Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Uplander Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Uplander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Van
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 17-18/23-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 201HP
3.5L V6 196HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 76 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Uplander in the bottom 6% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
6%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Uplander Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander
  1. DVD player
  2. Back up sensors
  3. Smooth ride
  4. Remote start
  5. In-dash MP3 player
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander
  1. More torque
  2. Reduce blind spots
  3. More cargo space
  4. Turning radius
  5. Easier fold down back row
Submitted Jun 21, 2014
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Big enough for my family!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Fix engine light problems and abs problems

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
Good van but needs mechanical fixes


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 25, 2013
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
The best thing about this van is definitely the size. I have grandchildren and Girl Scouts. The rear section is roomy and letting the back seats down gives you even more room to haul small furniture, etc.
The DVD was a plus, but it malfunctioned last year and would not turn off. I had to get a boost to start the van several times until my mechanic figured out how to remove the unit.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
ABS constantly on. I've made recommended repairs and/or replacements but it still comes on.
Transmission - slipping
Anti-Theft system activites without warning.
The lift gate rods have been replaced several times.
Check engine light is on now and the system is giving 4 different diagnostic codes, some of which are transmission related.
You can't get a battery replacement at most auto parts shops because of the placement.
Tune Ups are EXPENSIVE due to engine placement.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
I am not suprised that Chevrolet does not make this van any longer. I drove one as a rental for a Girl Scout trip several years ago. I was impressed with the gas mileage and space. And it had a smooth ride. Unfortunately, that could not predict what ownership of the vehicle would be like. I plan to try and keep it up for at least another year. But it will depend on how much money these latest repairs will costs. I've had good experiences with Chevrolet, but the Uplander was a great disappointment.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 4, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
The size is great for multiple passengers, Grandkids and Girl Scouts, travel and camping trips. The DVD player was a great extra.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Better functioning electrical system, ability of dealers to diagnosis the REAL problem the first time, built for better access to the battery and headlights. This van has been discontinued and after reading the reviews and blogs over the last few years, I understand why.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
The multiple and costly problems to keep safely running are the main downside. ABS and other warning light on and off, even after paying for diagnosis and repair of suggested items. I've had to pay someone to replace my battery when needed because of the design under the hood. I bought this van only after my old 1996 Toyota Previa developed multiple issues including the transmission. I thought the Uplander was a good "trade up", especially being a GM product. I thought wrong!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 18, 2012

dave
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Very comfortable front seats. 36 mpg uk gallons at 105k.
good heating and air conditioning. Once GM took out the few bugs when new it has worked perfect. About 80,000 on it now. Like the way it handles on the road. I sat behind the wheel and drove for 13 hrs and not super tired, I am 75 years old. It fits me and I like it.
This came fully loaded and all works fine.
Hope GM makes a similar one when I need a new one.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Hard for a grown up to get into the back seat. The seats are quite heavy to remove and replace. I wish they would fold into the floor.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2012
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
I like the room it has and the body style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
By getting rid of it!

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
Oh it rides like a dream until the transmission starts slipping, the steering wheel completly locked up on me, thank God I was only going 25 mph. I had no control whatsoever for about 20 seconds. My ABS light is on and off, I replaced a sensor in the ABS for $533.00 and now the light is back on 3 weeks later with more sypmtoms than before. I wish I had read the reviews first before I purchased it. It is a money pit draining me dry and I am a single mother of four. I can't afford the upkeep if these problems continue. Oh and did I mention the CD player doesn't work. I feel like this car is a death trap to my family waiting to happen and I can't do nothing about it. I don't have the funds or credit to trade right now. I wish I never layed eyes on this van. No wonder there are so many on the lots for sale because no one wants it!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 19, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Doesn't feel like I am driving a minivan but an SUV.
The DVD system, roomy, love the automatic side doors.
Large side view mirrors, ease of access to cargo space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
More leg room in the back two seats.
Gas mileage (mine is AWD and gets about 15 mpg AFTER a tune up).
Wished the third row seat would fold down flatter to haul stuff in it.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
Overall, I LOVE my Uplander, except right now it is getting another tranny put in, had to put out quite a bit of money for 3 different fuel sensors, still have to get AWD system looked at, and issue with ABS. But it is very roomy and I can fit 4 adults, two children and an toddler seat and be comfy!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 28, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Interior room and 22-25mpg.
Power acceptable with 6 adults and loaded.
Styling outside and inside with lots of headroom. All family over 6 to 6.4 tall.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Better factory service under warranty. Dealer tried but factory help spotty at best.
Aftermarket brake rotors better quality.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
My uplander has over 100 thousand miles with one brake job at 70000 miles. There have been transmission lube problems at 50000 miles and at 100000 miles thought transmission was acting up again but jerky chattering shifts really caused by needing tuneup. Recommend tuneup if close to 10000 miles before trans work.

I also suspect wheel bearings are replaced needlessly sometimes. I was told the van needed bearings +tie rod ends although I had no problems. I took it to a trusted shop and was informed all parts were ok.

All in all I like mine and will drive mine 200000 miles.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 8, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Over all, I liked the van at initial purchase. However, after 3 1/2 years of ownership, it is the most disappointing vehicle I have ever owned.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Increase the quality of parts, materials used and improve the operative design of the suspension, brakes.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
The Uplander is a disgrace to G.M. customers and G.M.'s reputation as a builder of quality vehicles. I have never owned a vehicle that has had so many issues/problems.
Faulty voltage regulator, worn front end stabilizers, warped rotors, premature brake wear, front wheel bearings replaced, hard starts with run on cranking, body side molding becomes discoloured and is replaced due to poor quality, rear wiper motor quits and has to be replaced, rear 3rd. brake light lens cracked and discoloured, rear calipers siezed at 35,000 kms., problem with rear tires cupping due to poor design and G.M. alignment specs. about to buy 3rd set of tires at 80,000 kms., premature wear on leather seating, ABS and Stabilitrac warning lights come on sporadically because of contamination of the sensors, steering clunking due to loose knuckle in steering assembly, and in reflection of all this, the "proud" Chevrolet emblems on front and rear have become tarnished and tainted from water infiltration due to poor quality. Strange coincidence?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 4, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Exterior very stylish.
Overall the interior is family functional.
Great for traveling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
Rear seats cumbersome to remove.
Rotors replaced twice.
Sliding doors fixed at least six times.
Rear window motor non-functional.
Steering column shaft replaced once.
Other misc. issues fixed while under warranty.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
If I knew the issues I would have after the purchase, I probably would not have purchased the van. However, my dealer has been an excellent dealership to work with. The maintenance advisors have been very accommodating in dealing with the issues I have had to deal with.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 26, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
The interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?
I can't even begin to explain....I am so irritated by how many problems this van has and is still giving me...

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
No great words from this mouth!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Uplander Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Uplander? 2006 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Uplander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact