Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,388 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Camry Solara Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2007 Toyota Camry Solara

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 20-24/29-34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 155HP
3.3L V6 210HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2007 Toyota Camry Solara in the bottom 50% of 2007 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2007 Toyota Camry Solara in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2007 Toyota Camry Solara also consider:
2007 Toyota Camry Solara Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2007 Toyota Camry Solara
  1. Comfortable
  2. Convertible top
  3. Sporty look
  4. Rich interior material & design
  5. Moonroof
Top 5 Cons of the 2007 Toyota Camry Solara
  1. Rear visibility
  2. Wind noise
  3. Power passenger seat
  4. Back head rests blocks view
  5. Pick up hesitation
Submitted Sep 26, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Bought a 2000 Toyota Solara and drove it 300,000 miles with no problems. I expect the same from my 2007 Solara. Wonder why they quit making it?

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Love it as is.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Feels like a luxury car...could be rebranded a Lexus SC330. Toyota reliability and lots of fun to drive!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Reposition top down and window down switches, rear window should be larger...thats it.

2007 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
Love the car! No other 4 seat reliable competition on the market in this price range.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 9, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Looks, ride and handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?
Does'nt need improving.

2007 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
Love it, nice riding car, more than adequate pick-up, nice looking car


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 12, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Camry Solara?
Comfortable back seat.
Driver's seat adjustments.
Bells and whistles: auto climate, GPS, Bluetooth, steering wheel-mounted controls, seat warmers.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Camry Solara?
Redesign drive train to eliminate pronounced throttle hesitation.
Stiffen suspension for a sportier ride and better control.
Change geometry to give better rear visibility.
Enlarge rear window.

2008 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
This model is a convertible. I selected this because it's one of the few convertibles on the market that will comfortably seat four. It's a two-door with sporty styling, but don't be fooled: This is a sedan in coupe's clothing.

Its V6 provides ample power, and the transmission's "S" mode allows greater control, though still a pale imitation of manual transmission driving. The suspension gives the feel of an American sedan, not an import coupe. It handles most conditions well, except medium-sized bumps which tend to make it feel like it's having resonant vibrations. I would prefer a stiffer, sportier suspension though the tradeoff would be a harder ride. Steering is good and typical of mid-size car. Despite the available power, the throttle hesitates horriby in quick acceleration. This seems to be common complaint with the Solara for at least the last couple of model years.

The convertible top is easy to operate by a lone driver. The boot for the top when down requires one person to visit both sides of the car a couple of times to get it seated but it's a quick process. The boot folds to store in the truck but is a bit bulky and awkward. At highway speed, rippling from airflow is evident in the boot which makes me wonder about how well it will wear over the long term. Rear visibility is poor; with the top down and boot on I can only see the top half of the windshield and roof of the car behind me. With the top down, visibility is even more constrained by the small rear window.

There are not independent window controls for the rear side windows, although a single control in the front allows all four windows to be controlled at once, first raising or lowering the rear then the front windows.

My model is feature-rich, with auto climate control, GPS system, multi-CD changer, seat warmers, Bluetooth interface for phones. However, the user interface for the GPS system is not intuitive, and the Bluetooth does not offer the simplest features like tapping in the phone's own voice command system and contact list (my portable Garmin nuvi GPS does a great job at both of these, and only cost $350, a fraction of the cost of the GPS option in the Solara). Steering wheel-mounted controls are convenient, though lack a mute button, like I have on my '99 Toyota Sienna van.

Overall it's a wonderful car that is fun to drive with the top down and will turn a few heads. And the kids can sit in the back without the front headrests in their noses.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Everything. The 4 cyl obviously is more sluggish than the V6 but considering it is a 4 and the mileage I get, I think it is excellent. Those who complain about the lack of power with the 4 cyl should have purchased the V6- didn't you people test drive prior to purchasing????

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
The rear visibility is a bit obscured but that is due to styling, so take it easy until you get used to your "new" blind spots... I do wish the radio and clock/information center would have the awesome blue lighting that the dash instrument panel has, rather than the green which really doesn't match (I didn't notice this prior to purchase because I had not test drove it at night, however it would not have affected my decision to purchase).

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
Great car! I have had it for 4 weeks now and am very satisfied. Of course, I had a 1998 Camry prior to this one so I've been "sold" on Toyota all along! The '98 had a 2.2 L 4 cyl which I was satisfied with and this '06 Solara's 2.4 L definitely has more "pep" to it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Comfort of the seats, huge trunk, heated seats, smooth and quiet drive

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Larger rear window with top up for better visability; automatic cover for when the top is down, but don't take away from the trunk space.

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
I was finally done with the minivan stage and wanted a convertible, but still needed trunk space, which no convertibles had. Not only does this car look and handle great, but it is so practical. The back seat is completely comfortable and you can not believe what I can get in that trunk - it's huge! The only thing you sacrifice for trunk space is the convertible cover. It doesn't have the nice automatic covers like more expensive cars, but space more than makes up for it. The only negative about the car is poor visibility in the rear with the top up. Very difficult to see backing up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2006

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
We have owned three beetle convertibles, two Porsche 911's, a Mercedes E320 Convertible, countless jeep CJ's and wranglers all for the same reason, to enjoy top down motoring. We rented a Solara convertible for a ten day tour of Arizona and bought one immediately. We have enjoyed the car for six months and would not be without one. We can afford to drive whatever we want. We neither want nor covet any other car period. OK, a 911 Turbo Cabriolet would be nice, but we no longer want the care and feeding burden. The value, fun, space and expected reliability of this car make it unbeatable. We are at real motoring peace with this perfect ride in our stable. Rent one for a couple of days


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Driver seat comfort, large trunk, cool styling, moonroof, safety features

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Cannot use satellite radio, would like more elbow room, passenger seat is not powered, stuff falls all over in trunk, some buttons (like defrost) hard to see and reach w/o losing focus on driving--

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
Have driven over 60,000 miles in less than 2 years. Vehicle is fun, lean on fuel, untimely style, quick, efficient, and safe. Am completely pleased. Large trunk, good sound system, excellent air flow, and comfortable for the driver. Had to replace windshield due to road hazard (expected with hi mileage). As long as you keep serviced, this vehicle won't let you down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Quick "automatic" top, beautiful interior, comfort, roomy back seat, fast and powerful,

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Do something to improve the driver's rear view. The small window coupled with the rear headrests make you rely heavily on your side mirrors.

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
My first car was an old MGB convertible and I decided at 35 it was time for another convertible. I knew that it was going to be a hard change after becoming used to a four door sedan. When I test drove the Solara I knew I had found the one. There is actually room in the backseat for two tall adults and the trunk is a decent size for my shopping trips to the mall. My favorite part is how the top goes down at the push of a button in less than 15 seconds. The SLE interior is very luxurious and the hidden features of the navigation system (maintenance schedule, calendar, etc.) are very nice. There aren't many around here so people are always asking me what it is and telling me how good it looks.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Exterior style.
Brand.
Motor.
Fuel economy.
Quiet ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Camry Solara?
Rear head room.
More standard options.

2006 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
Great looking car at a good price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Camry Solara Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2007 Toyota Camry Solara?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara? Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Camry Solara? 2007 Toyota Camry Solara Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2007 Toyota Model Lineup:
2007 4Runner
2007 Avalon
2007 Camry
2007 Camry Hybrid
2007 Camry Solara
2007 Corolla
2007 FJ Cruiser
2007 Highlander
2007 Highlander Hybrid
2007 Land Cruiser
2007 Matrix
2007 Prius
2007 RAV4
2007 Sequoia
2007 Sienna
2007 Tacoma
2007 Tundra
2007 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2007 Toyota Camry Solara | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise