Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen GTI Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Volkswagen GTI

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sporty Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 23/32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 45 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Volkswagen GTI in the top 23% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
77%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Volkswagen GTI in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Volkswagen GTI also consider:
2006 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Volkswagen GTI
  1. Performance
  2. Luxurious feel
  3. Bang for the buck
  4. Fit and finish
  5. Fun to drive
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Volkswagen GTI
  1. Price
  2. Electrical issues
  3. Back seat leg room
  4. High insurance cost
  5. Rattles
Submitted Jan 10, 2007

alf028
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
I love the GTi. As soon as I test-drove it, I knew i wanted it. The interior is very supportive and comfortable, while the electronics options are a nice touch. And I have never seen such a small car with so much leg room and seat travel. I am 6 feet tall and I had plenty room to spare. And if you really plan to use the back seat, the two door version actually has more leg room than the 4 door. It honestly is the best bang for the buck. At 6.3 seconds to 60 (they say 6.8 with the DSG, but they were wrong), and 200 horsepower to go along with 207 lb. feet of torque. You definetly have a road worthy machine. I also love the suspension, which is plenty supple for every day driving, even with the 18 inch rims. And it also minimizes body roll, in case you like to occassionally let out the inner fast within yourself. And I wanted to point out that I purchased this car when I was only 18, and in case you think that my view is different than some middle-aged buyers, both of my parents were thrilled with the car. And they had no complaints, except slightly higher insurance rates. In fact my father begs me to drive my car almost every day.

You definetly will not be unhappy with your choice of the GTi. It is a great deal.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
I have few complaints. I gave performance a "4" due to the fact that i want more than 6.3 seconds to 60 and 200 horsepower. Idealy I will soon have approximately 280 horsepower, 270 lb. feet of torque, and zero to 60 times of about 5 seconds. And this is all done with a new turbo, intake, exhaust, and a lowered suspension(1 or 2 inches); for around 2 grand.

I gave the GTi a "4" in exterior simply because I am not the biggest fan of hatchbacks. And because I would like to see a hood scoop.

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
Nothing left to say. The car (with the help of my review) speaks for itself.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 17, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Great performance car.
Fast and comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Got into a fender bender, headlight smashed and it cost $150 for the bulb, $300 for the igniter and $800 for the headlight module. Drivers airbag broke, covered under recall, then passenger air bag light went on as I drove off repair shops lot. Price for a module that shuts off passenger airbag when no ones sitting in the seat???? $1,900!!!!!!!! Yeah, it's not a typo: $1,900.00. and the car only cost 24grand new!!!

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
Would not buy another car where the headlights cost $1,250 @. OR A MODULE FOR $1,900....!!!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Speed.
Snappy performance.
Hugs corners real well on my 17s.
Lots of women like my red GTI!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Should have faster 0-60, possible with chipping and or various doable improvements.
More durable Paint.
Better choice of cloth interiors.

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
I love my GTI, it looks great, is built like a tank, and scoots along like a racer! It has a nice quality interior, real classy dials and a solid feel. I have been in Mazda 3s, and although faster, supposedly-I have beaten some of these cars on starts, the interiors are not to the quality or weren't of the quality of my GTI. Mine is not a DSG but manual, I like having less things that could break.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
better, more reliable brakes


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
dsg transmission
torque


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 3, 2007

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
I owned a new VW Scirroco in 1978 and had all kinds of electrical problems. It looks like VW has yet to solve their electical issues. How come?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 9, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
i like the exterior

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
the price,all the electrcals features on the wheel

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
it's a cool car


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 22, 2007
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Auto Transmission

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Drop the 18 inch wheels. They ride too rough

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
Tons of fun to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 14, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
power comes on fast,handles great quality build,roomy and low access rear hatch.most comfortable seat and steering wheel out there

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
auto trans is to smart,red display window a bit much but you can turn it off

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
great car


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 13, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
Performance,fun to drive,interior,stereo,computer readouts

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI?
body color bottom moulding

2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
This is a great car. Not cheap and not expensive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volkswagen GTI Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Volkswagen GTI?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen GTI? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen GTI? 2006 Volkswagen GTI Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2006 Beetle
2006 Golf
2006 GTI
2006 Jetta
2006 Passat
2006 Phaeton
2006 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Volkswagen GTI | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact