Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Nissan Sentra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-28/28-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 126HP
2.5L I4 165HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 14 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Nissan Sentra in the bottom 32% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
32%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Nissan Sentra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Nissan Sentra also consider:
2005 Nissan Sentra Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Nissan Sentra
  1. Handling
  2. Transmission
  3. Torque
  4. Interior design
  5. Great value
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Nissan Sentra
  1. Cup holder location
  2. More power
  3. Back seat room
  4. Exterior body style
  5. Better center console
Submitted Jan 19, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
Gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
Purchased vehicle in 2006 w/ 6K miles. Currently have 60K on vehicle.

The passing speed is terrible, but what can you expect from 1.8L.

Have issues with mid-low total mileage. At 10K miles had trouble starting vehicle. Had to turn over 2-3 times to start. At 20K miles driver door seal was loose allowing air to enter vehicle while driving...freeze the left side of my face driving during winter unless heat was on high. At 50K the factory installed alarm no longer worked.

Cup holders are in a horrible position...fire the person that designed that.

The back seat area leg room is made for toddler size persons...way too tight for an average sized adult.

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
Very disappointed....expected more from Nissan. Even with their lower level vehicle selection.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
I can do some of the maintenance myself: Front brake pads, transmission fluid change, tune-ups, antifreeze, and some electrical work.
Good fuel economy, decent ride, and easy to park.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
For those who have purchased this particular make and model please keep this in mind:
(1) OEM thermostat failure is causing the head gasket failure due to poor coolant circulation and I replaced mine after my head gasket blew around 50000 miles with one from Advance auto parts, no more problems for the past three years.
(2) Left strut failure on the drivers side at 25000 miles. I eventually replaced all four struts.
(3) Nissan claims a tune up for at least 105000 miles, don't believe it. I replaced mine with ngk iridium and have had a problem for 40000 miles.
(4) Fuel pump/pressure regulator/fuel sending unit was replaced at 3 times. Electrical failure of the fuel pump relay is the cause.
(5) As far as the power steering is concerned, use something to suck out the old power steering fluid from the reservoir and replace it with Valvoline Synthetic Blend Power Steering Fluid.

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
Unless you are a mechanic go purchase a Toyota Corolla. Cheap to buy with rebates, but the initial low cost covers up the long term high cost of maintenance.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 8, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
Mine just blew a head gasket at 78,000 miles. I have heard this happens repeatedly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 5, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
I own a 96 Dodge Ram 1500 V8 and parked her in the garage. I love my new (used car) a lot great on gas and performance. I live in Atlanta and work in Port Orange, Florida (Daytona Beach area) My Nessan is a 5 speed, 4 door, 1.8 and it's great

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
I'm 6/1 and a little more leg room would be great but sill comfortable inside for me.

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
In a never ending change in our lives with good paying jobs anywhere driving this car is great!
Jim


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
great gas milage

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
?

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
I haven't been notified of any recalls, and I know there is at least 1


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 27, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
-handling
-interior
-exterior styling

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
-more power
-sportier stance

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
Overall i like the 05 sentra. It handles well, looks great, and runs smoothly. My only real complaint is a lack of power from the small 1.8 lieter engine.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 14, 2007
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
Excellent fuel economy with auto transmission. Handling. Smooth powertrain. Best cruise control I've ever used. Headlights and driving lights are outstanding.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
Better tires on the 1.8SE as standards are quite noisy. While engine compartment is well insulated and finished, trunk interior is uninsulated, looks cheap, and makes car less quiet. Location of front cupholders is stupid!

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
This is a very good car but some of Nissan's cost cutting decisions are glaringly wrongheaded. Still, it's as good as most of the competition. Dealer service was excellent. Car was recalled for a fuel tank issue and had to have the steering pump replaced at 5000 miles because of bearing problems. All service was prompt and done under warranty but shouldn't have been necessary for a car on year 4 of its model run. Because of this I would consider long-term durability a big question mark. I bought this car new and traded it in after 18 months.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 8, 2007

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
the color

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra?
everything .. the engine is shot.. there is always some different reason why the service engine light is on and the car keeps stalling

2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
Terrible car .. buy a honda


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
MPG.
Appearance(SR pkg).
Features(iPod hookup).
Ease of maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
Acceleration.

2010 Nissan Sentra Review:
We bought this Sentra new in June '10 and 1 year later it has 26,000+ miles.

This car is great. Awesome mpg. Just took it on a 1500 mile trip and got 34mpg on the Interstate with a/c running. Very comfortable car and quiet inside. The engine gets plenty of power for a 4cyl and the cvt transmission is acceptable.

The only reason I gave it a 4 for performance was it lacks in quick acceleration (ie, passing a car or getting on the interstate.)

This car (as you can tell) is a daily driver and primary family car. Not much room in the back for long-legged adults, but plenty for kids.

As far as maintenance, I do all the work myself on my vehicles and this car is a dream to work on. Oil filter is easily accessible from top, bottom, side and the engine bay is large enough to house a small v8 (just saying).

We opted for the SR model of the Sentra series and I'm glad we did. The appearance package makes it stand out from the million other Sentras on the road and coupled with the Super Black paint, it looks great and gets plenty of compliments.

Overall, this is a GREAT car for a small family or couple with lots of miles to cover. I see this car staying in our family for long time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 4, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Gas mileage is good for a small car made after 2000. I had a 96 Sentra that was rated at 30 city 40 highway and this one is 24 and 31. My 97 never averaged below 35 and I got almost 60 in it on a road trip and that was with 269k miles on it.
But the new engines are more powerful, they can get up a hill without being floored and sounding like a weedeater like the 96. So I will take a drop in my mpgs for this because it is safer when getting on highway (I average 27 in 06).

Interior is a little plain but makes for less to break. Front seats are comfy. Rear is too small to be for many.

Trunk has lots of room.

Quiet operation and lots of city power for small sedan.

Engine compartment is spacious in 1.8 engine cars. I don't know about 2.5 versions.

Console is laid out good and special edition look is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Wheels without hub caps (as in full rims) standard, not steel wheels (not a big deal; those just look better to me).

Better paint (scratches rather easy, heard they fixed this in 07).

More room in rear.

Better fuel pump (can make for hard starts, but only every now and then).

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Great investment. I have had 2 Nissans before and never had major issues with them. Nissan in my opinion makes best cars on road and you should be served great if you buy one. All my complaints are minor and don't keep me from loving my little sedan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Nissan Sentra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Sentra? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Sentra? 2005 Nissan Sentra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Nissan Model Lineup:
2005 350Z
2005 Altima
2005 Armada
2005 Frontier
2005 Maxima
2005 Murano
2005 Pathfinder
2005 Quest
2005 Sentra
2005 Titan
2005 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Nissan Sentra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact