Log in
5.7 million people served. 20,164 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Monte Carlo Model Year - 2007 - 2006

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-21/28-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 211HP
3.9L V6 240HP
5.3L V8 303HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 39 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo in the top 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  1. Engine power
  2. XM radio
  3. Bang for the buck
  4. Easy to read dash design
  5. Long sleek design
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  1. Sould be rear drive
  2. Better speakers
  3. Add gas cap holder
  4. Cheap plastic feel
  5. Better brand management
Submitted May 8, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
POWER! plenty of power to go around!
Reasonable fuel economy for a V8 semi performance car.
The 06-07 updated body is gorgeous!
Updated interior is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Could use a sunglass holder.
Larger glove box would be nice.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
I have been driving an 05 MCSS (supercharged V6) for the last 2 months. It's a nice car but I view everything in the car as dated. I just purchased my 06, the updated interior is great. The seats are far more comfortable and I find the interior easier to work (radio, HVAC, ect.)

The ride is far better than the 05, much tighter, and quieter. The V8 is awesome, plenty of go when you step on the loud pedal. It would be an awesome car as a rear wheel drive, but I was looking for FWD for drivability for my wife in the snow.

From the value standpoint, I think it's an odd marketed car, larger 2dr cars are a shrinking market, and in general people are really leaning towards import cars. This makes for a soft resale market until the car becomes more of a desired item. I purchased mine as a CPO vehicle from a Chevy dealer. The car has 50K on it, I am the 2nd owner and it was never involved in an accident. Carfax shows it was purchased new from the same dealer that I purchased it from. It also shows when it was taken in for service at this same dealer. This is value for me.

My opinion is that it's a great car for the money! I am vary happy with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Sharp looking exterior... I'm glad they kept the same side profile and rear end, and only changed the front. Other nice things: V8 power, remote starter, aux input jack, big rims, they added a passenger side seat airbag, they moved the info center from the spot by the rearview mirror down to the dashboard where it's easier to see and reach the buttons.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
GM really cut quality to save money and it shows, maybe this is why they're going bankrupt! Compared to my old 2001 Monte SS, the 2006 Monte SS is stripped down:
- Cigarette lighter is gone and now replaced with a cheap plastic flap.
- Half the gauges in the instrument panel are gone!!! I liked the multi cluster in the 2001 Monte, it showed oil pressure and voltage meter, but now they're gone! Boooo!
- Speedometer goes in increments of 20 instead of increments of 10. This makes it harder to judge your speed accurately when you're being followed, which is the last thing you need!
- Leather shifter boot gone and replaced with more cheap plastic. I miss the old T-handle shifter! It was more comfortable to use and you could actually rest your hand on it while driving.
- All the nice little cubbyholes for sunglasses, change, CD case, and gloves that were in the center console are gone! Now it's just a big flat plastic waste of space.
- Stereo amplifier is gone and music sounds weak. What good is a radio if you can't hear anything? The 2001 Monte had kick-ass bass thanks to a built-in amp. The 2006's sound system is lame.
- Radio is a pain in the butt to use: it won't just play a CD after you insert the disc, you have to press "source" several times for it to go to CD mode... dangerous distraction while driving.
- The nice 3-spoke steering wheel has been replaced with an ugly 4-spoke wheel with a cheap plastic logo in the center.
- Heater controls are too small, too low to reach, and are hidden behind the shifter knob.
- The toggle switch for the sunroof has been replaced with a small flat switch that doesn't make sense... were the engineers drunk when they redesigned this???
- Can't use keys to open passenger door or trunk,you have to use the remote for everything, so if the car battery dies you're locked out of your own car. Ridiculous.
- They got rid of the protective plastic cover for the OnStar module in the trunk, so now the computer is vulnerable to damage if you put a large object (like a bike,) in the trunk.
- I think putting a 5.3 V8 in this car is a waste, especially since it's FWD. You go from 3.5 to 3.9 to 5.3??? I think a 4.4 liter V8 would've been a better transition. (They could've tried to use the 4.4 engine from the Cadillac XLR instead of trying to wedge this monstrous 5.3 in there!) And it still gets horrible gas mileage (19mpg) despite the Displacement On Demand, even with gentle driving.
- Too much power and too much torque-steer. In the winter I am going to park it, throw on a car cover for a few months, and walk to work in the snow... it'd probably be safer!

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
Don't mess with perfection!!! The previous generation of Monte Carlos was great and GM screwed it up by removing all the nice features and replacing them with cheap plastic crap. Even though my new 2006 SS has more power, I really regret trading in my old 2001 SS because the '01 was more user-friendly and fit like a glove. The seats were more comfortable, all the knobs and dials for the radio, sunroof, mirrors, heater & fan were easy to use. I drive at night, so I rely on touch rather that sight, and the controls in the '01 Monte were easier to find in the dark. Heck, I could've driven the '01 Monte blindfolded! The '06 Monte is a waste and I can't wait to finish paying it off so I can get rid of it. >:(


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Powerful V8!
Amazing looks!
Spacey interior!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Cup holders could be much better.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
I LOVE this car. bought it used in 2011 with 45k miles.
Upgraded from a 2002 3.8 MC
this 5.3L is fantastic. Plenty of power to get you around and have fun in! Great to talk about with other car guys. 5.3L is a decent size and constantly get my 4.6L grandfather picked on by the family.
I looks fantastic! A real head turner. Lots of compliments from total strangers.
First impressions are everything, whether a new job or picking up a date, they see you roll up in this and it impresses.

So far i have only had to replace the outter tie rods in it, That's it in over 2 years.

The cup holders suck! Brake too hard and spill anything that's in it with a flimsy top!
But if that's all i have to complain about, it's a A+ in my book!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 26, 2012

Duncan
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
The 3.5L is fuel efficient.

Cheap to buy tires for.

Looks awesome!

Maneuvers well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
3.5L lacks the ponies.

Cheap interior.

Stereo is weak.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 11, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Better looks than older models, LS4 is great!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Needs bigger glove box.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
Great power, comfortable, FAST! I'll never forget driving the roads around Watkins Glen, NY. WOW!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 1, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
I drive a 06 5.3L SS. I love the power of the v8. The front wheel drive doesn't bother me at all, it still has plenty of pick up and go plus will be great to drive in the winter. The look definitely turns heads on the street.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Having a separate button to turn the traction control off like my 02 Monte would be nice.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
It's a great car. I love every minute I get to drive it. It really turns heads and raises eyebrows. I love the v8, it definitely had plenty of go go go! The interior is much more roomy than my 02 and very comfortable. A+ for sure!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
It's a sleek beautiful looking ride.
I like the power (I have the SS) it scared the hell out of me at first, but I adjusted.....YEAH.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
This car has 10,900 miles, yes that's correct. It's so unreliable....I purchased it in May 2006 and have had it in for "DEAD battery", as of today 6 times. A little history here: This car first didn't start when I brought it in for a recall in March 2007. The Tech went to drive it into a bay and it was dead. I purchased this car as my last work car (I retired 01/08) so this car was driven 32 miles a day. The GM dealership just called and said, once again, that they couldn't get a code off of the computer (we always have it towed in hopes that they can get a code)and a new battery will be installed. I THINK IT'S TIME FOR GM TO BUY THIS LEMON BACK!!!! The Techs keep telling me that I'm not driving it enough to keep the battery charged. Have you heard so much BS in your life? Have any of you experienced this problem? By the way, they've also replaced the regulator. I can't with good conscience sell this car to anyone. We've been GM loyal our whole lives, but I'm at my witts end. Anyone out there that can help me with lemon law would be appreciated.....

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
I know many elderly people who have cars sitting in their garages that aren't run for months at a time and still start for them. But apparently the 2006 Monte Carlo SS must be driven daily to keep the battery charged and it's cells from dying!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2010

GWC
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
LOOKS AND DRIVABILITY.
NICE CAR FOR THE MONEY.
MINE CAME WITH HIGH END RADIO SOUNDS GOOD.
3.9 RUNS GREAT.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
INTERIOR LESS PLASTIC and more head room.. too late now.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
Still a nice car for the money - will be classic in the future. The last of the true full size coupes. Buy a nice one while you still can.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Power,comfort, style.
XM, 6 disk CD radio.
Steering wheel controls.
Auto dim rear view mirror.
Heated seats.
Huge trunk.
I have the LTZ model. Red exterior and black leather interior which is a great combo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Headroom poor.
Glove box small and no light. No cubby holes for stuff and map pockets in doors too small.
Door arm rests hard as a rock.
Too much plastic in the interior.
Misc. squeaks and rattles.
Speedo needs every 10 MPH graduations.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
In spite of its faults I love it. I'm a coupe type guy and knew going in that if I wanted practicality I'd have to buy some 4 door sedan type car which I couldn't bring myself to do. I love the radio, mine has the 6 CD changer. I don't understand the criticism of the radio but maybe the lessor model radios these come with do sound poor? Mine kicks butt and having XM radio is way cool.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 5, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Sharper lines and nicer wheels than the previous generation.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?
Better seat fabric and RWD.

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
The 2006 Monte Carlo is sleek and intimidating. It rivals its foreign competition!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Monte Carlo Model Year - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo? 2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise