Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,332 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Cadillac SRX Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Cadillac SRX

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 15-16/20-23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.6L V6 255HP
4.6L V8 320HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 44 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Cadillac SRX in the top 50% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Cadillac SRX in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Cadillac SRX also consider:
2006 Cadillac SRX Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Cadillac SRX
  1. Magna ride
  2. Ultra View Plus
  3. XM radio
  4. Comfortable seats
  5. Engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Cadillac SRX
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. Ugly rear tail lights
  3. iPod compatibility
  4. Glove compartment design
  5. Navigation system graphics
Submitted Nov 28, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Exterior Styling.
Comfortable/Roomy Interior.
V6 Engine is Powerful.
Lots of Electronic Goodies.
UltraView-Plus Sunroof(s).
Power 3rd Row Seats.
Power Remote Lift Gate.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Add Memory Tilt & Telescope Position for Steering Wheel.
Add More Sound-Proofing Material.
Okay, a Larger Glovebox would be nice, but let's not quibble.
A Larger Center Console Storage Bin would be nice, too.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
I acquired a 2006 SRX a few days ago as a used (excuse me, 'preowned') car. After spending many weeks searching for the 'perfect' SRX on AutoTrader.com, I live in Atlanta and found my cream-puff SRX at a GM dealer in Tennessee: 43k miles, 1-owner Florida lease car, clear CarFax, every conceivable option except NAV, pearl white with tan leather, premium performance package, OnStar, XM, etc. Wowee!

Anyway, I digress... This is an awesome machine! It strikes a very nice balance between utility and sport sedan-like performance. I wanted 7-passenger capacity for those occasional times when extra friends need a lift. The exterior styling is aggressive and I think it's even more in style in 2009 than 3 years ago. The leather interior is luxurious and very comfortable for my 6'2" frame, plus seat adjustment range is excellent. I am especially impressed with the sophisticated personalized driver interface, making nearly every electronic feature programmable to suit your whims (it's taking me days to customize all the various user functions).

Mechanically, the SRX is solidly built and nothing on it seems cheaply made. The UltraView sunroof is awesome, and it's a treat to see so much sky. On a less positive note, the 3rd row seats are difficult to get into, and it requires gymnastic agility. Luckily, I won't ever have to sit back there. On the plus side, the 3rd row has its own sunroof glass with power shade! This is a sweet SUV and it's a blast to drive. Get this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 23, 2013

jean rheaume
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Nice car.
Performance good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Better gaz millage.
It's expensive for repair.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
Great car, nice view, easy to drive, but I've only owned it since a month ago.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 28, 2012

amy
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Looks.
Comfort.
Smooth ride.
Great stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Burns oil constantly and had to have a new module put in for my xm radio.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
Love it. Would like to buy a newer model that does not burn as much oil.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 30, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Pretty much everything.
Wish the rear cargo area was wider, it scoops in toward the back of the 2nd seat. I haul lots of stuff so that would be nicer.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Widening the cargo area and lengthening it slightly. Apparently Cadillac didn't agree as the 2010 SRX is shorter! I had one for a loaner while having some warranty work done. The new ones are awful! They are just a Saturn VUE with a $20K more price tag. The ones we have are FAR FAR better! Hope they redesign it soon and dump the current "dumpy lumpy' looking one and the FWD platform. RWD is best! Mine has AWD!

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
I noticed some people mentioned oil consumption. Mine has the 3.6 V6. Adding oil every three months as someone mentioned above is nothing to even slightly gripe about- unless it only has been driven 500 miles! I am an auto collector/restorer so here's the deal folks- I change oil only twice a year which is all you need to do running synthetic oil these days. I average about 6-7000 miles on each oil change. I dump a quart in around 3000 miles. That's normal folks. Seriously. Some cars may not use any but that is probably rare...I previously had an STS with the 4.6 Northstar and that did use oil- about a quart every 1200 miles but that was in spec with Cadillac and everyone on the Cadillac Forums for the STS's said it was also normal. I ran it to 180K and it used the same amount of oil from factory delivery to the day I sold it. So it was consistent! Check the oil and add some and quit your griping!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 7, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
I have a 2006 srx 3.6 liter and the only thing we have problems with is that it burns oil constantly.
Incredible ride but very disappointed in its oil consumption.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Handles great.
Tons of room.
Love the 7 seats.
Fun to drive.
Good on snow with Awd.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Too many problems, rear seal on differential was recalled, was very dangerous for me, almost had a serious accident, problems with it burning oil, timing chain, and now in shop for a serious and similar issue with engine 3000 miles later.

I am used to foreign car service, Volvo, which is far far superior to Cadillac. Plus they closed the dealer near me, even worse service now. The dealer service people are nice but I think overwhelmed...

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
Great car in many ways, but mileage is obviously lower than I like..
Main issue ... not reliable, and dealer service is unacceptable for an expensive car and well below what competitive car brands offer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 5, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Great ride.
Looks.
Comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Better gas mileage.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
Awesome vehicle..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 26, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Rides really nice.
Moon roof is great.
Love the stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
I'm having a problem with the oil in my car. Does anyone have a 2006 SRX that has a problem with the oil? We have to put oil in it every 3 months and there is nothing that tells you your low on oil. Help?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 20, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Fit and finish are very good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Gas mileage is poor: 11-13 average mpg in town with the 3.6 engine. My car has 34,000 miles.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
Good overall car (except the fuel mileage issue).
Better quality in and out than my 2007 Mercedes, would recommend to anyone that wants a good suv.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
Looks good and size is not as bulky as the Escalade.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX?
BETTER GAS MILEAGE!
IPod connector would really be nice.

2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
It's sleek enough for a super-cool grandma yet it has plenty of room for the grandkids.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Cadillac SRX Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Cadillac SRX?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac SRX? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac SRX? 2006 Cadillac SRX Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Cadillac Model Lineup:
2006 CTS
2006 DTS
2006 Escalade EXT
2006 Escalade/ESV
2006 SRX
2006 STS
2006 XLR
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Cadillac SRX | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise