Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet HHR Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Chevrolet HHR

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 20-22/25-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 143HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 132 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet HHR in the top 37% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
63%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet HHR in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet HHR also consider:
2006 Chevrolet HHR Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet HHR
  1. Looks
  2. Sound system
  3. Gas mileage
  4. Lots of cargo space
  5. Comfortable seats
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet HHR
  1. Cup holder location
  2. Relocate window buttons
  3. More horsepower
  4. Offer park assist
  5. Sportier suspension
Submitted Apr 13, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Great, retro exterior styling.
Excellent fuel economy, cargo space and configurable interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Stiffer suspension, especially a rear sway bar.
6 speed auto trans.
Richer looking interior.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
I replaced a totally worn out Astro van with a 2006 HHR 2LT model. While it doesn't have the ultimate hauling ability of the Astro, it is MUCH nicer to drive, and burns 1/2 as much fuel. The exterior styling is a real hit- classic looks in a modern wagon.

The handling is clearly a compromise, I immediately added a rear sway bar that stiffened the roll resistance and helped curb the understeer of the stock car-something Chevy should have done from the factory. I don't expect it to be a sports car, but Chevy should have put a quicker steering box in it as well. With that said, the overall drive is pleasant enough. Power is quite adequate, especially considering the fuel economy- 23-25mpg around town, and 30 on the highway.

The interior is a compromise to cost, with fairly cheap materials. I put a carbon fiber dash kit in mine, which dressed it up greatly. The seats are very comfortable and reasonably roomy, and the visibility is ok, except for looking up at traffic lights. That's when you know what those prisms on 1940s cars were for. The short windshield is part of the styling, so live with it.

Overall, it's a great looking, economical, versatile, daily driver, and a very good value. They are wildly popular in my area, for good reason.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 29, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Stylish, loaded with features, peppy--how does a "retro" lose its styling?

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Limited visibility. Dumb window controls. Key lock on driver's side only? CHEAP! Why in world have a remote start, but make the tailgate such a pain to open? Wouldn't the $1000 for the remote start cover the cost of remote tailgate lift--something you'd actually use on a daily basis? The only time I've used the remote start in 7 years is to scare parking ticket Nazis.

Makes thunking sounds that make me nuts. I've replaced struts, shocks, tires, brakes, rotors, calipers. No good. Thunk Thunk

Now at 136,000 miles I have a $1300 broken motor mounts bill. This car has gone into lemon-ville at a young age.
I spent two days at the new car dealer from whom I purchased the car, and they could not find why the car had gone into "limp mode." For $165 they told me they couldn't find the problem.
A smaller independent garage did. So, looks like I might as well change from "apple pie" to Korean or Japanese suppliers?

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
See cons above. Thunk Thunk Thunk...goodbye $1300.00.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2013

faye
Performance:2
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Enguine revs up on its own.
Key got stuck in ignition.
Wobbles sometimes.
Poor when going up hills.
Parts are high as hell.
Such a new car have to order parts.
Most people don't know about it.
Cup holders.
Seats stain too easy.
Ugh...I can keep going. Try to avoid payments, seeing my car is paid off. I'm just over it. Engine loud. It's too much drama.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
Please DO NOT BUY.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 18, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
exterior, enough room, fuel, it lights up blue at night on the radio, seats fold down for more room, sun roof

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
move cup holders, better seat material, different door handles, ash tray would be nice for smokers

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
overall really great car! I've owned it for 3 months now and it's doing great for me. Taking me to point A to point B back to point A.
I like it a lot but I don't think I would get another one though since were all being honest here. Next time I'll spend more time with a car I might buy before purchasing it and looking up all the reviews and etc.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 23, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Room, gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Stop using cheap ass materials and get a better engineer

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
Terrrible Terrible car! Would never ever buy a chevy again after this!! Replaced every single little part on the front end, suspension must be made from bobby pins, interior design was so cramped the car was a pain in the butt to even drive. Door handle broke, seats stained easily, car dented and tinged incredibly easy....I could go on, let's just say over $5000.00 on. Never again...hmmmm...wonder why these guys needed government help to keep their business going.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 8, 2012

GUEST
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
I love the cargo space with the flexibility of the fold down seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
There is something inherently wrong with the brake system. When you travel down mountain grades, even slight ones, the whole front of the car shakes terribly...they don't seem to be able to fix this problem...it is scary!
The 1st day we had it the key was stuck in the on position because of the shift lever fault they did fix it. Just a cheaply made vehicle overall.
Hate the position of the window controls.
They really crammed things into a really small car. Didn't realize how small til we had it a while and tried to function with it.
The protruding rear wheel wells catch all the rocks, bugs, sludge etc on the road and are very difficult to clean.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
Good thing they are taking these off the market. Too many design flaws overall. The worst thing I would say is the inherent brake problem which Chevy has not stood behind!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Styling is awesome.
Good fuel consumption.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Shoulder checking is a problem (blind spot).
Silly place for electric window controls and cup holders.
Parts are expensive, e.g. we broke a door handle (just the handle), and it cost $530 to fix as they have to replace the whole inside door panel.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
Love to drive it, but with repairs being so expensive on this vehicle, we probably won't buy a Chevy car again. Would buy a Chevy truck though.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
What I like is that it gives the space as a small SUV, drives smooth and good on gas. I have had this car for 3 days.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Well, reading some of the other peoples quotes, I do have to say the horse power isn't that great...takes a few seconds for it to pick up speed.
Cup holders are in a very bad place and I'm not a fan of the power window buttons located in the middle. I guess I will have to compare some of these things in a bit.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
It's a fun car to drive so far and I traded it in for my 2002 Cougar and so far so good.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Great gas mileage, style, performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
The seats Stain easily.
Ignition won't let key come out.
Dents easily.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Love the style, cool looking car.
Very comfortable to drive.
Sound system sounds great.
Handling fine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR?
Relocate cup holders.
Relocate power window buttons to door.
Use better fabric on seats.
More horse power needed.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
I just bought a used 2006 HHR. I love to drive this car.
I'm 6.2 and the only problem I have is seeing traffic lights at stops but I can live with that for the feel you get from driving it.
I find the car needs more power for off the start or passing. But for the times when driving on the highway, I tend to find that you can lose track of you speed, was at 150kms and running smooooth (oops ).
This car loves open road.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet HHR Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet HHR?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet HHR? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet HHR? 2006 Chevrolet HHR Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet HHR | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact