Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,438 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford F-150 Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Ford F-150

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/18-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.0L V6 153HP
4.6L V8 231HP
5.4L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 81 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Ford F-150 in the top 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Ford F-150 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Ford F-150 also consider:
2006 Ford F-150 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Ford F-150
  1. Interior design
  2. Nice handling
  3. Great seats
  4. Plenty of power
  5. Sight lines from behind the wheel
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Ford F-150
  1. Longer bed with 4-door version
  2. More storage compartments
  3. Acceleration
  4. Gas mileage
  5. Place of odometer
Submitted Aug 13, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
Best truck I, ever had.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Spark plug issue worries me but I will have someone else change them.
Going to put a cold air intake on it. Suppose to improve gas mileage and give the beast more power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 23, 2012

pat
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
Nice look.
Great handling.
Decent power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Gas mileage.
Spark plugs issues.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
I've bought my 06 F-150 in 07. It now has 124 plus thousand miles on it. I've heard so many bad things about the spark plugs, I'm afraid to go get the tune up because a 499 tune might end in the thousands when they are done.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 14, 2012

ramon ortega
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
I like the big engines it has.
Runs very quiet.
The truck has lots of towing power.
Very roomy inside the cab.
My truck can hold 6 people inside the cab.
I like the seats inside my truck.
I have has my Ford F150 since I bought the truck brand new off the Ford Dealership lot in July of 2006.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
The only thing that I have experience bad is the gas mileage. I guess it depends on how you drive.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
Over all I love my Ford F150. I have had my truck since July of 2006. And my Truck is still running very good, I have 198,445 miles on my Ford F150.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 8, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
Great exterior and interior.
Plenty of room.
Very quiet.
The 6.5' bed and 4 doors allows me to haul people comfortably, have a bed tool box and still have room in the bed for hauling stuff.
Drives well going down the highway and runs about 70mph at 1800 RPM on a Kansas road (flat!).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Towing ability. I have the 5.4L and pulled the boat (18.5' Chapparal) for the first time. I am a little disappointed. My fuel mileage with highway and in-town driving is about 14mpg and pulling the boat got me around 11mpg.

The seats need more padding in the mid-section. It is also awkward to get out of, especially with the side step.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
Overall it is very enjoyable. Would like to see more performance from such large engine. Comfort and style beats the rest of the trucks in 2006.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 29, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
The truck looks great.
Lots of power for what I do, I got 5.4L motor.
I love everything about this truck except for what I write in the cons...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
What I really do not like about this 2006 Ford Truck is the paint that falling off around the gas cap and many other places. Rocks also make the paint go away way to easy.

Also the spark plug issue that Ford as, they stay stuck in the heads, then we have to pay the extra labor to get them out. I decided not to change them until the trucks is not running well anymore then I will let someone else deal with it. And I will go buy a new truck, and it will probably not be a Ford if these problems are not corrected.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
This is the first Ford I bought. I really like it, and if it were not be for the paint and spark plug problem, I would love it. It's not fun to buy a new truck and watch the paint fall off, or worry about how much it will cost you to change the plugs.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 15, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
WE LOVE OUR 2006 F150 WITH THE 5.4 ENGINE AND YES IT'S NOT GREAT ON GAS, BUT THE RIDE IS GREAT. SEE OUR CONCERNS BELOW -

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SPARK PLUGS CHANGED YET? WE HEARD SEVERAL MECHANICS STATING NOT TO WAIT FOR THE 100,000 MILE TUNE UP AND CHANGE THE SPARK PLUGS ... THEY GET HOT AND CRYSTALIZE (THE PORCELINE PART) AND BREAK OFF WHEN CHANGING THEM! SO, WE DECIDED TO CHANGE OURS AT 51,500 AND ONE BROKE OFF. IN 2008 FORD CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS AND THE PROBLEM HAS GONE AWAY. I THINK FORD SHOULD PAY FOR THE EXTRA LABOR TO GET THEM CHANGED AS WELL AS REPLACING THEM WITH THE NEW ONES FOR THE 2008-2010 (COSTING $38 EACH)!

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
FORD NEEDS TO CORRECT THE SPARK PLUG ISSUE AND I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM OTHERS EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
I love this truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Fuel mileage.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
5.4 is very strong, I enjoy driving this truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
The truck looks good.
Nice ride.
Quiet ride.
I enjoy driving this truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Fuel mileage.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
This truck is a 2006 f-150 4x4 xlt with a 4.6 L. It is a little hard on fuel but then that is to be expected with a full size truck. It would be nice if it had a little more power because it does not pull well in the wind. I only use it to pull a small utiliy trailer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
It is a good looking vehicle, nice interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
The engine, it began with a small tapping noise which progressed to a larger tapping noise. Oil has been changed in accordance to manual, no rough rides. It turns out the engine has been taken apart. I know of three other cases with the same problem. At this very moment the vehicle still in the Ford shop I have not been contacted as to what work will be done. Though the vehicle had a bumper to bumper warranty for a year or 6,000 miles, it was over by 150 miles it was turned over to the extended warranty and so I wait.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
The engine must be made more reliable. Ford Motor Corporation should investigate this problem with local dealerships' repair shops involving the 2006 F-150's.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150?
Looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150?
Better transmission for better gas millage.
All new front-end configurations - too stiff. Fine for perfect roads but not acceptable in the real world.
Don't drive this truck on any dirt road unless you use two hands on the chattering vibrating steering wheel.
What's up with the air filter container closure system on the 4.2l? The poor quality coils had to be an oversight. The premature break down should be looked into for a possible recall. They may be cause of many problems ie. lack of power, poor gas millage, lighting problems.

2006 Ford F-150 Review:
This model spelled the end of Ford's reputation as the truck with the best ride. Good looks only can get you so far. The cosmetic upgrades on the 2010s won't cut it. Loyal Ford truck customers are flocking to other brans. Check the facts for yourself or just look around in the real world.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford F-150 Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Ford F-150?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford F-150? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford F-150? 2006 Ford F-150 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Ford Model Lineup:
2006 Crown Victoria
2006 Econoline
2006 Escape
2006 Escape Hybrid
2006 Expedition
2006 Explorer
2006 F-150
2006 F-250/F-350
2006 Five Hundred
2006 Focus
2006 Freestar
2006 Freestyle
2006 Fusion
2006 GT
2006 Mustang
2006 Ranger
2006 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Ford F-150 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise