Log in
5.7 million people served. 6,225 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen Passat Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Volkswagen Passat

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-22/28-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 200HP
3.6L V6 280HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 82 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Volkswagen Passat in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Volkswagen Passat in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Volkswagen Passat also consider:
2006 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Volkswagen Passat
  1. Performance
  2. Dashboard
  3. Handling
  4. Comfortable seats
  5. Navigation
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Volkswagen Passat
  1. Standard fog lights
  2. Less expensive
  3. Standard xenon lights
  4. Gas mileage
  5. Offer more features on 2.0T
Submitted May 4, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Solid handling.
Responsive and powerful motor in the 2.0T - turbo lag is very minor.
Good highway fuel economy. I saw 30 to 33 mpg on long trips.
Intuitive and easy to read system monitoring display.
Love the dark blue backlit interior console lighting.
Massive trunk capacity - fold down the back seats for even more!
Comfortable front seats - seat heaters work great.
Major styling improvement over the B5 Passat.
Quiet and comfortable ride.
Triptronic shifter is fun to use.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
6 speed automatic doesn't always know what gear it's supposed to be and can experience hard downshifts. VW has extended the warranty on a certain valve in the transmission and can flash the TCM to smooth this out.

Air conditioning takes a while to blow cold air.

Defective turbo diverter valve. VW has created an upgraded version.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I bought my 2006 VW Passat new in 2006 and so far I've been very happy owning this car.

I've taken it on several long distance trips including L.A. to NYC. where I averaged 33mpg. I really liked the fact that I could count on getting nearly 600 miles per tank of gas.

The car performed predictably and comfortably in a wide variety of weather conditions from ice and snow to hot desert roads.

The Passat is surprisingly roomy and easily seats 5 adults. The trunk is absolutely cavernous and easily rivals most SUVs.

I've just passed 65k miles on Passat and I've had very little trouble. So far I've taken it in twice for warranty work. One was a defective trunk latch and the other was a factory recall for a brake booster hose and a wiper motor - very minor stuff.

I'd strongly recommend Passat to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 1, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Bought the car used I just love it.

Styling, interior window shades, tinting nice n dark keeps interior cooler.

Sport package is really nice, seats gorgeous, back seat roomy. Good handling. Exterior lights for fog are great. Stereo great.

Interior lights are beautiful, colorful and soothing.

It's a fun car to drive..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
AC takes awhile to wake up and work even with a replaced compressor, doesn't blow really cold.. for really hot weather it's a bummer, my Honda's AC works better.

Ignition steering column lock problems initially noted and dealer fixed as part of the sale, at my insistence repaired a dealership.

Make the repairs less expensive.

Make it so you don't have to use premium gas.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
It's got many more features that I like than the Audi A4. It has so many cool features and things about it that you learn going along. It's an intelligent car (computer brain), which I haven't owned one like this before. It tells you many things about itself with monitoring lights.

Great handling, fun fun did I say Fun to drive? .. my friends also love the legroom when we drive out at lunch and love the seats too, very comfortable.

Recommend to anyone who wants this type of car. The tan interior is gorgeous. Recommend getting the 3.6 L engine, it has lots of power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 14, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Performance.
Handling.
Comfort.
Ride.
Safety features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Power seats and possibly clearer and more visible lighting on warnings, fuel, etc. They are not easily read and do not stay on long enough to warn properly. In the sun they are almost impossible to read.

I would also like to have wood below the dashboard.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I love my Passat. I got a German car for half the price. I have owned two Mercedes and yes, they are the very best. But they are not twice as nice.! My VW drives and handles like a Mercedes. It is almost as luxurious.

And it has all the power I need. It handles great, and it is comfortable. I left the lights all night soon after I got it and it started up very fine the next morning.

I really love the look of the back lights. It is a pretty car.

I feel as though as a woman I made the right choice for my needs.

I owned a BMW and as far as I am concerned that car is garbage.

I owned a '74 Beetle and ran it into the ground and sold it after I abused it to my uncle for $600 during the gas embargo and he drove it for another 6 years.

I now want an EOS. I hope to keep my Passat for another year or two.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 7, 2013

Karen Olivo
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Rear driver spring broke after 48,000 miles, the gas valve had to be replaced and was faulty, had an engine valve go bad and had to replace, and now the bushings are very noisy in cold weather.

In the interior the rubber has bubbled and peeled away from the doors where the lock lights are. This car is very expensive to replace all the things that keep going wrong with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 28, 2012

Teresa
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Love the mileage, look and interior cubic feet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
The interior plastics bubbles and Volkswagen will not repair. Do not buy this car because you will not get a decent trade in value or have the ability to sell with the interior deficits. Just Google Volkswagen interior bubbles and you will be shocked at the level of complaints.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Comfortable, smooth drive, loads of features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Quality control!

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
Vw, improve your build quality or you will fall! So much problem, computer, transmission, engine, all within and around 100k. I got it 2nd hand from dealer with 36k on it. In less then 3 years, I have spent over 10,000$ fixing the car. What a nightmare! My first passat, a 2002 model was great though. So VW, puts your stuff together. You can't survive with this fallen apart quality control.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 14, 2012

Denis
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Quality interior.
Attractive exterior.
Performance/fuel economy combination.
Fun to drive.
Handling.
Plenty of features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Parts are expensive.
Not easy to fix.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
It's a great fun to drive car, that offers superior driving experience that any Japanese manufacturers in price range.

It's true that you should take care of Volkswagens to avoid costly repairs. But if you do take a good care of the car it will reward you with ultimate driver's experience with exceptional combination of luxury features, comfort and performance.

Bought the car pre-owned with complete service history and no major issues up to this point. Replaced the bulb, and dealership fixed the wiring in the headlight. Bushings were also replaced but nothing major.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 14, 2012

Ron
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Looks great, we get lots of positive comments.
Handles great with lots of power, fun to drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Rattle in the dash left side of steering wheel.

Dealer is 100 miles away so whenever we need something done under warranty we have to make 2 trips, because the dealer never has parts in stock.

Transmission has the occasional hard downshift and were told by the dealer that this is "normal". I hate it when people lie to me.

The idle is up and down, so now we have to take it in again.

The driver's heated seat is no longer working.

The paint is chipping and bubbling on the driver's side doors. VW has really been slowwwww in deciding if they want to cover it under warranty, actually 6 months going on 7.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I still really like this car, my only concern is what is going to happen next once the warranty runs out?

I am considering purchasing an extended warranty plan for $1500 that will give me an extra 45,000 of peace of mind.

We will try another VW dealer and see if we get any better service but unfortunately this dealer is 160 miles away.

VW still hasn't lost me yet, if this other dealer has better service I would still consider buying another VW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Exterior sleek.
Interior comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Too many computer problems.
Trunk doesn't always open.
Early powertrain failure.
Car stopped running and needed a new engine at 69000 miles.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I would never buy a VW again. Camshaft intake defective. It caused cylinder head to crack. Car needs new engine after FIVE years. VW would not budge if it is outside of warranty regardless of how the car warranty should be extended on a product as poor as this.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Enjoy the handling, the engine performance and styling of the car.
Interior is okay.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Nothing but trouble, I do not recommend buying a VW and will never buy one again. Numerous recalls, expensive to maintain and as soon as the warranty went, the A/C went with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volkswagen Passat Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Volkswagen Passat?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat? 2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2006 Beetle
2006 Golf
2006 GTI
2006 Jetta
2006 Passat
2006 Phaeton
2006 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Volkswagen Passat | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise