Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chevrolet Aveo

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 26-27/34-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.6L I4 103HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 69 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chevrolet Aveo in the bottom 20% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
20%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo also consider:
2006 Chevrolet Aveo Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Spacious interior
  2. Gas mileage
  3. Comfortable
  4. Looks of the car
  5. Zippiness
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Tighter suspension
  2. More aggressive exterior look
  3. Center console
  4. More horsepower
  5. Better tires
Submitted Mar 18, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
So far good, bought mine with 60,000 miles on it, and I drive about five hundred miles a week.

The comment about using 89 octane fuel is correct. I gained five miles per gallon, and now average 35 mpg.

I LOVE the size of the windshield........plenty of visual.

I drive about 95% highway miles and for what I need it satisfies my requirements.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
The suspension needs work, it runs tight, but after a lube there are plenty of creaks, and groans, but handles nicely.

Radio leaves a lot to be desired, but acceptable........AM reception is lacking, FM is fine.

The "baby" tires (as my wife likes to call them) seem okay, I look forward how they will stand up to highway miles.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Overall a fun little auto, with a few difficulties, but you aren't buying a Packard, or La Fayette are you?

Good solid transportation, probably the last vehicle I will own, I retire in two years:+)...........

I give it two thumbs up, since buying my first brand new Chevy in 1963 for $2800, car payments of $49 a month! I have been with Chevrolet for a long time, and Chevrolet has treated me well over the years........

Satisfied customer!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 8, 2015

liz johnson
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I purchased the car new....performed good until I was hit by another car....it has been downhill every since...had several sensors replaced... it is still idles up and cuts off.... as many of us know it is hard to find mechanics with integrity. ....even at the dealership.....this is my first Chevrolet and my last one..... I never want anything supposedly made by Chevy..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Junk it.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
I hate hate this car....buyers beware.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 18, 2013

Norma Outram
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Windshield allows for great visibility.
I'm fairly tall but have plenty of head and leg room.
Peppy for a little car.
AC.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Better tires.
Better stereo system.
A couple of inches longer would allow back seats to fold down evenly with the back. (mine is a hatchback)

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
At almost exactly 100,000 kms everything seemed to go at once. Both front struts and bearings went. Also no one told me before or after I bought it that I should have the timing belt replaced at 60,000 km. So had to have that done. Front brakes needed doing. My spark plugs were floating in oil which was leaking from some where. Also something to do with the thermostat was wrong. The tires that are on the car when its bought are really poor. I had to replace them after the first year. Now it has started 'bucking'. I have no idea what this may be! Am I the only one who bought a lemon? Oh, and the stereo only accepts cd's when it feels like it. Looks like its going to play but then switches back to the radio.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 11, 2012

Blair
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Not sure why people say it has no power. It does very well on take off from 0-40 and average after, and I am used to a v6 with 175hp.
Tires will be cheaper to replace than my 16s on the Alero which is nice and gas will be cheaper.
Has just as much room and the steering is good and tight just like I like it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Well it's tiny so if you're hit, your done for and so is the car. But that's the point - it's an affordable car.
No power windows or locks, so they should at least give you a plug in for mp3 or sat radio.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
I test drove a 2006 because my 2002 Alero was rear ended and the insurance company instead of fixing it gave me 6,330 dollars. Anyway there is a 2006 for 6,000 dollars with 80.000 miles on it. Will be the car I buy if the guy comes down on the price a little more.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 3, 2012

Jenn
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Fantastic gas mileage.
Fun to drive.
Holds a lot more stuff or people than it looks like it would.
Like the price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Wouldn't. Like the price. (Although I do dislike the cheap plastic rim covers, but I could change that myself.)

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Bought a 5speed salvage (had hit a deer near Billings and was totaled) with 50K for $4000. Gets 35mpg combined on the cheap gas. Zippy, fun to drive, easy to pass on the highways. Put 15K+ miles on it last year and have had no trouble other than replacing the valve cover gasket (which was easy to do ourselves). Studded tires make it just fine in the snow. Hauls dogs, people, and has a giant trunk and interior for the size of the car. Comfortable for both me and my 6 foot boyfriend to drive. Love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 13, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Great little auto, 115,000 miles on it thus far.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
See my comment regarding the cooling system:+)
Otherwise no major problems noted, you will have to replace the gasket over the engine at 110.000 miles. Normal maintenance seems to do the trick. I still give it three stars, still groans a lot even after a LOF.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
One problem should be known to all Aveo owners..........the conduit from the radiator to the engine block is made of PLASTIC, my conduit started leaking about three weeks ago, it seems that the bolts for the replacement part will not fit the aluminium new housing that GM has provided. KEEP THE OLD BOLTS TO SECURE THE NEW PIECE, THE NEW ONES DO NOT WORK. ALSO, YOU HAVE TO USE "FARMERS GASKET", your mechanic will know what you are talking about to secure the two sections back to the block. GM doesn't seem to realize that the new part doesn't fit well verses it's PLASTIC original part. Be advised:+)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 18, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I love my little car. It's perfect for a college student..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
The gas doesn't last if I drive far on the highways, but I've read from previous people to start using 89 to get the 35mpg.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
I love my car! It's a 5 speed. ;)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 4, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I really like how cute it is, and it gets pretty good gas mileage, and the AC is nice.

There's a lot of things I like about it. It drives quiet, which is nice for a change!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
My particular Aveo doesn't have power locks, power windows or cruise which as a 2006, surprised me...
There's also no kick to this little car. I feel like I have to slam on the gas and then it slowly gets up to speed, whereas my previous 1994 Dodge Intrepid was a little speed demon.
I've also noticed that the gas light doesn't come on? Looking at the meter it looks like I have absolutely no gas, but there is no indication that I'm low, and that freaks me out.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
It has its little quirks and I'm still trying to figure those out, but overall I really really like this car. It's perfect for me because I'm only 19 and don't need anything too hefty or special.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 31, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:2
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
It was cheap.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Better suspension.
Better fuel pump.
Better bearings in wheels.
Adjustable headlights (you can't aim them).
Limited slip differential (let's just say it isn't great in the snow).
Better throttle position sensor.
Better dealers - half the people that have alignment issues are told by a dealer that it has bent rims (really? muffler bearings are probably shot too).

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
It's cheap, basic transportation. If you own one, sorry. If you are going to buy one - buy some tools and a good shop manual, you are gonna need it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 31, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
I now have had my little zippy Aveo for one year, and put 30,000 miles on it........no complaints........LOF and following the maintenance schedule has done the trick, no problems whatsoever, and with ever increasing gas prices, it is a winner!

Roomy, comfortable, like a Volkswagen in 1968 but with a lot more pep!

I love my little car, 35-38 mpg, but with 89 octane! You will be delighted with your Aveo, I give this little auto four and a half stars, and I would definitely purchase another in a heart beat. :+)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?
Less squeaks and groans, but that is the suspension......... you can't have everything, good basic transportation, and RELIABLE, it has my vote!...........
Chevy customer since 1963.......wish I had my 283 Chevy Biscayne again. :+(......... Erik

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
If you get a chance to purchase this auto, and you want reliability, this is the auto for you.........great mpg, roomy, and great visual....... I would rate this auto four and a half stars without hesitation. :+):+):+)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Aveo? 2006 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2006 Avalanche
2006 Aveo
2006 Cobalt
2006 Colorado
2006 Corvette
2006 Equinox
2006 Express
2006 HHR
2006 Impala
2006 Malibu
2006 Monte Carlo
2006 Silverado
2006 Silverado HD
2006 SSR
2006 Suburban
2006 Tahoe
2006 TrailBlazer
2006 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chevrolet Aveo | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact