Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-20/22-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.8L I4 175HP
3.5L I5 220HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 99 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Colorado in the bottom 14% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
14%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Solid build
  2. Simplicity of interior
  3. Sturdy feel
  4. Practical layout
  5. Bang for the buck
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Engine performance
  2. More interior sizzle
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Blend design
Submitted Oct 14, 2013

Linda Slade
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I've owned this truck for almost seven years now and have over 140K miles on it.
Great for winter driving.
Very reliable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Paint is peeling more than it should be.
My six CD player does not play the CDs, so having problem deciding if I want to pay $ to have it repaired, or removed and replaced with a stereo with MP3 capabilities..? I think a label might have caused the problem.. self induced...for sure.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Overall - we love this truck. We had the S-10, but the Colorado is roomier for us. We have the four door - crew cab.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2013

john marks
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
It's nice to drive. I have only owned it for 2 months. I bought it with 106,000 km. It's the crew cab 4x4 with 6ft box. The gas mileage I'm happy with.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Put a key lock on the passenger door.
I have had to replace the ABS cencer on the lt front wheel already.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Overall I like it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 5, 2013

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Affordable.
Semi reliable.
Simple.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Leaked gas on the top off the tank.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2012

John Woods
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I bought mine used with 132000 miles. I've been very pleased so far. Would like to have a key lock on passenger door.
The 4 cyl. has been perfect so far. I use it to deliver medication for a wholesale pharmacy. I'm averaging 22 miles per gallon at 142000 miles. It is a basic ext. cab with no electric windows or locks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I do miss my electric windows and locks.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Great truck. I love the crew cab as it works great both as a passenger vehicle as well as a truck.

Great 4WD performance, just push a button on the dash it it kicks in.

I put 31X10.50R15 tires on my truck, which are larger than stock, and didn't have any problems at all getting through deep snow in 4WD.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Some components are easy to break, like the seat lever on the driver's side, the parking brake release handle, etc.

Poor rearward visibility with the crew cab, have to be extra careful backing up.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
This is a great truck and I love it a lot.

However, it does have an issue which most people probably will never notice. I have a VHF radio in my truck as well as a scanner, and the truck emits interference in the form of a buzzing tone which drifts all over the VHF band and is on more than one frequency at a time. It wouldn't be a problem if it stayed on one frequency, or even two frequencies if it didn't move, but since it drifts around it's always locking up my scanner and occasionally interfering with the 2-way radio. I tracked the source down to the door locks, and I suspect it's a spurious signal being emitted by the door fob receiver in the truck.

My truck also developed a fuel leak in the line on top of the tank. Am in the process of fixing it now.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I love my truck and will not get rid of it till the wheels fall off.
Body style is great!
I have the crew cab with short bed and soft cover over the bed.
I have had no major repairs to do with the vehicle. Unlike others out there. If you take care of your vehicle and keep up on general fix ups, your vehicle will take care of you.
Fuel is great in my inline 5 cyl.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I think mine is fine the way it is now. Wouldn't change a thing.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Overall this is a quality vehicle. Take care of this vehicle and it takes care of you! Getting great MPG's. No major problems what so ever to speak of with my truck. I'm guessing people are not looking at the bigger picture when it comes to Chevy and how they make this truck. This may be a compact truck but for a compact truck it does everything that it should be doing and more!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 30, 2011

Enforcer
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Exterior styling.
Road handling in snow.
Size permits easy parking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
The gas mileage is not as good as I expected for going down to a five cylinder.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
I really like my truck, a Z71 4x4 extended cab. But it is small, I would prefer the crew cab. But the box on the crew is too small for hauling. I would like Chevy to design a Colorado a little bigger, maybe even challenge the Silverado.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Crew cab, 46,000 miles, Exterior looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
1. Better gas mileage.
2. Correct electrical problems. (HVAC Fan connector problem, now interior instrument light problem). Common problem with most Colorados, Chevy will not fix.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
No more.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2011

abenton
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
I like the way it looks.
It drives good.
Gas mileage is not good.
I like interior room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Better gas mileage.
Put in center console.
More power.
Better position of driver seat,
Make more expensive looking on inside.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
I like it and would buy another. But 4 wheel drive next time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 18, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
Nice looking truck.
Automatic locking differential is almost as good as 4WD.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?
No key access in passenger door.
Head had to be replaced (under warranty) at 99,000 miles.
Passlock has a glitch that keeps it from starting sometimes. Have to wait 10 minutes to retry.
No other problems at all.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Like the mileage - gets 24mpg normally and up to 27 on hwy with 4cyl/Auto.
Inexpensive transportation, been reliable for the most part. Have 125,000 miles on it and going strong.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Colorado? 2006 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Colorado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact