Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen Beetle Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 22-38/30-46 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I5 150HP
1.9L I4 100HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 30 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Volkswagen Beetle in the top 38% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
62%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Volkswagen Beetle in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Volkswagen Beetle also consider:
2006 Volkswagen Beetle Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Volkswagen Beetle
  1. Sound system
  2. The looks
  3. Aux port for MP3
  4. Convertible top
  5. Ergonomic design
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Volkswagen Beetle
  1. Reduce wind noise
  2. Build quality
  3. Gas mileage
  4. Less interior plastic
  5. Standard CD changer
Submitted Jun 26, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
My wife is 5'11 and I am 6'6. We used to own a BMW Z3 into which we folded and cramped ourselves, though the ride was worth it. I recently purchased a BMW Z4 3.0 for her and she made me take it back. Too hard, too manly and too low. Ok, so what next. Well, together we shopped and purchased a gently use '06 Beetle with rag top, Tiptronic, Monsoon w/6 cd changer, heated seats and a ton of interior room. The new 2.5 is super smooth through all the gears and we just it. Ok, it still isn't make in Detroit, but after a ride in a new Sky turbo, we made the right choice.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Just a tad windy with the top down, but definitely not as bad as the Z or other real sport cars. This is a low and slow landcruiser with verve, great dark gray metallic paint and nicely thought out wheels. The interior is a little basic, but not a plastic bowl like some of the American counterparts, oh I hate saying that. I really have no gripes, especially since the interior room is just wonderful.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Overall, this is a definite 4.5 out of five. Nothing really is a 5, even the high end cars, but this is close. The only consolation is that it is made NEAR the USA in Mexico, but once you drive one, few things in the price range will do.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 29, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Only had 17,000K when purchased in October-2008; now has 30+K with no major problems (was Certified/pre-owned).
Solid body, feel safe riding in it.
Handles fantastic in the snow and on ice.
Love the automatic sunroof and the Monsoon radio/CD/Mp3 player. My IPod Touch music sounds GREAT...especially The Beatles & Simon & Garfunkle :)
Get lots of looks, comments, and smiles.
The heated seats are a big PLUS in the winter.
Love this car!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Mileage is less than expected - 22-26 mpg, but not bad for a "fun" car.
Takes longer to warm up in the winter than my '05 Focus.
Have to go 35 miles out of town for dealer warranty service.
Hard to see out the back right passenger window, when backing out of a diagonal parking space.
Otherwise, no complaints from this old broad. I'm having fun with it.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Bought my one-owner,Certified 2006 New Beetle, Shadow Blue, in October-2008. It had about 17,000K on it; now has 30K. No problems other than a thermostat fuse that needs replaced. Get the oil changed at the local dealer (runs on regular oil just as well as the synthetic stuff, for around $30.00). Love the automatic sunroof, the leather (gray) interior, Mp3 and CD player. Makes me feel young driving it (I'm 67). You only live once. I put on my NASCAR hat and sunglasses and cruise. (I) don't use the Triptonic Standard shift often, but I know that "S" on the gear shift means "PEEL OUT!" (?)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 5, 2014
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
The Classic model, compact and cute looking, quite comfortable and stable in driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Interior looks very crapy, made with cheap and low quality material. Too many mechanical and electrical problems, does not represent as a well known German Technology.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
I like the facelift model compare with the early 2000 model, but interior material are really cheap and bad quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 10, 2010

Garrett
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Fast.
Fun.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
The top for convertible models falls apart.
Our transmission went out at 61,368 miles and to replace the trans it costs 5,000 dollars, and you can not rebuild it.
It has electronic problems, and the CD player doesn't work half the time!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Looks good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
The brake petal in the morning when starting up, goes to the floor. Dealer said that was normal. I do not believe him.
Front and rear windows too hard to clean. (I have a soft top)
Seats backs are too hard to move forward with one hand.
For a small car, gas mileage leave a little to be deisred.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
It is OK but really not worth the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Design and overall looks. Sound system is excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
I have no items to add.

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Excellent car. It is tops in performance. Much fun to drive...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 2, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
the convertible top is cloth, and the ipod adapter

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
the power, build quality, and less interior plastic

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
good car overall


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 7, 2006
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Fit and finish, 6 speed transmision

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
Sun visors!

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
I love this car. I wish it had a bit more pick-up for the engine size, but maybe it will do better with more break-in. 1,400 miles so far


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 12, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
The beetle are fun to drive.. handle great, would love to buy another beetle..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
have them to make 2008 VW Beetle GLI!!!!!

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
Best car in class for VW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 6, 2006
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
We recently replaced my Wife's 2001 Beetle with an 06 Platinum Convertible and she absolutely loves it. We chose the Manual Top which is easy to operate (as long as you have the strength to lock it down when open) and doesn't have the problems down the road with motor/hydraulic problems. The new i5 motor is very smooth and preforms 300% better than the old 4cyl. a vast improvement, the 6-spd Tiptronic is awesome too...although she only used it the first week. It's very comfortable and roomy for 2 people, it will accomodate rear seat passengers for short trips, the top down makes it easier for rear passengers to get in and out of. I insisted on the wind deflector, with the side windows up it makes it a very nice wind free drive, without it...watch out, convertible hair will be the look for YOU today. I'd highly recommend you go for this Accessory, I think it was around $300?? Well worth it though. The sound system is very good...you can plug your ipod into it, or other mp3 player, however, it won't charge and you can't operate it through the Head unit.
The 06 version is better in the looks dept too, new squared off Fenders, a better front and rear end, nice Factory alloys. My Wife LOVES Her liddle Beetle, which is all that counts. I'd highly recommend it even though I've only driven it twice, she hides the Keys from me ;-)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?
The Doors rattle when you close them, probably due to the lack of upper window rail. Could use better interior lighting...

2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
If you have $24K to spend, like the looks of the Beetle and want a convertible this is the perfect Car for you. Gas mileage is very good for a 2.5 liter Car, if you test drove the previous model and found it sluggish the 06 will delight you. This is the perfect, affordable "Chick Cruiser"


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volkswagen Beetle Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Volkswagen Beetle?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Beetle? 2006 Volkswagen Beetle Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2006 Beetle
2006 Golf
2006 GTI
2006 Jetta
2006 Passat
2006 Phaeton
2006 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Volkswagen Beetle | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact