Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen Jetta Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-38/27-46 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I5 150HP
1.9L I4 100HP
2.0L I4 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 82 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Volkswagen Jetta in the bottom 34% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
34%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta also consider:
2006 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta
  1. Fuel economy
  2. Huge cabin and cargo space
  3. Solid, very tight
  4. Sticks to the road
  5. 6-speed Tiptonic
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta
  1. Simplify multi-function display
  2. Quieter cabin - engine and wind
  3. Bigger fuel tank
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Available all wheel drive
Submitted Aug 2, 2013

jerry
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Engine and auto performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Improve flywheel (replaced for $1385.00 at 130,000 miles).
Interval transmission service at 45,000 (cost $526.00 at dealer).
Either lower the cost or extend service interval.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Would not buy another....ever.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
There is a lot of trunk space and fun to drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
My ceiling interior is ripping! It looks so bad and is embarrassing to drive when friends comment. I can't believe I have to pay money out of my own pocket and pay $350 to fix it! I really wish VW would pay the cost for us.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Fast, reliable, good looking.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2012

Elizabeth
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Runs well, not much maintenance needed so far, just 6 years old.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Interior buttons peel/wear off really quickly. 1st after just a year, had them replaced. Again a few years later. Really makes a pretty new car look very old. Very disappointed! Headliner came out, they did replace under warranty. The back seat clip to lower & raise was faulty, didn't lock into place making it unsafe to drive, they fixed but still sticks. Only good as a lease vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 12, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Great fuel mileage and spacious trunk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Very poor interior work. I only have 48,000 miles on the car and at about 30,000 miles, the headliner started falling out, the radio/stereo buttons' black plastic is almost gone, and I also had to replace my back brakes at 40k. Glow plugs had to be replaced too. I was told there was a recall on the headliners falling down and I never received any notification and they refused to replace it. I still have my 1996 Toyota Carolla in the family and my headliner and the entire interior holds up much better than my 2006 VW Jetta TDI.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
I would not buy another VW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 17, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Good TDI engine/transmission setup for my driving style.
Good braking, handling.
Large trunk for a small car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Better parts since some items on car wore out prematurely.
Finish on interior switches (radio) were bad and replaced before I even purchased car.
Rear brakes wore out at 40k.
Headlight lens clouded over by 50k.
Window washer hose broke at 50k.
Headliner falling down by 60k.
Uncomfortable seats for a long drive.
Poor right side legroom for driver.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
This is my first and last Volkswagen. Sorry VW, you made garbage, know it, and will not warranty it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2011

Taylor
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Amazing trunk space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Reliability is a disaster. Poor build and horrible quality.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
We have a 2006 Jetta TDI. We were told this diesel engine "is great you should get 400,000 miles on it." The car is a maintenance disaster. Just over 80,000 miles the car was shaking and spewing black smoke. Turns out there's a design flaw in the engine which causes a cam shaft and lifter failure. Engine is toast. We pay $4000 to have half the engine replaced and within two months the turbo is destroyed and again the engine is toast. Even though the most likely reason is metal in the oil from the last failure we were told "this is normal wear and tear we're not responsible" Another $2600 down the rat hole of VW service. VW of America refuses to take responsibility for a well known and well documented problem. You're on your own folks. Don't expect any help or sympathy from VW. We're getting it out of the shop and trading it in to some poor dealer for a new NON-VW car. Stay away, stay far away from VW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 7, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
2.5 drives great...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Terrible cheap plastic that peels off in inside from pushing buttons--use whatever Toyota uses on their interior.

Use better headliner adhesive! My headliner is falling off and you can see the foam...it's only 4 years old...but my 13 year old Lexus is perfect on the inside minus self-inflicted tears/burns.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
I wish I wouldn't have taken my brother's advice...go Japanese.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Great fuel mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Bad cams in motor - 200000 kms, 3500.00 dollar job to fix. But make a complaint to Volkswagen and they say there is no problem, I'm the first. But if you read the forums, you see this is not true. If anyone else has this problem, complain.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 15, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Acceleration the first year and a half was great.
Handled well, fuel economy was awessome went to Londong, ON from NS and back 220.
Feels strong.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
STOP BUYING or MAKING CHEAP PARTS !!!!!! Your ruining your name !!! For those who LOVE VWs....we care !!!!

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Overall in a small sense the car is great, many "strange" things broke when they should not have. Lights continue to burn out, air fan and cooling fan broke $800, fly wheel, cv joint boot, blower fan (twice) and a couple of other issues. Acceleration SUCKS after almost 4 years. Rusting on engine hood and panel that meets hood. I got this car based on the "strong" German engineering !!! I'm highly disappointed. I owned a 89 VW Fox and another. NEVER went wrong with it !!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2009

mike
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Gas mileage with tdi is great.
Performance better than expected.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?
Headliner started failing at 60k miles. Who has ever heard of a headliner falling down on a 3yr. old car? Out of warranty, out of luck. I hope the rest of the car isn't engineered to fall apart soon after the warranty is gone.

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Why have customer care if they can't resolve an issue with something that is known to be defective?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volkswagen Jetta Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Volkswagen Jetta?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Jetta? 2006 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2006 Beetle
2006 Golf
2006 GTI
2006 Jetta
2006 Passat
2006 Phaeton
2006 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Volkswagen Jetta | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact