Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Civic Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 49/51 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.3L I4 110HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 18 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid in the bottom 7% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
7%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid also consider:
Submitted Jun 25, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
The dealer arranged for a specialty company to recover the seat and parts of the interior in leather. I think the work was done in three days and cost about $1,200. I am very pleased with the result. To buy Prius with factory installed leather required a package that was about $10,000 more than the basic car.

The leather seats installed by a specialty company are the ONLY thing I like about this car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
1. As necessary to change MPG from 40 to 50 (originally).
2. Tire life = 24,000. When replaced with regular tires, MPG dropped to 31.
3. GPS is poorly positioned. Can't use when sun is in certain positions.
4. Neither front nor rear can be seen from driver's seat. Makes any parking difficult.
5. Light indicator does not distinguish between parking lights and low beams, so it is easy to come out of a parking lot and into city traffic without realizing that you headlights are not on.
6. Trunk is much smaller than what's in other cars of similar size and the back seat doesn't fold down.
7. I have to carry cables to jump start the car with some regularity. Yesterday it wouldn't start and I used the 2001 Volvo 240 we use as a beach car to jump start the Honda. I think the Volvo is pretty ugly but after 12 years and 191,000 miles it has NEVER failed to start - that probably says it all.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
I am very happy to find this site that allows me to vent displeasure with my 2006 Civic Honda Hybrid. At 55,000 and 5.5 years it is by far the worst car I've ever owned. Styling: the front and rear of the car are designed so one cannot see where they are when parking. It makes any kind of parking difficult and during the first year I drove into the side of my garage at least three times and my wife did it once. The gas mileage is an outrage. With the first set of tires I never got more that 41 mph on a tank of gas. The original tires wore out at 24,000 miles. I was told by dealer that they were "special" for high MPG and would have to be ordered. I searched online for difference in MPG with "special" tires that wore out after 24,000 miles and regular tires that usually go for 35,000 to 40,000. The only estimate I could find was 6%. I did various calculations based on assumptions re gas prices and expected mileage on regular tires. With tires changed mileage dropped to about 31 MPG wh/ is 25% - huge difference. Then the regular tires worn out 31,000. Honda says inadequate rotation, but I've had all the scheduled service done by the dealer and on time. I did not check to see if they where doing what they were supposed to be done. (The owner's manual doesn't supply all the information you need to determine what should be done at the next service until the indicator actually goes on.) The GPS is horrible. Amoung other problems its position can make it impossible to read in bright sunlight. The light indicator doesn't tell you if your low beams are on or off - terrible design. The trunk can hold one large suitcase. The back seat does not fold down. (My wife's VW Jetta is almost exactly the same size and it can carry at least three times as much cargo.) It is very low to the ground, so some people have a difficult time getting in and out, but that a design decision that's obvious so you accept it when you buy the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 6, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
The instrumentation is good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
The biggest improvement is to fix the severe manufacturer's defect in the battery system, which Honda has tried to fix via a software change, which causes a loss of power and a drop of 8 to 10 miles to gallon.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
The car does not live up to the hype of 'car of the year'. The manufacturing defects are severe and Honda seems to be undertaking an effort to have consumers pay for Honda's defects through software upgrades that negatively affect both acceleration and gas mileage. The software 'upgrades' are meant to prolong the life of the battery which could save Honda millions (at the cost of safety and gas mileage to consumers) rather than replace the batteries, which have extended life warranties.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 12, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Great gas mileage with the hybrid.
I like the "heads up display" instrument panel, steering wheel controls for the stereo and cruise control.
Roomy trunk, plenty of head and leg room for this 6'4" guy, and a sleek exterior obviously designed for drag reduction.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Major reduction in the road noise
Work on blind spots (especially driver's side rear and front quarter panel areas)
The bucket seats get uncomfortable on long drives
And lastly for goodness sakes MOUSE PROOF THE CAR! Mice have made it into the cabin filter housing twice already and from there they can get into the car itself.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
Overall a decent car. Mice getting into the car is a major turnoff--engineering a mesh screen cover for the air intake for the cabin sounds like it would be simple. Would buy another, but will be more inclined to buy a plug in hybrid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2009
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Unfortunately, it is cheaply built..for the price you would expect more quality.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
The gas mileage is in the high 30's. The car is literally wearing out at 80,000 miles...not durable at all. DO NOT drive this car in the snow! We affectionately call it the DEATH mobile during the winter as you loose all control (slips and slides everywhere).

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
If you want a Civic, buy a regular Civic...the hybrid is not worth the extra money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 19, 2007

samjms
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Styling, performance, mileage, comfort

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
fold down rear seats

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
I purchased a used Honda Civic Hybrid (06) recently and I love it from top to bottom - I am averaging combined mileage over 50mpg - I travel upwards of 500 miles a week as a real estate agent - the car is very comfortable, easy to drive, and the gages have taught me how to drive more efficiently. Trunk is a little small and the back seats do not fold down, otherwise I am a very happy owner


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 11, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Nice, quiet ride (except at hi speeds), handling, smooth CVT acceleration, nice interior and exterior design, MPG monitoring, PZEV emissions

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Better front seat comfort (I'm 6'2", they're a bit short for my legs). Braking can feel soft in emergency situations. Body lean just average: thicken rear stabilizer.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
Excellent value, above concern only noticeable on long trips, still much better than other compacts.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2007
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Live about 6 miles from a small town and after 15k miles it has averaged 44MPG

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
I would like my cake and eat it two! But the passing power will make you think about any hurried move.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
Factory tires seem soft as well as my silver paint. every thing thats comes its way leaves a mark. Head lites on dim or very poor. Overall I'm pleased with this large Civic, nothing is perfect.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 31, 2006
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Two-Teir Dash, Interior design, gas mileage, handling, quality, steering response.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Different head-rest design, move park brake lever, add rear cup-holders (non-hybrids have them), add a little more front leg room by allowing the drivers/passengers seat to travel further back on the track. Place the fuel door/trunk release on dash rather than on floor below seat.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
Overall, I am very satisified with my 2006 HCH and it has been a pleasure to drive. It gets excellent mileage as long as you drive conservatively. I like many things about this car and would consider buying it again in the future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 14, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
we had a 2005 civic hybrid and the changes Honda made for 2006 is outstanding. We have owned probably 40 Hondas in our lifetime. As far as we are concerned for reliability, performance, resale value you cannot beat a Honda. We have owned civics, preludes, accords, special editions honda and now hybrid all since 1973 so we know Honda products.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
usually Honda thinks ahead to what customers want or need. cant wait for the hyrogen cell or the diesel comming out soon I hope

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
outstanding vehicle. It will be a year that we have owned it and there have been no problems. If there were I am sure Honda would take care of it immediately.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2006

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Looks nice

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?
Don't lie about the feul economy

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
I was told i would get 50mpg I get 40mpg


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Honda Civic Hybrid Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid? 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Honda Model Lineup:
2006 Accord
2006 Accord Coupe
2006 Civic
2006 Civic Coupe
2006 Civic Hybrid
2006 CR-V
2006 Element
2006 Insight
2006 Odyssey
2006 Pilot
2006 Ridgeline
2006 S2000
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact