Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,215 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Ford Focus

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-26/32-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 136HP
2.3L I4 151HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 66 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Ford Focus in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Ford Focus in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Ford Focus also consider:
2006 Ford Focus Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Ford Focus
  1. MP3 6-CD changer
  2. Comfortable ride
  3. Acceleration
  4. Overall cute design
  5. Steering and handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Ford Focus
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. Gas cap lock
  3. Cup holders
  4. Doors do not shut smoothly
  5. Electrical problems
Submitted Jul 16, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:1
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Good sturdy car, gets up speed when you need it too.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Brakes squeal all the time, wheel bearings go bad which in turn ruins the steering knuckle which then messes with the cv shaft. I have replaced the wheel bearing hub assembly at least 4 times now and it still goes bad becuase the knuckle is worn completly out.

Ive changed the brakes regularly and still get problems. I dont run the AC becuase the gas mileage goes crappy and engine speed and HP go way down.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
FORD NEEDS TO RECALL THIS VEHICLE AND FIX ITS MISTAKE!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 11, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
ZXW Focus great car. Reliable as all hell 160,000 miles and still clicking. Purrs like a kitten. Great gas mileage even when loaded down, usually 29.5 with a full "trunk" and 4 passengers.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
The brakes are retarded annoying, ford should have fixed that and the camber/caster of wheels. Tire wear is pretty bad even with regular rotations. Many people who own focuses have these issues:broken engine mounts leading to serious cabin vibration. PCV hose cracking causing rough engine run. Idle air control leading to poor engine running. Brake squeaks, and tire wear.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
Great car for cost, will really last you if you baby it with regular maintenance. Still has its cons, that is life. It's more of a budget vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
I HAVE FOUR CARS: RAV4 SPORT 4L 2010, ODYSSEY 2008 LX., LEXUS LS 400 1991 AND MY LOVE FOCUS ZXW SE 2010; THIS FOCUS IS MY EVERY DAY CAR BECAUSE IS ROOMY, GAS SAVER, EASY TO PARK NOT SO WIDE, FAST AND CHEAP MAINTENANCE.

I GET THIS FOCUS WITH 167000 MILES IN OCTOBER 2010 AND KNOW IN AUGUST 2011 IS 177500 MILES AND STEEL LIKE A CLOCK. ONLY PAY FOR NEW TIRES AND FLUIDS.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
NOT ANY FOR ITS PRICE.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
MY BEST FRIEND ON THE ROAD, FORD FOCUS WAGON ZXW SE 2006.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 24, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:2
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
It handles with ease.
Gets good gas mileage.
Is easy to get into and out of.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
The brakes started squealing at about 20,000 miles and the car now has about 66,000 miles on it. The dealer says there is nothing they can do. Very upsetting.
Both rear door locks went out the same week when car had about 65,000 miles on it.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
Biggest complaint is the brakes. Lord, I hate to hear those things squeal and grind every day. If it were not for that I would give the car a 5 rating.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Nice little sharp car - zx3 SES.
Nice handling.
Great on gas.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Needs good tires 205-50-16 sizes.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
I had a zx5 ses, with no problems. Just bought a zx3 ses with 6,400 original miles as a 2nd car and like it a lot.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 17, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Looks.
Styling.
Interior.
Mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Less road noise.
Brakes squeak.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
Just got it and haven't driven it much.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 6, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
I love the gas mileage.
For me, it is a good car and it is roomy for such a small car.
Trunk space is decent.
I have never had any problems really.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Breaks squeak all the time.
Tires do not last.
Cup holders need to be farther away from dash.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
I have owned my car for 4+ years now and, (knock on wood), nothing has gone wrong with it. The only thing I would like is the breaks to last longer as well as the tires. More room for the cup holders and the cd storage, while practical, to be more spacious and in a better location.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Gas mileage...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Noise level, squeaky brakes and bearings wearing out @ 70,000 miles.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
Almost lost the the passenger side rear wheel on the highway due to the bearings. The car started swerving all over the lane, as I held on to the steering wheel for dear life. Had to have it towed to the dealership and when questioned about the bearings, the mechanic said they are sealed making it impossible to inspect them, but they usually make a noise before they wear out! With the road noise how can you hear it?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 3, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Looks great.
Handles good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
BRAKES SCREAM ALL THE TIME.
ALL 4 TIRES WORN OUT LESS THAN 20,000 MILES EVEN WITH PROPER ROTATION.
LEATHER SEATS STAIN TERRIBLE EASY FROM EVERYTHING.
MY CAR ONLY HAS 26,000 ORIGINAL MILES ON IT TODAY. I HAVE BABIED IT TAKEN EXTRA CARE OF IT AND IT HAS DISAPPOINTED ME BECAUSE OF TIRES AND BRAKES.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
BECAUSE OF TIRES AND BRAKES I WOULD NOT BUY ANOTHER ONE AND WILL TRADE THIS ONE ASAP.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2009
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus?
Looks nice.
Drives good.
Comfortable for short fluffy person.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus?
Brakes squeak loud all the time. Change whatever makes tires wear out every 17000 miles!

Cup holder is so close to dash above it you can not get cup in and out with out straw hitting dash and to far away.

CD holder to far away.

More room between seats but then car would have to be wider!
Key got stuck in ignition, sales manager said he never heard of that and everyone in service had gone home so I had to leave key in car. Doing a search I have found many people have had this problem! People have paid up to $800 to get fixed. I parked on a hill one day and it came out after a few weeks of being stuck in there.

2006 Ford Focus Review:
Dealers do NOT honor warranty! Tires wore out dealer said tough. Stereo ate CD, replacement one works some times. Seat covers stain horribly even with me paying for Simonex. Trunk leaks. Noisy very noisy! Brake roters wear unevenly so they can not be turned, have to get new ones.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Ford Focus?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Focus? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Focus? 2006 Ford Focus Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Ford Model Lineup:
2006 Crown Victoria
2006 Econoline
2006 Escape
2006 Escape Hybrid
2006 Expedition
2006 Explorer
2006 F-150
2006 F-250/F-350
2006 Five Hundred
2006 Focus
2006 Freestar
2006 Freestyle
2006 Fusion
2006 GT
2006 Mustang
2006 Ranger
2006 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Ford Focus | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise