Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,579 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Escape Hybrid Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 33-36/29-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.3L I4 155HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 26 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid also consider:
2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Navigation
  3. Comfortable
  4. Feels like a V6
  5. Fuel mileage graph
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid
  1. Temperature gauge
  2. More realistic MPG info
  3. Beef up the AC
  4. Navigation screen too small
  5. Rear cargo carpet
Submitted Apr 17, 2013
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Everything except the mpg, nothing near what Ford bragged.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Have the AC run on battery when engine in idle mode -- like at stop lights--like the Prius.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Great except for mpg due to needing to turn on the "max" button at stoplights.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 3, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
The performance is terrific.
The fuel economy is great.
My vehicle has 78000 miles and still has the original brake pads and only the second set of tires.
Other then change the oil and keeping fluid levels up, it is worry free.
Had to have the battery harness changed.
Great vehicle for the dollars spent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Interior cargo space could be larger.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Great vehicle. Performs great on the highway as well as in town driving.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2010

tim416
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Escape with mileage of an Escort.
Fun in the snow.
Nice torque from battery.
All four wheels spin in icy conditions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Poor mileage performance in cold.
Battery and charging system works poorly and very inconsistent below 50 degrees.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Have 91000 miles on now. Brakes will be replaced for the first time. Replaced left and right inner/outer tie rods at 80000. ABS and traction control went nuts resulting replacing "tone ring", $32 part. Will be replacing front struts also.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 2, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
It drives really nicely, is very quiet and is comfortable. But more importantly for a hybrid, it has giddyup and gets decent mileage.

It is able to accelerate quickly when needed, merge into traffic, for example.

The standard radio also has great sound and plays mp3 CD's, a feature I really like.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Make it get better mileage!

It's very sensitive with the battery vs. engine. If you hit the gas just a little too hard, it'll turn on the engine. Also, the engine automatically kicks on at 40mph.

In severely cold weather it also stays in engine mode most of the time since the engine never gets warm enough to switch to battery. I found that annoying this winter, and it really knocked down my mpg's.

Also, the 110 AC outlet is too weak - it can't even heat up water in an electric kettle.

Last thing, if you fold the seats down, there's nowhere to put the headrests.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Overall I am happy with the Escape Hybrid. It doesn't get as good mileage as I was hoping for though. I get 25mpg on the highway (75mph driving) and 28mpg on my commute to work (mixture of highway and local, with traffic lights).

If you drive mostly on the highways, stick with an economy car like a Civic or Jetta for great mileage. If you do a lot of local driving, and sit in traffic a lot - you'll get great mileage.

Despite that though, every time I'm at a red light and it goes to battery, I feel really good about myself.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 7, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
I like the mileage of this SUVand that you can get it in 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive. I wish it were possible to get a truck with similiar features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Make the rear seating fold down easily for use to carry larger items.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 6, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
It's cool!
Gas mileage.
Comfortable interior.
Less expensive than the Toyota Highlander Hybrid.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Lumbar support.
Outside temperature gauge.
More "cubbie-holes" for storage.
Make it more comparable in size/room to the Toyota Highlander.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Overall, I love it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Seamless hybrid operation, great mileage for an SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Storage for driver and passenger's doo-dads; allow user to choose enhanced utilization of EV mode.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Great car, fun to drive, pretty green as SUVs go.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 13, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Very well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
More interior choices (that don't show dirt). Keypad entry would also be nice (as on the Ford Explorer)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 4, 2006

lsbyrne
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Mileage, low emissions, navigation, performance, bells and whistles make it feel like luxury car

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
lower the price! Also, the gas engine is a hog. Especially uphill

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
This is a terrific car, too expensive, but gets GREAT mileage. I've been able to push mine to 40mpg by driving it carefully. Mine has all bells and whistles, feels like luxury car without my former Benz maintenance bills.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 17, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
It drives really nicely, is very quiet and is comfortable. But more importantly for a hybrid, it has giddyup and gets decent mileage. --- It is able to accelerate quickly when needed, merge into traffic, for example. --- The standard radio also has great sound and plays mp3 CD's, a feature I really like.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?
Make it get better mileage! --- It's very sensitive with the battery vs. engine. If you hit the gas just a little too hard, it'll turn on the engine. Also, the engine automatically kicks on at 40mph. --- In severely cold weather it also stays in engine mode most of the time since the engine never gets warm enough to switch to battery. I found that annoying this winter, and it really knocked down my mpg's. --- Also, the 110 AC outlet is too weak - it can't even heat up water in an electric kettle. --- Last thing, if you fold the seats down, there's nowhere to put the headrests.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
Overall I am happy with the Escape Hybrid. It doesn't get as good mileage as I was hoping for though. I get 25mpg on the highway (75mph driving) and 28mpg on my commute to work (mixture of highway and local, with traffic lights). --- If you drive mostly on the highways, stick with an economy car like a Civic or Jetta for great mileage. If you do a lot of local driving, and sit in traffic a lot - you'll get great mileage.
--- Despite that though, every time I'm at a red light and it goes to battery, I feel really good about myself.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Escape Hybrid Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid? 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Ford Model Lineup:
2006 Crown Victoria
2006 Econoline
2006 Escape
2006 Escape Hybrid
2006 Expedition
2006 Explorer
2006 F-150
2006 F-250/F-350
2006 Five Hundred
2006 Focus
2006 Freestar
2006 Freestyle
2006 Fusion
2006 GT
2006 Mustang
2006 Ranger
2006 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise