Log in
5.7 million people served. 6,595 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-24/26-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 144HP
3.9L V6 240HP
3.5L V6 201HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 82 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Malibu in the bottom 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Remote starting
  3. Roomy inside
  4. Quiet and comfortable ride
  5. Powerful engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Better interior
  2. Include floor mats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. Center console too far back
  5. Low quality gas gauge
Submitted Oct 7, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Simply an easy car to drive. Comfortable, Quiet, Roomy, Good Gas Mileage, Nice instruments, Many power options are included in the base model, Reliable, Trip computer and Oil life Monitor, Regular maintenance tasks are easy, Bright headlights, Large trunk and rear seats fold down opening to trunk, Larger than expected rear seat room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Small Glove Box, Interior show dirt and stains way too easily, Wiper control is confusing, Sunvisors break easily, Front suspension components wear out, Engine is noisey under load, Paint on radio controls wears off, Drink holders could be located better, Interior materials are cheap, Center armrest feels poorly made, Dome light switch feels cheap,

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
This is a 4 cylinder, Mid size, Family Car. It is not a sports car. I wanted it to be quiet, comfortable, roomy and get good gas mileage. It has delivered slightly above average in all of these areas. Again I must say, it is simply easy and comfortable to drive and does not fall short in any area. I have over 100,000 miles on this car and I don't think I've spent more than $1,000 on repairs. I'm excluding tires and brakes and oil changes from this figure.

The car has a few minor flaws but hell, it's a cheap car to buy. It is true, that if you push hard on the gas, the engine gets loud and sounds rough but it's only a 4 cylinder and when you take it easy, the engine is quiet and smooth.

I am a conservative driver and I am very please with this car. I would rate it good to excellent on long trips and I have often seen 43 mpg U.S. whiie on interstate highways.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 13, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Great gas mileage.

Styling could be better, but each time I stand back; I like it!

Fantastic performance on the 3.5 V-6 engine. Friend drove it from the British Columbia interior as I drove my Jaguar in lead. As we drove through the Canadian Rockies, I noticed this mild mannered, 65-year old woman taking the corners very aggressively and would accelerate, pulling up beside me and then fall back. I asked over the two-way radio what was she doing and her answer was a resounding Yahoooo!!! She owns a far more expensive car and stated she was absolutely impressed with the handling and performance. What more can I say?

Interior space is great.

Trunk space is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The dash is plan.

The seats show stains too easily and must be cleaned on a regular basis.

I have 140,000 kilometers on the ticker. Not impressed with the fact that there is an oil leak on the ground. I was informed that Chevy has a service note out on the fact the rear seals might have to be replaced on some cars.

Today noticed I have a hum from the front wheel bearings. Had it checked and sure enough, both bearings will have to be replaced. Bummer.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
OK for the next month I'm going to invest about $1,200 for repairs on a car that is four-years old. That equates to $25 a month of ownership.

I can think of other cars that had I replaced the same parts, I'd need to auction off my first born. Hummmm, maybe that's not a bad idea.

Overall, I love my Malibu.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2010

Andy
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Have the SS sedan. Definitely the only way to go with Malibu's.

Roomy enough to sit 4 adequate sized adults very comfortably, sometimes 5.

The 3.9L engine is awesome. A lot of power at any speed. I still get an average of 20 in mostly city driving, which isn't too bad considering the size of the engine.

The car handles beautifully, kudos to the upgraded SS suspension and 18 inch wheels. Corners on a dime.

Dual exhaust adds nice appeal and exhaust note.

Side airbags are a plus.

Remote start is a nice add-on.

And I could keep going on...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The 4 speed auto with manual mode is interesting. Would have preferred a shift gate, rather than a button control on the knob, but it still works. I wish it could have been maybe a six-speed auto like in the Pontiac G6's?

Interior is no eye-catcher. I would have liked to see more brightly lit gauges at night. And no other SS emblems in the interior other than on the steering wheel. Would have liked to seen maybe SS in the carpeting or the embroidered into the seats.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The SS sedan is worth it. It looks and performs better than any other Malibu that Chevy offers. The engine sounds very smooth, yet is a powerhouse. The interior is comfortable, but Chevy could do a little better with their interior styling. It's functional, but it's not going to blow you away. And as much as I would prefer a different tranny setup, this Malibu is still a performer.

If you're looking for a car that's roomy, a performer, has got nice appeal to it, but yet don't want to spend the extra money, then I would strongly recommend the Malibu SS. You'll love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
I have a Malibu maxx.

I love the gas mileage which sometimes gets up to 33mpg on road trips.

I really love the handling and the fact that it is a heavy car and gets around in the winter well.

I love the space for hauling dogs and the trunk area is my tack room and it all fits well.

Plus I love the get up that it has, I love power!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
There is a rattling/vibrating in the dash somewhere that isn't always there, but when it is, it is really annoying.

I also hate the interior material, it stains so easily, even from just mud.

There is also the intake manifold gasket. It is in the 3.2, 3.4 and 3.5's. There is a plastic part that melts over time and ends up putting antifreeze in the engine (not cool!). If it is caught before your engine goes, it is about $800 to fix, and some places over $1000.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall I love the car, I wouldn't ever give it up, but with the gasket problem, I am really afraid that it ate away some of the seals, and now I could get major leaks. So, it will be going.

And from the research that I have done, I am going to search for a Subaru!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Handling.
Pick-up.
Confident Ride.
Huge Interior.
Comfortable.
Rear & front passenger seats fold down (except in SS). Standard rear seat skylights in the Maxx. Rear seats are adjustable and recline.
As a used car value, it can't be beat price-wise. I paid $8K for a 4 year old Maxx. (I'd be ticked-off though if I bought it new and paid the new car price of 24K).
I hope Chevrolet comes out with another Malibu liftback!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Plastic around radio-air controls is a bit plain, like something is missing.
In the Maxx, replace shade screens in rear seat skylights to panels, like the front sun roof.
I've seen some complaints posted about steering noise common to many GM models w/electric steering. I haven't experienced it w/my used Maxx at 34K miles. I'd have any used car checked out like I did before purchasing it.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I would recommend the Malibu Maxx as a used car choice. As a "car" person, I just couldn't committ to an SUV, even a small one. The Maxx '04-'07 Maxx is a great compromise.

The "trunk" is amazingly versatile. My sister who owns an upscale SUV import was impressed with the cargo shelf, which can be set to 3 different levels and has hooks for carrying plastic grocery bags. The shelf also slides out as a table. With all the seats folded down, the cargo space is enormous, yet the Maxx is somehow .5" smaller than the standard Malibu Sedan.

I really like it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 7, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Like almost everything. Was very affordable. Great gas mileage. I get around 30 mpg driving in rush hour traffic. I can get 35+ with careful driving on highway trips. Comfortable to drive and ride in. Can easily fit 2 carseats in back. 3 is a squeeze but we have done it. Exterior looks good. 54,000 miles and nothing has gone wrong. (We had to get new tires last year)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Interior seems cheap but is comfortable and seems to be wearing well even with 2 small children and their "stuff"

Rattling noise in the dash. Dealer couldn't locate it. It drives my husband nuts so I get to drive it instead.(A pro for me)

Doesn't handle well in slippery conditions. Any thought of touching the brakes and it goes sideways.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall, we have been very impressed with this car. We traded a dead Lumina with 220,000 miles for the Malibu with 1. Once the inital new car "look it only takes one try to start it; all the windows go up and down; all four doors open" glow wore off we were still impressed. The gas mileage is awesome. It is a smaller car but it is roomy on the inside. Recently we made a 4 hour drive with 3 adults and 2 kids in booster/carseats. The back seat was cozy but my 6 month pregnant sister was able to fit in the back seat comfortably. (We took turns driving) It is the first car I have ever been able to successfully parallel park.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 21, 2012

joey
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
It is a great car that everyone has something bad to say about it, but I love the car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Not a thing.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
It is great.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 13, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Love the way it handles.
Good gas mileage.
Nice looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Interior stains easy.
Humming noise underneath and have had everything checked to new tires, wheel bearings, brakes and etc..but noise still there..started at 70 k.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I would buy another because in 2005 owned one and was in a accident. Pretty bad one and I believed it saved our lives. Got another and just the humming is frustrating.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 6, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
I like how personal it feels.
If coolant gets 2 inches under the bottle fill line, it tells me.
Buttons are easy to reach without leaning forward.
And the computer read out has a wide range of options.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
There is a humming noise, like the flapping of insect wings in the dash, I couldn't locate for a couple years. It is the rubber seal, just above the wipers, on the outside of the front window that lets air pressure out of the engine bay. Super glue fixed it. A new seal would as well.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
A great car for the price. Very economical and user friendly. Mine has 105,000 miles and it gets 36mpg on the highway. 2.2L. Interior does stain easily if you have kids or don't buy seat covers. A lot of space in the trunk. And if you can stand changing your own oil, the filter is just an insert and it's on the top of the motor. Good ideas went into making this car a great buy, even as a used car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 17, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Improve the intermediate shaft problem.
Improve the deafening noise level inside the car.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Good.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu? 2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise