Log in
5.7 million people served. 5,017 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Pontiac GTO Model Year - 2006 - 2005

2005 Pontiac GTO

2005 Pontiac GTO
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sporty Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-17/21-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
6.0L V8 400HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 44 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2005 Pontiac GTO in the top 10% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Pontiac GTO in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Pontiac GTO also consider:
2005 Pontiac GTO Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Pontiac GTO
  1. Horsepower
  2. Excellent interior style
  3. Comfortable seats
  4. Responsive transmission
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Pontiac GTO
  1. More available options
  2. More traditional styling cues
  3. More horsepower
  4. Fuel economy
  5. MP3 capability
Submitted Aug 8, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Just a speed junkie. It has all the power you need to leave someone in the dust trail.

Interior is excellent, with seats that complement long drives over 200 miles.

Excellent gas mileage for 400 HP. 6spd.

Have many muscle vehicles in my shop, but the late model gto is by far the funniest to drive. (1971 gto convertible, 1984 Porsche 928, 1974 fiat 124 sport coupe 1800cc, 1972 Chevy 4x4. Short wide bed converted over to a 454' 435 HP' and two Honda CBR 1000's, faster but no a/c, or radio.)

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Navigation system would be nice, and also sunroof, better stick shift, and illuminate leather inserts on door panels.
Door lock switch in console.
Radio with aux, mp3 options.
And let's see might as well throw in heated and a/c seats.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
Best all around muscle car for the price. Very comfortable, front and back seats, excellent gas mileage for HP ratio, handling is a little weak in corners, over steer problem. Find another stocker that will out run the gto stocker is hard to find.

Love this car, would like to own another one but, pearl white, tan leather, and semi flat black decals like a hood ramair and LS2 emblems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 31, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
The power is very fun. The amount of car you get for the money is excellent. I don't know any other car that comes fully loaded with this nice of an interior and this much power for the average price of 17 to 20,000 for a low mileage example. I have had mine up to 150 mph a few times.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
I did alot of research before I bought my Goat and the first thing I changed was the crappy, soft suspension bushings (to polyurethane), and installed camber adjustment bolts in the front struts as well as new strut bearings. Then I had the front end alligned to Pedders specifications. This gets rid of alot of problems this chassis had with tire on strut rubbing and worn front tires. Some people have problems with rear tire wear.I haven't had that problem. The ignition switch has problems on many cars. I took mine out, took it apart and made some adjustments to a worn area with a Dremel smoothing it out, and haven't had a problem since. The radiator tanks tend to crack around 97,000 miles and will need replaced. Not overly expensive. Haven't come to that yet but have read alot about it in Forums. A dead pedal would have been nice, especially on automatics, and was supposed to be added for 2005-2006 but was not. The exhaust note was fairly weak so I installed an SLP Loudmouth II Cat back exhaust. Nice sound, no drone on the highway. The car is big and heavy and handles like it. I added a Hotchkis rear sway bar and it made the car feel way better. I bought the kit but haven't installed the front bar yet. The stock rear shocks are not very good either. Monroe has nicely priced replacements that are a great value. I happened accross a set of Pedders rear race shocks for a good price on Ebay so got them. The wheel and tire clearance is minimal at all corners so getting bigger rubber is pretty limited. Just to be safe while changing the transmission oil and filter I added a larger diameter boost valve to the transmission to increase line pressure and make shifts a little harder (prevents slipping and heat inside the transmission).

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
With the few and relatively inexpensive modifications I made to my car, stated above, it is a very enjoyable car to drive. The interior is excellent I have the Impulse Blue Metalic with Blue Leather interior and automatic transmission. The brakes are very good, the engine is powerful, the automatic transmission works well. I love to drive the car and have raced it 1/8th mile with slicks and did pretty good. You can't put many horsepower mods on the car without making strength and longevity modifications to the drive line. First thing is the weak two piece driveshaft. It is a muscle car but it is very expensive to add more power to this car and not have it break. Rear tire width is limited to 275 without rolling the fenders or getting a mini tub. At this point you can put about 475 to 480 to the rear wheels. The fuel system is the next obstacle. Then transmission and rear end, including half shafts. Taking big chances around 500 HP with stock parts especially with a manual transmission. After that it is adviseable to get subframe connectors and a new strut tower brace.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 6, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Nothing beats the power for the price. I bought a 2005 Yellow LS2 (they didn't make yellow in '06). After seeing one, I had to go yellow.

I was determined to buy a new Mustang. The 'Stang felt cheap, & 300hp wasn't very impressive. Stopped to look at a Mustang & got offer a ride in a GTO. That was all it took. I then drove a 6 speed. There was no question manual was "it".

Got mine with 1127 miles, w/SPI exhaust. Changed shifters, added better rubber 7 I LOVE THIS CAR!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Styling isn't as good as it could have been. Open rear wheelwells would have been easy & great. I may end up cutting mine & building flares.

A switched unlock button should have been added before '06.

A swaybar to help the wheel hop, other wheel options & renew the contract with Holden.

Come on GM, you can still call it an Impala SS. We haven't seen a real one of those sine the 90s.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
Best car I have had all around. I've had several Vettes, a Jaguar XKR, Trans Am, BMW 635, and other great rides. I'm keeping this Yellow '05 GTO & the Silver Anniversary Vette, I've had since high school. You will never regret buying one of these GTOs!!!!!!


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
My '05 GTO is one of the all time great 'Q-ships'. Stealthy good looks combined with the Corvette V-8 make it so. Not to mention the seats which are great for all passengers, not just driver or front seat passenger. My GTO knows all about snow as well. With a set of 17's {mine is one of 71 cars that are silver with the automatic tranny and 18's} and four Bridgestone Blizzak WS-60 snow tires, {unavailable as 18's}, the 4x4's that are all too common in this part of the country {Wyoming} are nothing more than rolling roadblocks. Thankfully, the limited-slip & traction control make short work of them.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Only a few missing options keep the car from being 'perfect'. If I was able to make the call to re-introduce the car, it would include an optional 6-speed automatic with paddles on the steering wheel, an available sunroof, defeatable stability control with a competition mode, HUD {heads-up display}, heated & cooled seats, real Ram-Air, and a properly located fuel tank to free up some trunk space. But the 'bloated Cavalier' styling would stay. For all those who think the 04-06 GTO's "don't look like a GTO", I would like to remind them that all of the older GTO's looked like their entry-level counterpart. Remember the Tempest/Le Mans? That's what a GTO is! Looks like any other entry-level Pontiac, save for the hood, wheels & tires, but otherwise the same basic look, until the hood or throttle is opened. Anonymous looks with a hot engine is the formula for a GTO. If you want flash, buy something flashy. If you want to 'run silent, run deep', try a GTO; the combination is tough to beat. So there!

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
The only thing better than my '05 GTO would be an '06 GTO with fewer miles.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Motor, very predictable handling, great interior, gas mileage with manual (25-26 on highway),

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
suspension issues
no aux in(can be modified, which I have)
sunroof,
better shifter

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
have had since new going on 10 years, very happy, even though the styling was panned, I have received more compliments then any other car I have owned.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Never understood why so many say they dont like the style....car looks awesome...kinda ahead of it's time, styling wise... mines yellow.. love that it's getting rare to see one....almost scary fast! I've had Camaros,Corvettes..etc...BEST CAR I've owned!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
sunroof? xm radio capability, maybe.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 23, 2012

willis jones
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
The styling is great. It has a unique look.
Love the horsepower.
Great seats.
Love the sound of the borla exhaust going through the 6 speed gears.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Optional sunroof.
Wider rear tires.
One piece aluminum drive shaft.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
Great car for the money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 6, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
A corvette with a back seat.
I have had 10 of them 04/05/06 and currently have 3, for the money they are unbeatable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Drag bags from the factory (to cure the wheel hop), an aluminum one piece driveshaft and more horsepower.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
Excellent all around car that looks like a front wheel drive and acts like a Corvette. One of mine is an 05 yellow auto w/17in wheels and 1128 miles, still have the MSO, never registered, waiting for the others to be worn out before putting it in service.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 29, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Very fast car for the price.
I haven't encountered any car yet that could flat out beat me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Even though it's not a luxury car, it wouldn't hurt to add some luxury.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
Overall this car is awesome. I'm just angry that I have to drive it in the winter.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 23, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Great Performance.
Decent Handling.
Interior is top notch. Well made and seating is outstanding and comfortable.
Styling is a sleeper. Love it or leave it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO?
Could of used more standard horsepower for a heavy car. Lighten this baby up and it is a monster.
Wheel hop caused by IRS.
Wider tires and deeper wheel wells to handle them.
Automatic door locks would of been nice.

2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
With all the cons, this car is a dream to drive especially on the highway. Very dependable car. Wish they would redo it all over again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac GTO Model Year - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Pontiac GTO?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Pontiac GTO? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Pontiac GTO? 2005 Pontiac GTO Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2005 G6
2005 Grand Prix
2005 GTO
2005 SV6
2005 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Pontiac GTO | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise