Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,724 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Toyota Highlander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-22/24-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 155HP
3.3L V6 215HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 35 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Toyota Highlander in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Toyota Highlander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Toyota Highlander also consider:
2006 Toyota Highlander Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Toyota Highlander
  1. Roomy interior
  2. Smooth and quiet ride
  3. Responsive
  4. Radio antenna in the window
  5. Interior and exterior appearance
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Toyota Highlander
  1. Wider front seats
  2. More rear leg room
  3. Update exterior styling
  4. Make AC available on 3rd row
  5. Larger cargo area
Submitted Mar 8, 2012

Nwanne Okereke
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Roomy interior (w/o 3rd row seats).
Comparatively fuel efficient.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
There are several problems that just seem to crop up - the adjusting arm for the fan belt, the air conditioner compressor, the drive shaft heads worn too quickly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
We have 90000 and just now did the rear brakes and rear struts, one was leaking. Front brakes went 65k. That is fantastic.
We got Michelin tires from new and they lasted 75000 miles.. Remarkable.
Interior and exterior is holding up fantastic.
We have two wheel drive four cylinder with leather interior.
Easy access.
22/24 mpg.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Too simple design.
Tan interior is impossible to keep clean.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
I have a 2006 Highlander Hybrid-one of the 1st if not the 1st sold in Canada. I like driving the Highlander, good family vehicle, space is good except for the 3rd row seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
My vehicle is a Limited-Toyota really cheaped out-price was outrageous but I wanted the extra 2 seats, generally the finish of the vehicle is not what a Limited model should be. Service could be better. A couple of years ago the Highlander sat on the dealer lot while I fought with the dealer over a repair they didn't want to do under warranty-they only paid for part of the cost because I did research online and found out other people had the same complaint. I have complained about a popping noise that seems to come from the centre of the vehicle when stopping or starting from a stop in the winter before the car warms up-My 1st complaint about this was Nov 2006-still unresolved, at one point I was told it was the engine mount that was the problem. A common complaint is the acceleration when driving over a bump while braking-I have been told many times that this is normal-today I was told that this is how the ABS system works. Both high beam bulbs are distorted and burnt and the heat has damaged the lens covers-2 people a the dealership have said stated that they have never seen this happen before, but then they reversed their story and told us this is normal-that the bulbs do that when they need replacing.

2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
I don't know if it is the service dept. of the dealership I bought the vehicle from or Toyota in general, but when I spend this much on a vehicle, I would like to see some responsibility taken for defects and not be told repeatedly that these things are normal. While I like my vehicle, I have rated a 2 overall because of the attitude I have been getting. I am pretty confident that the above issues will one day become the subject of recall notices.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 25, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Most comfortable long distance auto I've ever had.
Controls are easy to use.
A/C and heat are very efficient.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Styling (improved in 2010); last row of seats need to be larger/deeper to be useful as seats except for my grandkids (4 & 8yrs).
The radio reception is poor, but, I attribute this to the in-side glass antenna.

2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
Overall this is great car. Purchased new in Jan.'06, I have 133K+ on it so far and have had NO mechanical problems. Just getting new timing belt and struts today. Get 22+ MPG on highway and with captains chairs the comfort is wonderful and plenty of room.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 8, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Nice ride, basic styling, acceptable fuel economy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Improve interior materials - everything is falling apart or beginning to show too much wear, the exterior paint job is horrible, a great deal of road noise due to overall vehicle quality. Driver's seat beginning to tear, dash beginning to show wear, doors so thin you can feel the radio vibrate at moderate sound levels...these things that should not be happening on a 3 year vehicle which cost close to 40K....very, very disappointed. This vehicle has been well cared for and pampered. Will never buy another Toyota product...just overall very poor workmanship and product quality for the money.

2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
Horrible. Don't waste your money on a Highlander if you want a quality vehicle....BUY EUROPEAN....they are the only ones that seem to know how to build automobiles anymore.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 2, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Versatility which is what I was seeking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Tires: Yes, the original tires wear out early but mfr does make good on pro-rated warranty. With research I found that these are tires designed to be soft and quiet to enhance the test drive of prospective buyers. Mfr was surprised I got as high as 40k mi on mine (50 k mi warranty). I replaced them with same because it was better buy and I have been happy with the traction.
Plastic Fasteners: Plastic deflector under radiator needs to be removed to change oil filter and the plastic fasteners holding it on break easy. Same goes for plastic cover in engine compartment.
Luggage rack: It will loosen enough to rattle and make noise yet the nuts for the cross bars are still tight.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 1, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
I like the gas milage and relability that comes with toyota.

2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
I have a problem with my front tires wearing out to soon. I only have 20,000 miles on my front tires and now I need new ones.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 29, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Excellent MPG with my V6, auto, FWD averaging 23 MPG. Nice car like ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
As Toyota did with the 2008, more interior space, updated interior materials.

2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
Very good, I would buy it again anytime.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 7, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
I like thw many options such as 2 wheel and 4 wheel drivw and the two sizes of motors. I wish you had similar features available for a truck. I love the mileage the hybrids get and would love to have that with a truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Make rear seating fold out of place to make for easy use for carrying large items


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 26, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
everything

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
more competitive pricing


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Toyota Highlander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander? 2006 Toyota Highlander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Toyota Model Lineup:
2006 4Runner
2006 Avalon
2006 Camry
2006 Camry Solara
2006 Corolla
2006 Highlander
2006 Land Cruiser
2006 Matrix
2006 Prius
2006 RAV4
2006 Sequoia
2006 Sienna
2006 Tacoma
2006 Tundra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Toyota Highlander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise