Log in
5.7 million people served. 4,311 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Saturn VUE Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Saturn VUE

2005 Saturn VUE
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 19-23/25-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 143HP
3.5L V6 250HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 15 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Saturn VUE in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Saturn VUE in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Saturn VUE also consider:
2005 Saturn VUE Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Saturn VUE
  1. Quick response
  2. Handling
  3. Comfortable ride
  4. Good size for everyday driving
  5. Heated seats
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Saturn VUE
  1. Inside front door handle location
  2. Engine noise
  3. More comfortable seats
  4. More power
  5. Front nose design
Submitted Dec 3, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
Great Honda motor in 2005.
Great size for parking etc.
Good leg room in back seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
Fix the door/window seal so water does not enter the inside of door panel to rust the mechanics of the locking mechanism.
Move the window and lock controls on door.
Improve the quality of seat material. Drivers side seat is cracking. Company who fixed it has had a lot of the Vues with this issue.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
Bought brand new in 2005. Love the vehicle. Just had a problem with the two rear doors not closing. The latch is not making contact with the body of the car. Had to tie them off with a rope on the inside to carry on driving.

According to a Saturn dealer (taking over all Saturn and GM repairs due to the closing of all Saturn Dealerships) because water enters the inside cavity of the door and rust occurs it is my problem not the manufacturer.

After owing many cars in the family, being faithful with GM, have never had or heard of being responsible for worrying about water entering your vehicle through the window and have to pay minimum of $400.00 retail, because I didn't watch out for water entering the cavity of the doors.

Clearly GM does not back up their product in this case. Even though I believe in supporting fellow workers in Canada I have a hard time recommending a product that is made to fail and not be backed up.

A $400.00 retail charge is two times the amount it would cost GM to replace the parts if they backed up their product. Now it is my expense and they will not receive my next $20K to 30K money for a new vehicle. You do the math.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 11, 2012

Eagle McMahon
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
I have had to ONLY replace 2 rear light bulbs in my Vue, bought it brand new, and except regular Maint. item's, love this truck !!! 121,583 now After 7 1/2 years I still have the original battery in it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 4, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
I have a 2005 Saturn Vue I bought used. Thought I had a great car until my recent incident...see below.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
I would definitely do something about the doors sticking shut and not being able to get them open. This is a major safety issue. Not at all a very good set-up. I cannot believe this passed in inspections on these vehicles. By all the reviews I have recently read due to the fact that I shut my drivers side door and locked the car and went to get back in and door would not open. I was out of town at the time. Had to crawl through passenger door my entire vacation. My daughter brought up a good fact, if I didn't have the remote for the locks I wouldn't be able to get in my car due to the fact, the car only has one keyhole to open the door and it's on the drivers side. Also, when I purchased the car, the ignition was locked up when I went to start the car to bring it home and they had to replace the ignition switch before I would and could bring it home.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
Not a happy customer at the present time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 17, 2010

Wayne409
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
Great power from my V-6 and very good gas mileage.
Love my Vue!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
In 90,000 miles 150,000 km Other than regular maintenance, I've only had to replace the pwr window switch for the driver's window. When I see all the great reviews, I think I'll keep her even longer than planned!

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
One of the best vehicles I've ever owned!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 2, 2010

william looby
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
I like the handling of the car, good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
I would put more of a common size tires on the vue, they have odd size tires on it. Also they should come with mud flaps on the front.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
It's not a bad car other than what I've mentioned above.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 17, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
What I like the most about my Vue is the roominess and the gas mileage. It is also very easy to clean up and keep looking new. I have not had any major problems and I have had my Vue for a year and a half.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
One improvement I would recommend would be to have an optional 3rd row seat. This can be used for extra unexpected passengers. It can fold back down and the space can resume being the trunk.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
Overall, it is a good everyday vehicle that can handle the kids and extra curricular activities. Also, if you really want smoothness to your ride, I recommend using Chevron 89 octane and every now and then add fuel-additive. I have seen an increase in mileage per tank and horsepower.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 3, 2009

cape codder
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
the gas mpg.
lots of room.
oil life monitoring system.
very little reg maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
very creaky.
no sunroof(on mine).
nice looking interior that doesn't hold up.
have everything covered with towels and blankets in fear of stains.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
bought my 05 VUE in Oct 08 with 31,000 miles..have gone to FL and put on now a total of 10k..very nice to drive..just a little on the cheap side, but i expected this from Saturn (being a previous Honda owner) the 2.2 ecotec is very peppy with my 5speed manual..only bad thing i will say is..Saturn dealer said they checked everything out and gave me a oil/maint change before i took it home..i found out a rat/mice whatever was living in airbox and had some material cloggin the air filter..knowing from this they never even checked the box..thank god i know how to work on cars and never will i take my vue back there for maint..even routine..prob wont buy there again either...but i love my vue.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2009

Karen Noisette
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
The vehicle looks decent from the out side.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
We have 5 saturns in the family, this is my second one, this is the only one I have had problems with, my co-worker has the same car, she has had to replace her transmission also. This is unfair, there is something wrong with the transmissions in the 2005 saturn vue. I was looking forward to purchasing the aura, but at this point, I will never purchase another Saturn.
REPLACE FAULTY TRANSMISSIONS AND NOT AT THE CONSUMERS EXPENSE.

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
I purchased my vue in Dec. of 2005,(New), I had to replace the drive axle, after 8 attempts from reputable mechanics, I had to have the dealer fix it because we could not locate the correct size part. The dealer repaired the Drive axle, I picked up the vehicle and it ran worst than it did when I took it in, I returned the vehicle to the dealer and they are saying that I now need a transmission. (HOW DOES A VEHICLE PURCHASED NEW, ONE DRIVER, STILL HAS A CAR NOTE, ONLY HAS 79,000 MILES, ALL MAINTENACE IS UP TO DATE, OIL CHANGES ETC. NEED A TRANSMISSION.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
size and gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
the vti transmission is faulty and they will not fix it. It will continually go out

2005 Saturn VUE Review:
All 02-05 Saturn Vues with a vti transmission should be avoided.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE?
Good gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE?
bad shifter cables


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Saturn VUE Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Saturn VUE?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Saturn VUE? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Saturn VUE? 2005 Saturn VUE Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Saturn Model Lineup:
2005 ION
2005 RELAY
2005 VUE
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Saturn VUE | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise