Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,436 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Pathfinder Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Nissan Pathfinder

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 15-16/21-23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.0L V6 270HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 38 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2005 Nissan Pathfinder in the bottom 10% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder also consider:
2005 Nissan Pathfinder Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
  1. Engine power
  2. Interior and exterior styling
  3. Third row option
  4. Towing capability
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
  1. Tight third row
  2. Smoother road driving
  3. Price
  4. Tire pressure sensor
  5. Larger DVD screen
Submitted Sep 23, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
There is very little to not like about Nissan Pathfinder especially when it was new. The 270 horsepower is great when you want to pass. For a truck it really does ride like a full size car. The interior is beautifully appointed and very comfortable on a long hauls. There is plenty of storage when the back seats are down and when the third row is locked into place, there is enough room for two regular sized adults. Having the ability to carry a total of 7 passengers was a huge selling feature for me and my wife especially because our kids always want to bring a friend along when we go skiing or go to the lake.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Just before the warranty was up, the universal joints were going in the front end, though I hardly ever engaged the four wheel drive. The way I discovered it was when I was pulling my boat out of the water and put it in 4 wheel drive. The noise that came from the front end was horrible.

Just after the warranty was over, the clutch on the fan to cool the motor was faulty and the engine roars when you accelerate. It's a bit annoying but I am going to live with it because to repair it is almost $1,000.00.

Recently the gas level sensor went and makes the gas gauge all wacky. There are lots of unhappy people expressing their opinion about this on the internet and the $700.00 plus dollars to repair the problem. Because it was beyond warranty I got the "Sorry we can not help on this one".

Just the other day the fan resistor went and now the interior fan sometimes works and sometimes does not. Very frustrating when you hop in your truck and it's 85 degrees and the fan does not come on to blow the cold air. Eventually it comes on but only when it wants to. Again I got the "Sorry, it's beyond warranty". the cost to repair this one is $400.00 and I have no choice it has to be repaired.

Get rid of the electronics and get back to what made the brand great and that simplicity that ultimately meant reliability. Electronics are great until they break. And when they break, they always beyond the warranty and the out of pocket cost is huge.

I have to tell you these problems have really made me doubt the quality of these vehicles. I have less than 70,000 miles on the truck and it's babied. I have owned Altima's, Maxima's, and this is my third Pathfinder and unfortunately, it will be my last. I have a really bad taste in my mouth over these issues.

Next time, it will not be a Pathfinder.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
In the beginning and up until all these things started to happen, I loved the truck. And to some extent I still do. The problems are costly and there should be more pressure put on Nissan to acknowledge these widely reported reoccurring problems and do something about it. The out of pocket cost are high and my loyalty to the brand is unfortunately, over.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2013

mary lou
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Good size vehicle.
Love the looks of it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Very disappointed after taking such good care of my Pathfinder. Drives real shaky. Tires don't last too long. It has been parked for over a month.
Sadly like many others I am also having problems with transmission, and radiator. To expensive to repair.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
I would not recommend Nissan to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 1, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Tons of power, 100000 miles, and no problems. As a matter of fact it needs nothing right now. I am on my second set of brakes since new, and a new battery.

By far the best vehicle I have ever owned.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Would like a better air conditioning system, just seems a bit inadequate for Florida, and I wish it had leather.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
Love it, love it love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 30, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
It was nice when I bought it 6 years ago.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Has been nothing but trouble since it was bought. I know everyone wants to complain when things go wrong but this has been an ongoing thing for me since I have purchased this Nissan. I should have known better when my truck was silver and one of the side mirrors was black. I had to have that repainted before driving it off the lot. Now my oil pressure keeps declining. I took it to Nissan and they are stating I need a new engine. How do you need a new engine at 125,000 miles? Especially when you tried your best to take car of it. I now have to shell out 3800 for that. Oh and I hope I don't have the same trouble everyone else is having after replacing with the transmission. I might as well by a new vehicle. OH Boy.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
I will NEVER recommend anyone buy a Nissan. EVER. Mine is paid for now and I have had the worst luck since being its owner.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2011

pat13
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
The pathfinder has great acceleration and good looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
The vehicle is tight in the inside.
Quality overall is extremely poor.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
We bought our pathfinder on 11/05. The car problems started 3 months later.
Replaced computer No charge under Warranty
Recall for airbag sensor replaced no charge recall
Fuel sensor replaced $400 out of warranty
Replaced transmission and radiator antifreeze leaked into Trans out of warranty $4200
Fuel line leak $200
Abs sensor $245
Car is currently in shop with a check engine light on and a rattling noise
This is the worst car I have ever owned I would advice to stay away from Nissan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 28, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
The space in the front, my third row the comfortable of the leather seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
More room for the second and third row seat.
Heater less confusing to work especially working the dual area on the ac/heater.
The ac/heat makes a loud roaring noise time from time allowing cool air to come in while trying to get hot.
And my left side squeak when turning the wheel to the left when backing up.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
I really enjoy my Pathfinder so far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 27, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
It looks good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
The Nissan Pathfinder is great until you get about 60k miles on it. Then the fuel gauge goes out. Then somewhere between 60k-100k miles, the radiator breaks causing coolant to enter the transmission. First signs are jerky movements under acceleration around 50MPH. Then the transmission will start slipping. Then you will contact Nissan and they will give you a $6,500 estimate to replace the transmission and defective radiator. You will then shell out the money for repairs or park it like I did. Thanks for nothing Nissan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Engine power.
Great looks, would look better if it were wider say 78 inches as opposed to 72.4 inches.
Third row seat convenience.
Good ride for a truck with General grabber HTS tires.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
Reliability is poor. Replaced a lot of things not covered by Nissan's worthless warranty. Very expensive to fix. Ford would have been better. Take the Nissan motor and put it into a Ford Explorer and there it is. Would not buy another Nissan. I own 2, the 2005 Murano and the 2005 Pathfinder. Reliability on both have been subpar to say the least. Nissan could care less, a gimmick Japanese company. They say Nissan delivers, yeah they deliver, unreliable vehicles. Buy Ford or Toyota, people have been more successful with those two brands for the money.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
Ride is good, power is good despite the poor sound quality. Off road, would not recommend, it might fall apart! Towing? would not also it may ruin the motor and drivetrain. Would not buy again and would not recommend to anyone, too expensive to fix and own. Nissan fell asleep at the wheel on this one. Can you say Hyundai in the 1980's. Poor quality, high price, worthless warranty, expensive nonsense dealerships, buyer beware!! Just do your research from other people who own one not these worthless other car review sites. They drive the cars once or just a few thousand miles then auction the car off.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
The rugged look.
Paint job has been fine.
Lots of Power.
The interior had plenty of room, and is very durable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
A/C controls are confusing.
Materials on doors, dash, and center console get marks and scratch easily.
Improve visibility to drivers left and right.
For some reason my tires on last 25000 miles. I'm at 70k and my 3rd set of tires.
The worst customer service I have ever dealt with!

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
This is the worst vehicle I have ever purchased. Fuel sending unit went out a 35k (known problem on the pathfinder) $400. Whining sound from engine - belt and tensioner needed to be replaced $250. Rattle noise @2000rpm (sounds like engine knock) - power valve actuator dithering, had to replace manifold complete with new valve. The BIGGIE, Coolant leaked into the transmission due to defective transmission cooler in radiator - New radiator and rebuilt transmission cost me $4000! I will NEVER buy or recommend anyone buy a Nissan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 28, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
It has good pick up.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?
A lot. The tranny is horrible. The vdc traction control is messed up with only 70k miles on it. I have already replaced the brakes. The truck overheated today while I was in the bank for 10 mins. I am very disappointed. I will probably take my business elsewhere.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
Pooooooooorrrrrrrr.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Pathfinder Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Nissan Pathfinder? 2005 Nissan Pathfinder Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Nissan Model Lineup:
2005 350Z
2005 Altima
2005 Armada
2005 Frontier
2005 Maxima
2005 Murano
2005 Pathfinder
2005 Quest
2005 Sentra
2005 Titan
2005 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Nissan Pathfinder | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise