Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado HD Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/17-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
6.0L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 12 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD in the bottom 33% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
33%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD
  1. The look of the truck
  2. 6-speed automatic manumatic
  3. Towing capacity
  4. Interior room
  5. Solid feel
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD
  1. Vibration
  2. Dealership service
  3. Fuel economy
  4. Improve center colsole
  5. Reliability
Submitted Nov 29, 2008
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
HEAVY DUTY EXPECTATIONS, WITH HEAVY DUTY RESULTS.
SUSPENSION, ENGINE, AND EXTERIOR HAVE "HD" QUALITIES.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
1-INTERIOR SEAT HEADREST- MORE ADJUSTMENTS (ACTIVE HEADREST) AND CLOSER TO BACK OF HEAD.

2-REAR CREW CAB INTERIOR HEADLINER HAND GRIPS TO BE FLUSH MOUNTED (ADJUSTABLE) AND EASIER TO HANG A REAR BAR TO HANG A CROSS BAR TO HANG CLOTHING BETTER, I TRAVEL ALOT AND EXISTING GRIPS ARE TO CLOSE TO SEAT AND CLOTHING BAR NOT FEASIBLE.

3-HIGHER MOUNTED DOOR INNER TRIM PANEL POCKETS THAT ARE DRIVER FRIENDLY, THEY ARE TOO LOW, AND TO HAVE REAR DOOR INNER TRIM POCKETS.

4-IN ORDER TO ADJUST THE BACKREST OF THE SEAT WHILE DRIVING, THE INNER DOOR TRIM PANEL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE ADJUSTMENT LEVER AND MY HAND JAMS UP AND IS DIFFICULT TO REACH LEVER.

5-THE CENTER CONSOLE NEEDS TO MORE FREINDLY AND TO BE ADJUSTIBLE AS THE SEAT BACKRESTS.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
OVERALL, I HAVE A 1500HD AND IT IS EVERYTHING I NEED IN A "HD" TRUCK.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
unbelievable power{duramax}

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
bigger tires from factory

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
I ENJOY PASSING UP THOSE FORD&DODGES UP THE HILLS W/MY TOYHAULER


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 18, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
many options, comfortable

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
old exterior look. not as tough as ford or dodge. little things keep breaking or falling.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 5, 2006

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
I like the eoverall look and ruggedness for the money. not near as tough looking as ford superduty. But good truck so far

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
A little higher up like the ford. I have the leather and onstar package, I hate that the airconditioner does not have a memory you have to set it everytime you start the car.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
pretty good truck, needs to be bigger


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2005

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
The Duramax is transparent to everyone except the driver (lots of power), it is quite quiet which I like as compared to an older diesel I have. The entertainment system and Bose Stereo coupled with the sunroof makes for a fun truck to drive with the kids.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Chevy could do a lot to take a look at their quality control. We're quite disappointed with the finish. A little hard to notice while at the dealer, once home a few items stood out like a sore thumb and are not easily fixed, i.e., fit & finish of the drivers side passenger door. Looks like bad body work.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
Cannot say enough about the power of the 6.6 Duramax, handles grades up and down quite well. The seats are very comfortable, both front and rear; with three kids, it had to be. Not nearly as impressed with the finish as this is the second new GM/Chevy product I have owned in the past 12 years and both were of far less quality finish than the competition. Fortunately for GM/Chevy, it was the heart, not the looks, Shame on GM/Chevy for their lack of quality control on the exterior finish.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2005

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
My power train is as good and reliable as any that I have seen in the past. I can and do feel comfortable in my rig.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Better tires by the manufacturer. Better service by dealers.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
Hard to get a better pickup than this. I haul a fifth wheel trailer and now have 67000 miles on the truck. My trailer is 37 feet Alpinelite. My only problem with the truck is the turning radius. It takes a country mile to turn it around. I am not happy with the extended service and some of the dealerships in the lower "48".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2005

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Appearance, power, and comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
None

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
This truck is better than advertised. I cannot say one negative thing. It will flat pull a house off it's foundation.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2005

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Duramax and the 6 speed Allison

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Bigger tires and wider wheels and make it sit level

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
This truck has everthing I need in a truck. Smooth performance, quiet, and plenty of power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2005

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Good power for small displacement engine and fairly good mileage as well, both aspects seem much better than my other 2002 2500HD WT

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
Smooth the transmission out, and give the interior components a more substantial feel

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
For the price the sub-par interior quality is acceptable. The 6-liter has good power as long as the RPM's are kept up. The transmission is a bit hard to cram into reverse or first and shifting can be a bit notchy at times, reminding me of the 30-year-old pick up I owned in high school. Paint quality is poor with a fairly noticeable orange peal appearance. A major up is a comfortable 3-piece bench seat that feels more like a bucket. Over all for about 21k it will do most work thrown at it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jul 26, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
My Silverados power is unmatched, I have been able too put 4000# of rock in the bed,tow a trailer with a 15000# bobcat on it and still have power too move through traffic without worrying about causing traffic jams. The gas mileage is poor it is only 10.2 miles per gallon. But that is not why I bought it. The 4W/D is excellent also, it rides great too.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Silverado HD?
The gas mileage is not good but people do not buy 2500 HD for gas mileage.
The only other thing I do not like is I have to go to the Dealer to get windshield wipers.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Silverado HD Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD? 2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Silverado HD | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact