Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,160 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-25/29-34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 145HP
2.4L I4 171HP
2.0L I4 205HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 131 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt in the bottom 10% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Nov 30, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I like the look and it gets great gas milage

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Send it back to the factory and have it rebuilt every 10,000 miles

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Not good for driving in the snow. If your stopped on the smallest amount of snow, you'll just spin out.
I bought my car brand new with only 16 miles on it. Six years later it has 70,000 miles and I already replaced both front struts, wheel hub, sway bars 3 times and still have major vibration in the front end (with brand new tires) and a loud rattling noise. I have put over $3000 into the car for repairs that it shouldn't have needed. That doesn't include brakes, tires, and normal maintanence.
If your thinking about buying a Cobalt...DON'T!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 27, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nothing!!!! I like the dealers a lot less!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Throw them all into a shredder & buy a Toyota!!!!

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
General Motors needs to pay back the rest of our 33 billion
dollars & get the Hell out of the automobile business because
they do not have a clue to how a business should be operated.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2012

rebecca
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I love the sporty look and the great gas mileage. I have just bought my Chevy Cobalt and so far it has been really good to me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
There is nothing that I would change.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I love this car!! It's a great car for me and my 2 kids - very roomy for them and a great car for a family!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 16, 2012

Dominick
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Some noise when the heater is turned on.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Bought my 06 Cobalt LT for 5300. No mechanical problems. Decided to replace spark plugs and motor for the electric steering while the campaigns are still open. Most interiors for Cobalts are okay, but the original owner managed to order the car with the SS interior, just without the SS emblems. Nice car overall would like to own the SS supercharged though. Most people want and expect the best materials in their cars, but they forget these are just economy cars not luxury cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 17, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Great for the price.
It's fast, and there are many modifications out there for this car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Front bumper design.
Sun roof.
Tail pipe.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I got mines with 60000 miles on it, and for 6995. I can't complain.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 20, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Gas mileage.
Everything about my car is amazing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nothing at all - it's the Shiz.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I love this car. Its great mpg while going 70-80 mph on the back roads and such. This car is amazing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 12, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Heated seats.
Car was pretty reliable up to 130000 miles.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Had to replace the steering column and fuel pump, ac not good, and now have a missfire on cylinder 3. Checked and have low compression - either a bad piston ring or a burnt valve. Not good.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Very upset with quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 1, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Gas mileage is great.
Pretty (coupe).
Reliable.
Handling.
Roomy backseat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
-It is impossible to control the radio controls or use the charger for your cellphone if you have a drink in your cupholder.
-Seats are difficult to clean.
-Noise from heater (I thought it was just my car but I was in a friend's '06 cobalt and it made the same noise).

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I bought my '06 in December of '05.

I perform all of the regular services when needed, it has 70,000 miles on it now and I have only had one major problem (of course after the warranty was up a little over 50,000 miles.) I brought the car to the dealership numerous times and they kept telling me nothing was wrong, then one day I'm driving to work and all of my gauges start flashing. I did make it to work but had to have the car towed to the dealership from there for repairs... I'm convinced it was crappy mechanics at the dealership that did not catch the problem in the first place (I only paid for 3 oil changes due to their stupidity), I actually had it towed from the dealer after them having my car all day and not knowing what was wrong with it, to another mechanic who found the problem within a few hours... Maybe if they would have hooked my car up to a computer to see what was wrong in the first place, the wire that was so badly shorted out and robbing power from my computer would have been replaced under warranty.
Since then I have had absolutely NO problems with my car and I can hardly place the blame on Chevy for horrible mechanics.

I would defiantly purchase anther Cobalt.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nice ride.
Good on gas.
Very happy with it so far. I just got it about 2 weeks ago.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The trac control - there is no way to turn it on or off. I was told it's in the wheels. I got stuck in the snow and as I was trying to get out, it wouldn't go anywheres........... It's like every time I gave it gas it sounded like it was stalling out and it wouldn't move. I had to have someone push the car out. What's up with that???

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I wish I bought a Pontiac.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
-The overall look of the car (coupe)
-Gas mileage
-Decent acceleration

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?
-The Traction Control/ Anti-Lock brakes light comes on and off sporadically, but there is nothing wrong with them
-Larger back seat
-Paint does seem to be fading
-Radio doesn't eject my cd's on the first try
-Interior materials are lacking
-Rear-view visibility
-Inner compartments on the driver and passenger door were black and now have turned silver

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
The cobalt is a decent car. No, it might not be for everyone, but it is an option for someone who wants a car to get them from a to b. The only thing that annoys me is my TC/ABS light has a mind of its own. I like my cobalt, but I have come to the realization that this car is too small for me; if you are over six feet tall don't invest in it! Overall, the cobalt could be a good investment for someone who needs a gas-saving, sporty car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise