Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Silverado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/17-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.3L V6 195HP
4.8L V8 285HP
6.0L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 43 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Silverado in the bottom 17% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
17%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Silverado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. XM Radio
  2. Auto folding mirrors
  3. Best fuel economy in class
  4. Daytime lights
  5. Digital MPG readout
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. Exterior & interior design old
  2. Reliability
  3. Side-curtain airbag
  4. Better crash test results
  5. Lumbar adjustment
Submitted Oct 29, 2016

callie seed
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
I like the style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Needs better shocks - rides bad.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
All in all, I love the truck - never had a problem with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 24, 2015

Mel H.
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Glad I got the last of sharp looking Chevy's. Solid, looks good and runs great. The newer ones looks funky...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Change the air intake system to a Volant, use expandable an
hose from the box to the lower front of engine to let in cool air.
Truck runs unbelievable, lots of power.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Should have stuck to the old style body.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 7, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Nice interior.
5.3 B code engine 300 plus HP.
Nice ride.
Nice body designs.
Fuel economy after it finally broke in between 7 and 9 ltrs per 100 km city and between 12 and15 ltrs per 100 km highway as long as I remove the brick from my foot.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Transfer case sucks, had to rebuild at 90,000 km.
Wind noise.
Won't down shift to passing gear after 110 km hr use manual.
Limited slip rear diff sucks hardly ever works.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
In my opinion this is a well built truck; pulls like a train, and rides like a car. Too bad they didn't keep this body style the newer ones are really ugly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 12, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Nice looking truck.
Well matched gearing.
Posi rear end.
A limited slip.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Absolutely no passing gear. Nothing but excuses from my dealership.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
This truck has so much potential. It's a beast offroad, practically unstoppable. However highway is unpredictable. It's gutless after 75km/hr and it won't shift after 80km/hr. It's unresponsive, my passengers all laugh when I step on it at highway speed. This has been an issue from the 1st week I've owned it. My dealership sales manager pretends it's o.k. The parts department even wants to solve it. The sales took my money and turned their backs on me. Because of this attitude, this is the last Chevy I will ever buy. I have been a true Chevy man my whole life. Like a rock, ya right.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 28, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Nice looking truck.
Comfortable ride.

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
I'm second owner. Truck has 59K miles and check engine light keeps coming on with an indication that fuel tank cap is loose. Had the truck back to dealer four times and they still can't fix it. Light is still on. Any suggestions out there?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 13, 2010

william costello
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
The power plant! The 4.8 in my crew cab (5 speed OD auto transmission) is plenty ballsy for highway or pulling a load of firewood out of the forest!

I bought this truck with 72,300 miles on it & have driven it 1500 miles so far. So far so good. Smooth ride, smooth engine performance, comfortable interior & surprisingly nimble for a big truck; responses quickly for a small V8.

Covers all the bases for me personally in what I need in a truck!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Get the 'marble' rattling out of the steering/front end.
And the wide gap at the base of the hood at the wipers really packs in snow great - great for getting moisture into the electrical system (shorted out my blower).

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Seeing how I'm the second owner, (believing the first owner took good care of it), I'd rate this truck good (3.5 to 4).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 18, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
I have a 2006 Silverado with 20000 miles. I am fairly pleased with the truck, with a few exceptions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
The Silverado, 2006 has had wind noise since new, I think I would solve that problem.
This truck has 20000 miles on it and for the last 10000 I have had a clunking noise in the front suspension. The problem is not in the tire rod ends, I checked . It seems that this an old problem and that Chevy is not at at all interested or they would have already solved the old problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 10, 2010

unkown
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
The vortec engine is definetly one of the best......

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
The manufacture needs to step up and fix all these problems we have with our 06'. My truck has a few problems with it first, the hood doesn't fully close and I notice trucks all over with the same problem and GM doesn't have a recall. Second my steering column rattles, they've been making power steering for years now. Third and least my a/c wiring harness melted and I've heard Chevy has these problems for years... So GM needs to step up they're game, we all bailed them out and now sell us less quality trucks our what.... Thanks Chevy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
I love this truck. Overall good truck to own with a few kinks I would work out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
Moving the cup holders.
Improve shifting points.
Rattling is steering column.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 31, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
I like my 06

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?
sterring needs to be improved rattling noise in column when driving on gravel

2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
overall a goog truck once they worked the bugs out of mine


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Silverado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Silverado? 2006 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Silverado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact