Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,227 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-19/23-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 129 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Equinox in the bottom 10% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Plenty of room
  2. Sound system
  3. Style
  4. Comfortable driver seat
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Cheap interior material
  3. Better seat cushions
  4. Noise
  5. Turning radius
Submitted Jan 25, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Very comfortable interior.
Nice sound system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
TERRIBLE BLIND SPOTS!!!
Location of the cupholders.
The center console near the floor- if something falls between the seats and the console, good luck getting it out.
Brakes- I had them fixed first for making the car shake when I used them. Now I've had them fixed four times because they're making an awful tapping noise, and an almost scary grinding noise when in reverse, especially if you're on a hill.
Driver's side door- first the door latch mechenisim went out (that's over $400), now the works sometimes and sometimes goes down and won't come back up.
Also, it could use lighted mirrors (maybe other people have them- mine didn't).
The covers on the vanity mirrors break far too easily. When I bought it, they were both broken. The local dealership fixed them (after a long argument) and now one is broken again, not even a year after getting them fixed.
Location of the cigarette lighter is inconvenient. I use mine to plug in my iPod transmitter or GPS and it's too low. It wouldn't hurt to add an extra one on the side of the console or something. My old car had two up front and I didn't realize how helpful that was until I was cut down to one.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall I like my "'Nox." There are some things Chevy could do that would definitely improve upon it, though.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 18, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Power, accelerates well.
Styling.
Decent sound system.
Overall I like the Equinox.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Better turning radius.
Better gas mileage.
Better seat covers, (stain easily with only water).
Relocate the window controls to the doors.
Move the parking brake to the floor where it belongs.
Redesign the center console.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Overall I like the Equinox. However, Chevrolet has much work to do. The center light in the rear hatch visor was falling out so I removed the visor to reinstall the screws that were laying in the visor. Now, the weatherstrip hangs up on the body when you try to open the hatch. The visor screw holes are not such that you can adjust the visor position. The weather striping on the door windows does not adhere well nor does it even make contact with the glass. Poorly designed center console. Parking brake should be on the floor. Window buttons should be on the doors. Gas mileage not good for a vehicle of it's size. 36,000 miles and the alternator bearings are making noise. Ventilation controls do not always work correctly; when you select dash vents, air continues to blow through the defroster. Sometimes starter continues to runs briefly, after you release the key. Seats stain easily even if all that gets on them is water. Noisy brakes. Excessive road noise. Poor turning radius.

We had to have some minor body work done after it was hit while parked. While in the body shop, we were provided with a Hyundai Santa Fe. The Hyundai, with the exception of the sound system was a far superior vehicle.

We have also been provided with a Nissan Pathfinder Armada when we had to return to the body shop. Again, the Nissan was a much better vehicle.

I have said that I like the Equinox, but I would not buy another if Chevrolet did not make the changes I thought it needed to. Also if you want an Equinox LT (ours is the LS) I strongly suggest you look at the Nissans, Toyotas and Hyundais. Now that GM is owned by the government, I won't buy another GM period. I've alway been a GM person. Now? I'd buy a Ford first! However, if I want an American car, (our Equinox was built in Ontario, Canada while my Dad's '05 Nissan Titan was built in Tennessee) I'll buy a Nissan, Honda or Toyota.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 3, 2013

Rola
Performance:3
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
The design of the car in general, the interior and the exterior, needs to go back on the drawing table. Huge flaw in this car. Please redesign the whole car and improve the qualities of the interiors and exterior.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I'll never buy any GM car anymore and will not recommend the Chevrolet Equinox to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 3, 2013

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Poor design.

The starter from time to time drag on won't start.

Weather strips on the whole car is a very big issue for leakages in the rain season and specially in the spare tire compartment lost of water which leak all the way into the carpet of the back seat area makes the car smell bad.

Driving on the road feels like something is loose in the back when driving over the road bump, took it to the dealer when I had warranty, fixed it but the same problem came and took it again to the dealer but the problem keep coming back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I'll never buy a GM car any more. I paid around $44,000 for a brand new 2006 Equinox and after paying the car off, I had many major issue with the car.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I don't recommend the Chevrolet Equinox to anyone. There's a lot of problems with this car. Be aware of what you are getting yourself into. The car is not worth the price that you're going to pay for.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 11, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Bought my Equinox 2 and 1/2 yrs ago with 80,000 KM. Love driving this vehicle especially in winter. AWD is great, lots of room, etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
No complaints except experiencing starting issues, (last year and a half) starter drags but only once in a while. Dealer can't get it to duplicate at the shop. I wont sell it to someone else knowing it has this issue. Would love to hear from any other owner experiencing the same problem.
This is a Equinox from Canada.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 5, 2012

ashley
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I love the leg room and the space for everything I need to take wherever I go.
It has a great take off and smooth driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
The brakes make a lot of noises - also the underneath around the tires make a lot of noise.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I would buy another one but I would get the new 2012 edition. They revised the overall look inside and out.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 5, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I like the styling a lot.
It has a distinctive look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I would totally revamp the ventilation system. At 88k my heater core went out just like so many others. The blend door and the blend door actuator have also failed. Following a repair of all this stuff done under a warranty situation at CARMAX, the car was OK for a day and then it went right back the same symptoms. OVERHEAT, STEAM THROUGH THE REGISTERS. It is a tragically poor design of the ventilation system and GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO RECALL AND FIX IT.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
This car needs to go back to the drawing board. For all the feel good things that GM made into it, it lacks in basic engineering.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 24, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Tons of room for my kids.
Gets you through snowy weather like nothing.
Sound system is ok.
Good lighting.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I would change the gas mileage.
The cig lighter, cup holders (front and Back), seat get stained to easily, and windows controls on the doors.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
When I first got the car loved it because it got me through horrible winter weather when everyone else was getting stuck! And everything worked fine. Now that summer came my ac wouldn't stay cold my uncle tried to fix it and it still didn't work. Mist would blow out then get hot. The weather strips around my windows come off and when I'm driving down the road it makes a loud whistle sound. Tons of blind spots. Loud brakes and my car makes the loudest idle sound. And I only had this car for 9 months! I want to get rid of it before I have to put more money into it! Will not buy another Equinox but I will buy another Chevy!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 13, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Nice design.
Very responsive engine.
Navigates through deep snow quite well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
Internal transmission filter major flaw, in order to clean the filter tranny needs to be taken apart. I blew my tranny at 67k. Also drive shaft bearing seizes at 97k. VERY EXPENSIVE VEHICLE to maintain and run.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
I think it's sporty.
It seems to have great power for a V6.
The seating is comfortable even for someone 6' tall, whether you're in the front or rear.
Wonderful amount of cargo room.
Stereo system is great, even though I added my own.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?
The body dents too easy.
Interior does show dirt too much, water makes it look terrible.
Window switches should be on the door.
Replacing headlight bulbs is really a pain.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I enjoy my Equinox. I'm driving it all the time. It handles wonderfully.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Equinox? 2006 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Equinox | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise