everything! This is my first 'Beetle' and she is so fun to drive!
The cherry red color w/black convertible is very striking. I get soooo many compliments!
It has a lot of pep, is great on gas, and it so comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
My only complaint would be the rattling of my windows, they squeak when I drive at any speed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
Handles great on icy roads, I think because it sits low and wide to the ground.
Gas mileage is good.
Drives and feels like a sports car.
Love the interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
The seats are hard to release to make passenger entry into the back.
My steering column seems to have issues since my ignition is stiff and I sometimes have difficulty putting in and removing my key.
The headlamps have been a constant problem since it was 2 months old. I have had to replace the passenger headlamp 3 times and the driver side once.
PARTS ARE WAY TOO EXPENSIVE.

2007 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Love this car and get a lot of compliments on the bright red paint, but it's not worth the cost of maintenance. Going to trade it off and get an American made car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 5, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
Fit and Finish, Performance, fun to drive, a look like non other.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
Better fuel mileage

2007 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Love the car


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
I love the visability, the 2.5L engine has a lot of pep and it is too much fun to drive!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?
I have a rattle in my drivers side that is very irritating. I think it may be the glass but I am not sure. You only hear it at speeds under 40MPH.

2007 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
If VW can fix my rattle, I will be 150% happy. That is my only issue!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 26, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
My wife is 5'11 and I am 6'6. We used to own a BMW Z3 into which we folded and cramped ourselves, though the ride was worth it. I recently purchased a BMW Z4 3.0 for her and she made me take it back. Too hard, too manly and too low. Ok, so what next. Well, together we shopped and purchased a gently use '06 Beetle with rag top, Tiptronic, Monsoon w/6 cd changer, heated seats and a ton of interior room. The new 2.5 is super smooth through all the gears and we just it. Ok, it still isn't make in Detroit, but after a ride in a new Sky turbo, we made the right choice.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Just a tad windy with the top down, but definitely not as bad as the Z or other real sport cars. This is a low and slow landcruiser with verve, great dark gray metallic paint and nicely thought out wheels. The interior is a little basic, but not a plastic bowl like some of the American counterparts, oh I hate saying that. I really have no gripes, especially since the interior room is just wonderful.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Overall, this is a definite 4.5 out of five. Nothing really is a 5, even the high end cars, but this is close. The only consolation is that it is made NEAR the USA in Mexico, but once you drive one, few things in the price range will do.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 29, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Only had 17,000K when purchased in October-2008; now has 30+K with no major problems (was Certified/pre-owned).
Solid body, feel safe riding in it.
Handles fantastic in the snow and on ice.
Love the automatic sunroof and the Monsoon radio/CD/Mp3 player. My IPod Touch music sounds GREAT...especially The Beatles & Simon & Garfunkle :)
Get lots of looks, comments, and smiles.
The heated seats are a big PLUS in the winter.
Love this car!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Mileage is less than expected - 22-26 mpg, but not bad for a "fun" car.
Takes longer to warm up in the winter than my '05 Focus.
Have to go 35 miles out of town for dealer warranty service.
Hard to see out the back right passenger window, when backing out of a diagonal parking space.
Otherwise, no complaints from this old broad. I'm having fun with it.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Bought my one-owner,Certified 2006 New Beetle, Shadow Blue, in October-2008. It had about 17,000K on it; now has 30K. No problems other than a thermostat fuse that needs replaced. Get the oil changed at the local dealer (runs on regular oil just as well as the synthetic stuff, for around $30.00). Love the automatic sunroof, the leather (gray) interior, Mp3 and CD player. Makes me feel young driving it (I'm 67). You only live once. I put on my NASCAR hat and sunglasses and cruise. (I) don't use the Triptonic Standard shift often, but I know that "S" on the gear shift means "PEEL OUT!" (?)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2014

Wayne A. Cooksley
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2012 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
I own a 2006 Volkswagen Beetle Has a TDI Diesel. I Have 83,000 miles on so-far. I keep ALL the gas register receipts.

It's averaging 43 M.P.G.'s. What I don't really like is that during the winter, it's really "COLD-Blooded" even when I plug in the heater.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 22, 2009

Carol Kline
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Beetle?
CUTE. Brings back the old look of the 40's (check this).

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Beetle?
Somewhat average hp.
Nice soft top.

2008 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
08 convertible in review.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 25, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volkswagen Beetle?
I like the way it handles. I like the room I have inside, especially on the passenger side in the front.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Volkswagen Beetle Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2007 Volkswagen Beetle?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle? Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Beetle? 2007 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2007 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2007 Beetle
2007 Eos
2007 GTI
2007 Jetta
2007 Passat
2007 Passat Wagon
2007 Rabbit
2007 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2007 Volkswagen Beetle | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact