Log in
5.7 million people served. 5,836 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Toyota Matrix

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 25-32/32-41 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 126HP
1.8L I4 118HP
1.8L I4 164HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 33 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Toyota Matrix in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Toyota Matrix in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Toyota Matrix also consider:
2006 Toyota Matrix Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Toyota Matrix
  1. Folding seats
  2. Fuel economy
  3. All around airbags
  4. High seating
  5. Cargo area with tie down hooks
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Toyota Matrix
  1. Bigger side mirrors
  2. Better cargo cover
  3. More power
  4. Wider sunvisors
  5. Standard power mirrors
Submitted Feb 16, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Utility is great, folding front seat.
It has the shortest turning radius in its class so it's easy to park.
Gas mileage is great now, but not at first. Gas mileage gets better after engine & transmission are broken in around 15 - 20K.
It has plenty of head room for four six foot adults.
It's easy to work on and repair which shows good engineering.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I would like a higher center console that blends into dash (i.e. the 2010 Matrix).
The addition of two DC outlets in the rear storage compartment.
Maybe a splash of color the the interior.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
Overall the Matrix is a wonderful little economy car that reaches that good blend between function and fun.

I had considered the Ford Escape/Mazda Tribute but found they ride firmer more like trucks. And the gas mileage for both wasn't close to the Matrix.

I traded in my Ford Explorer for the Matrix and I love it. I now have 48K on my Matrix and haven't had any problems with it (which is more than I can say about other new cars I have purchased in the past). With regular maintenance, most of which I do, I see no problem with getting 150 - 200k out of this car easy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 7, 2014

lucky
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Style

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
More HP for a "sporty hatchback"


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Plenty of leg room.
Lots of storage space.
115V plug in.
Holds 4 adults in comfort.
Handles great in the snow.
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Side mirrors are a little small.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
This is a great car. I looked and test drove several other cars before I picked this one. The handling is second to none. I can park and stop on a dime. This is an excellent car in the snow. I love how much you can haul when you fold down the back seats. I have put so much in the car, that people are often amazed. By far the best car I have ever owned and I recommend it to everyone. I have never had any problems with this car!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 14, 2011

Terra
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Great mileage.
Holds a lot of stuff (even fit a large extendable ladder!).
The many storage cubbies are wonderful.
Exceptional handling.
Interior feels roomier than exterior suggests.
Handles well when roads are snow-covered.
Driver's seat very comfortable, does not feel too low like other similar sized cars.
It has not had ANY mechanical problems.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
At first the blind spots were an issue near the back, but got used to it pretty quickly.
Is quite wimpy when you need to pass someone at highway speeds (lots of noise, but no power).

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
This car is great! So glad I got one. As much as I would like to get a larger vehicle, I just can't part with this gem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Handling.
Interior space.
Quality build.
First car I owned that was never upside down (if I would have sold it).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Front map lights (interior).
I agree with another reviewer...the cigarette outlet too close to reverse for the 6 speed.
Car a bit noisy at high speeds.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
Great reliable car. I am satisfied.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 23, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I love the look, and the way it drives.
I like the set up inside and I'm in love with the cargo space in back and the fold down seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Little scary driving in the snow, maybe better handling and it's kind of a noisy little car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 27, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Wonderful until the problem with the bearings, no mechanical problems before.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
The ice and snow get jammed pretty tightly in the wheel-wells.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
I have a 2006 matrix with 39,400 miles. I had to have the rear left baring replaced, the mechanic thought that was not right for the low mileage I have, anyone else have that problem? I spoke to the local Toyota garage and was given an 800 number and of course the warranty ran out at 36,000 miles. If the bearings are defective, should it be at my expense? This woman was telling me on Jan 5, 2010 they were traveling and the Toyota started drifting a little, they slowed down and were going to get off the interstate and the rear axle, hub, bearing broke and the tire fell off. Any other bearing stories out there?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I like all the interior space and the heating and cooling system is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
I would give it more power. It is weak when first accelerating.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 2, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
Looks and mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
blind spots rear corners


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
very roomy for a small car. drives and handles well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix?
take steps to reduce very loud road noise,especially noticeable at low speeds.

2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
good car but too noisy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Matrix Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Toyota Matrix?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Matrix? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Matrix? 2006 Toyota Matrix Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Toyota Model Lineup:
2006 4Runner
2006 Avalon
2006 Camry
2006 Camry Solara
2006 Corolla
2006 Highlander
2006 Land Cruiser
2006 Matrix
2006 Prius
2006 RAV4
2006 Sequoia
2006 Sienna
2006 Tacoma
2006 Tundra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Toyota Matrix | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise