Log in
5.7 million people served. 4,720 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Dodge Caliber Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2007 Dodge Caliber

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 23-27/26-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 148HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 174 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2007 Dodge Caliber in the bottom 10% of 2007 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2007 Dodge Caliber in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2007 Dodge Caliber also consider:
2007 Dodge Caliber Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2007 Dodge Caliber
  1. Very roomy inside
  2. Nice handling
  3. Awesome gadgets
  4. Sassy looks
  5. Quiet ride
Top 5 Cons of the 2007 Dodge Caliber
  1. Stronger engine
  2. Better gas mileage
  3. Back visibility
  4. Arm rest not comfortable
  5. Remote hatch opener
Submitted Sep 22, 2012

TestDrive
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Roomy, comfortable and reliable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Travel noise.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
For what it's worth, this 07 is exactly what the person in need of a reliable affordable economical based means of transportation.

Keep up with regular maintenance and it will be the car you love to own. I fear that people who have a devotion to cars like Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Ford, Chrysler will fail overall reviews of this car, but somebody like me...who just wants a car that will be there and get me there without any major maintenance issues, get me good fuel mileage with today's gas prices...and looks sharp...BINGO!

Honestly, I can do without individual reviews...Every brand bears a few lemons in the basket...a car built on a Monday may not be as good as a car built on a Thursday...but at least the consumer can if needed fix the problem with minimum damage to the pocket book...4 stars overall, and I have driven A LOT of different cars in my lifetime.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 22, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Stereo sounds great.
Enough space for my bulky stuff when I fold the rear seats down.
Acceleration is good enough.
Looks great (got a black one).
Saves me on gas.
Compact enough to park almost anywhere.
Beverage cooler/compartment.
iPod holder.
A/C is good enough, heater even better.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Visibility, seems like the windows need to get bigger.
Needs more rear seat leg room (for tall friends).
Needs more power going up high altittudes.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
I bought this for myself on my birthday this year (2011); and so far it's been good. I was the 3rd owner and I know that the former owners don't know diddly-squat about how to maintain cars. So I did the repairs and what not, and so far it has not failed me or my expectations for this genre of vehicle. Though this car could use more power, a turbo air intake can help and a quick change of exhaust system can help with that issue.

Bottom line is... this is not meant to be a sports coupe/car; a atv or a jeep, or a van. It's an economy crossover. Great for roadtrips with friends, small families, and for the most part, the city.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 15, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
100,000+ miles and not a single major problem (aside from general maintenance).

AC Plug, use it all the time for my laptop.

The Boston Acoustics sound system is awesome, love it!!

Handles great and plenty of power. (Have the fuel injectors cleaned at every oil change!!!!!)

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
I agree, some of the interior and exterior parts look cheap. The driver side rear tail light isn't sealed correctly and allows water to collect inside the housing. However we are talking about a $17,000 car and not a $50,000 luxury vehicle.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
I've put over 100,000 miles on the car and no major problems with it. Granted, the miles are mostly highway. I'm about to have the brakes replaced for the first time. Alignment has been done once at 50K miles and I had no mention of problems with tire rods or joints as some others have posted.

For those who are having power or combustion problems, that is caused from the ethanol in the gas gumming up your fuel injectors. If you have reached the point of low power or combustion problems, buying the fuel injector cleaner from an autoparts store just won't cut it. You need to take it to a place like Xpress Lube or Jiffy Lube and have the fuel injectors serviced. The Caliber will run like a champ after that.

After that, use an over the counter fuel injector cleaner every few fill ups to keep your Caliber running smoothly.

And read your service manual people, most problems you are going to have with the car can be prevented if you have the right maintenance done at the right time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 3, 2013

Michelle
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Exterior is modern and sporty.
The sound system is great and the stereo and flashlight are fun.
Once on the highway the pick up is really great.
Good gas mileage.
Heated seats are awesome on a cold winter morning.
The sun roof works perfectly!
Leather seats are easy to clean and look good.
AWD is amazing in the snow - drives like a tank.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
From stop to 35 mph no pick up at all.
Loud inside, road and highway noise so loud you cannot hear the radio.
Multiple alignment and front end issues becomes out of line constantly with any rough roads.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
I initially loved this car it is fun to drive and gets pretty good gas mileage. Then I got a job with highway driving and the road noise is very uncomfortable when trying to drive home and to work on the highway. After each winter the car needs completely re aligned and I have spent $3,000 just on tires alignments and balancing the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 19, 2013

Smiles2232
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
I bought it last night. I Love this vehicle inside and outside.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Everything looks perfect!

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
Nice design inside & outside. I love it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2012

erica
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
I like how the Caliber sits higher off the ground then most cars.
Good sound system, lots of storage room, spacious interior, comfortable seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
To be honest with you, other then what I've mentioned above, I really hate my car. But I'm pretty sure it's just because I bought Lemon! I have only owned my car since the beginning of February 2012 and it is now only November 2012, I have put well over 1500 bucks into this car and have drove it only for 10,000km, so I'm definitely thinking about trading it in.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
I was happy with the interior and exterior looks of the car, but engine wise, not so much.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 5, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
size - roomy enough for two and luggage, or an extra two people if the front seats aren't back far.
mileage - 32.6 on a recent cross country trip.
acceleration - good once CVT is tweaked
comfort - good, adjustable armrest great feature for a shorter driver like me

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Keyed tailgate
larger side windows at rear
better stereo

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
I've had my 2007 SXT for about a year. In that time, I've taken it on a cross-country and several statewide trips with no issues whatsoever. I've put over 7000 miles on it in since I bought it. This is a very good car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 24, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Originally bought it for the safety features. AWD, Sports package, and fuel economy. Do I like it now...NO...Detroit Friday afternoon special!!! piece of crap.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Burn it.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
Bouhgt it at 200 km now 104,000. Took it in on regular checks and mainteance every month. Guys at the shop are friends now. What work has been done:calipers, ball joints, tie rods, allignments, brakes, gear shift cable, power steering line, electrical work, 3 pads for heated driver seat, fuel regulator, wipers 20,000 km, tires at 45,000 km, plastic latch broke for drop down stereo, plastic covers over speakers broken, dent in roof (pops and moves around - lots of fun in the car wash), paint is pealing on exterior already, chrome coming off inside and out, pain to clean, noisy, squeaky, blind spots (pedestrians look out), could use more leg room and the best part now...the TIPM needs to be replaced.
Would I buy another Dodge NEVER!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 19, 2012

Diana
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Gas saver and small, but roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Better interior, better performance.

2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
Avoid buying a Dodge Caliber. For the price, there are better cars out there - anything Toyota, Honda or Nissan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2012
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
The exterior is modern as well as the interior

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber?
Not as fuel efficient as stated upon purchase
Have replaced control arms, ball joints, bushings, brakes and rotors twice, tie rods, alignment and numerous, numerous things in the past year.
Constant squeaking despite the thousands that I have spent in the last year. Nothing seems to take that noise away unless it is raining...and yes, I have had everything lubricated as well.
I would NEVER recommend this money pit...ever...numerous mechanics have "diagnosed" the issues but once they replace parts, it never solves the problem. I CANNOT wait until I can sell this vehicle and move onto something else...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Dodge Caliber Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2007 Dodge Caliber?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Caliber? Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Caliber? 2007 Dodge Caliber Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2007 Dodge Model Lineup:
2007 Caliber
2007 Caravan/Grand Caravan
2007 Charger
2007 Dakota
2007 Durango
2007 Magnum
2007 Nitro
2007 Sprinter
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2007 Dodge Caliber | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise