Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Mercury Mountaineer Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 14-15/20-21 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.0L V6 210HP
4.6L V8 292HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 14 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2006 Mercury Mountaineer in the bottom 2% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
2%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer also consider:
Submitted Dec 30, 2013
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Douse it in gasoline and set a match to it.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
We have a 4.6L AWD Premier. It is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. It breaks down CONSTANTLY. I have spent thousands trying to keep it running. Got it at 98,000 miles and have only put 12,000 miles on it in a year and a half because we are scared to drive it. Interior panels don't fit together properly. Moonroof leaks. If you put a kid's carseat in it then you won't be able to access the seat belt latch. Not roomy, not comfortable, not reliable. No choice but to sell it at a steep loss. I feel sorry for whoever ends up with this or any 2006 Mercury Mountaineer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 9, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
I love my mountaineer, it's got all the bells and whistles a person could want. The extra back seat comes in handy when needed. Beautiful pearl white paint job. It holds everything when we pack it up to go to beach. Even the dog.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
If I had a complaint it would be the rough plastic on doors hard to clean, and the leather seats. The gas mileage is terrible. The worst is the rude and mean staff at the ford dealership. I hate them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 29, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
-Lots of features to choose from (at the time).
-Comfortable seats.
-Great turning radius for such a larger size vehicle.
-Workhorse, can tow very large capacities.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
-Improve the fuel mileage MPG.
-Poor ride, feel every bump.
-Transmission &/or Transfer case poor, shifts very harsh.
-Had sunroof repaired numerous times, leaks, but nowhere can find a leak.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
I reviewed so many SUVs for this year and this one seemed to be the best.
It is very monstrous looking from the grill.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Great amenities.
Good interior.
Height is good and can see over road.
Good turning radius.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
I got his car with 60k miles and within 8 days had it in to service the transmission.
Doesn't "pick up" enough for a big v8.
Door handles are in awkward place and doors are heavy.
Wish I wouldn't have gotten it at all and feel stuck with it.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
For the money you get a lot of extras but Ford has once again boofed it with performance.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 21, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Styling, amenities.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Transmission is terrible and it gets worse mileage than my 2005 Explorer did.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
Good overall, but it is a worse ride than my wife's 2006 Explorer when it comes to transmission and they are the same vehicle for all practical purposes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
There are a lot of blind spots looking back.
Gas mileage is not great.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
Good family car for family of four that travels.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Exterior styling is the best part of the truck. It is very quiet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Soften the ride. The ride is way too stiff and very uncomfortable when you feel every imperfection in the road. Also the visibility out of the back. The oversized headrests that do not lower to the seat need to go! Fix the transmission problems.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
Ford should have stuck with the older version. This is my 3rd Explorer/ Mountaineer and by far the worst. The new transmission does not shift properly. Dealer has rebuilt it 4 times in 15K miles. Still hesitates between shifts. The suspension is too stiff. You feel every imperfection on the road and rather than the suspension absorbing the bumps, the passengers feel everything.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 19, 2007

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
the styling is it's best feature

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
The suspension needs to be loosen up. The ride is so tight you feel every little bump. This is not a comfortable vehicle!

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
We have owned this vehicle 6 months and are very unhappy. Neither my wife or I enjoy driving or riding in the vehicle. I have lower back problems and this truck stays parked more because it is so uncomfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 22, 2007
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Styling and Amenities for the price

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Move the interior door handles and soften the ride. The third row seatr design is poor.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
I too have been unhappy the the ride of this truck and have had on going transmission issues. Ford really has dropped the ball with this one!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 14, 2007

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Amenites for the price is good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?
Improve the ride. Very stiff and uncomfortable. Also Transmission does not shift properly and Ford is unwilling to correct problem.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
I do not recommend this truck. It is extremely uncomfortable due to the stiff suspension. After 15,000 miles and 3 transmission rebuilds, problem still exists. Ford refuses to correct.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Mercury Mountaineer Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Mercury Mountaineer?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Mercury Mountaineer? 2006 Mercury Mountaineer Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Mercury Model Lineup:
2006 Grand Marquis
2006 Mariner
2006 Milan
2006 Montego
2006 Monterey
2006 Mountaineer
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Mercury Mountaineer | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact