Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Impala Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Chevrolet Impala

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 18-21/28-31 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 211HP
3.9L V6 240HP
5.3L V8 303HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 127 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Impala in the bottom 40% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
40%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Impala in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Impala also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Impala
  1. Comfortable seats
  2. Powerful engine
  3. Satellite radio
  4. Sound system
  5. Styling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Impala
  1. Rear wheel drive
  2. Cup holders for various sizes
  3. Torque steer
  4. Better safety features
  5. Cheap interior
Submitted Aug 16, 2013

chauncey davis
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Never had not one thing go wrong. Best car I ever had.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 29, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Fuel economy, and power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Reliability. Has been replaced or needs: engine, exhaust, transmission, water pump, door latch, wheel bearing, steering knuckle, paint on hood, top and trunk.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 7, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
The body style way better than the 2000-2005 models. I have a 2006 Impala LS 3.5L V6 DUB EDITION.
Mods are dual flowmaster Super 44 Series exhaust system, 3 inch chrome tips on back. K&N CAI system (Cold Air Intake), Jet Performance Performance Tuner Stage 2. Projector LED'S Headlights and Blacked out Tails. 20 inch Chrome Rims. Get Nice feedback from people about my car.
Love the way it rides and handles. I had the car since 2006. It has 93,000 on it. Engine runs very strong. I get the oil and filter changed every 3000 miles. I use (K&N Performance Gold Oil Filter) Part# HP2006 sold at AutoZone Advance Auto Parts and PEP BOYS. So far I never had a problem with the car. Just basic maintenance done - brakes, battery, oil change, new tires, stuff like that.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Make it rear-wheel-drive for the V8 and V6's. Or a optional all-wheel-drive version only for the V6's models like the Dodge Charger's and 300's.
Get rid of the old traditional 4-speed transmission and upgrade to a 5-speed for the V6 models 3.5L and 3.9L and a 6-speed for the V8 5.3L SS version.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
It's a shame that GM stop making the SS model. GM needs to redesign the Impala and give it better features to keep up with the competition with the new 2011 Dodge Charger and Chrysler 300. And bring the SS back for 2012, since Dodge and Chrysler is bringing back the SRT-8 for the Charger and 300.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 27, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
The body style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Message saying oil pressure low, shut engine off immediately, power steering, steering knuckle, light saying fuel cap loose when it's not. Knocking in every car from 2006-2008 in dash when ac is turned on.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
I love Chevy but GM needs a lot of improvements and they need recalls on all these problems when everyone is having the same problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 24, 2011

guest238
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
I love this car, bought it brand new and I drive a lot. I have 210,000 on the car and all I have done is oil changes and tires...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Could use a little more power.. but if I wanted a lot I would have went with the ss.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Good car for smart people. Do an oil change and get routine tune ups...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 12, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
I love my car. It's a beautiful car. I get a lot of compliments on it, way before I put my 22inch rims on it. Also I tinted my windows and I have the chrome trimmings to top it off.
I love the horsepower it has.
Overall it's a great car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Um let's see. First the ticking in the dash board is horrible. Everyone I know with an 2006 Chevy Impala has the same problem with the knocking.

Also the water pump, the thermostat and the knocking under the hood.

I love the car. I've had it for 4 1/2 yrs. but I've had to have my thermostat changed twice.

Please GM you have got to do better.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
I Think That GM needs to improve this legacy of a car, by increasing the leg room in the rear seat and also improve or switch the brands of transmission that they have used and that maybe in the year of 2012, they will make an Impala with no FLAWS....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
I like the ride, the whole car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Better 3.5l engine - nothing but problems, gasket leaks, power steering leak. And now a coolant leak, leak, leak.
I work for GM and have five GMs in my home - nothing but problems, love my Pontiac G8, and would not buy another GM ....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Handles nice for a sedan.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
I have a stack of receipts about 1/2 inch thick showing the problems I've had. My transmission is now slipping and the dealership said it's not worth fixing. Yup, and I only have 45K miles on it.

Will never buy another GM vehicle again. This coming from a person who has NEVER bought anything but GM.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Horrible car, horrible service from dealerships. Now I understand why GM is going in the gutter.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Interior room.
Remote start.
Steering wheel controls.
Power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala?
Driver Power seat control does not work properly.
Slight scrubbing sounds from wheels.
Something should be done about the tire pressure monitors - they are not functioning on my car.
Trouble with coolant system and temperature.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Overall I like my Impala; however, I've had the car for about four years and the car is now falling apart. I have a very serious car repair bill because of the water pump - service people said their is a problem not very evident maybe a pin size hole, anyway made the car run hot (only once that I noticed) and affected engine. I really wonder!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 4, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
Replaced transmission, power steering rack, molding on doors, oil pressure switch, positive cable on battery, ohhhh yes it's in now for a possible anti lock system and low voltage in the car somewhere....... Just ask OSP about them when they test drove em. They weren't preferred.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Impala Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Impala?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Impala? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Impala? 2006 Chevrolet Impala Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Impala | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact