Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda S2000 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Honda S2000

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sporty Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 20-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 237HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2005 Honda S2000 in the top 4% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
96%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Honda S2000 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Honda S2000 also consider:
2005 Honda S2000 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Honda S2000
  1. Fantastic handling
  2. Amazing engine performance
  3. The look
  4. Excellent transmission
  5. Great car for the money
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Honda S2000
  1. Tight interior space
  2. Road noise
  3. Better sound system
  4. More horsepower
  5. No trunk space
Submitted Nov 25, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000?
I love the styling, the handling is outstanding! I love the power it has, Rev it to 6000 + RPM & you're gone! Not too many out there that can catch you. In a serpentine road the car straightens it out for you. You never feel that you are taking the bend too fast. The car almost asks for more!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000?
I always like more horsepower in any vehicle.

2005 Honda S2000 Review:
The S2K is the most fantastic car I have ever owned. I thought my Acura TL Type S was nice until I drove this S2K. The S2K out preforms the TL hands down! I can't believe that Honda quit making this car. This car has it all over any car in its class on the road.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000?
Handling, look, feel, performance, ergonomics

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000?
Better stereo

2005 Honda S2000 Review:
I've owned a number of performance cars from a BMW Z4 to Mustang GT convertible. This car is absolutely the most fun to drive than any of them. It handles like a "go-kart on steroids", accelarates like a rocket when you wind it above 5000 rpm, and corners like it's on railroad tracks! And yet, it's so docile in city traffic, you can take it for groceries. It's makes an old "geezer" like me feel like I'm 25 again every time I drive it.
Thank you Honda for producing a affordable reliable economical fun-to-drive modern real sports car instead of just another "pretty face".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 17, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000?
The most tight, compact, handleing machine out there. Every control perfectly placed. Shifts like butter and never runs out of rpm and fun!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000?
always more horse power!

2005 Honda S2000 Review:
Outstanding!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000?
It is a pure pleasure to drive. BMW has nothing on this driving machine. The shifter is the best ever; absolutely amazing. It just screams ! ! !

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000?
Move the cup holder. It can interfer with shifting.

2005 Honda S2000 Review:
I've always loved Hondas. When I saw my first S2000 I knew I would have one. Last year, I found a black '05 with 6K on it. I had my last sports car for 30 years ('73-240Z). A great machine for its time, but the S2K is so quick, nimble, and the most hp per litre you can find in a production automobile. I often wonder why Honda doesn't advertise these amazing little cars. Put in a roll bar, grab a helmet, stick a number on the door and you're practically track ready.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 31, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000?
She is a sexy little dragonfly! Ours is light blue... Fast and unafraid, she zips into curves and purrs on through....there is very little distance between driver and road. So much better than our motorcycle for highway communications! And you don't have to don gear! Every once in a while, the aeleration is so powerful that my passenger notices a tug at their neck, but advised to put their head back and enjoy the ride, all complaints fade! Visibility with the top down is fantastic and the wind guard ensures our caps stay on. The stereo sounds fab and the alternative controls are placed well...
It is difficult to comply with speed limit signs since she loves to engage fully!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000?
Visibility with the top on is limited...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 18, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda S2000?
Styling.
Quality Finish.
Great Power at higher RPMS.
Great Price.
Low Maintenance for a sports car.

I also have a 1980 MGB LE that I have owned for 28 years that I drove 120,000 miles myself. It is always being worked on. Although I will probably be buried in it. ;)

I bought my Honda 2007 S2000 and now have 31,000 miles. Never a problem. It is the Lagoon Blue.

The breaking and steering is incredible.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda S2000?
RADIO - As noted on all the other comments. I will be replacing it. I found a shop for an extra $50 dollars will hook up the radio controls on the S2000 to the new radio.

More power at lower RPM's - It is great at higher RPM's, but you need to downshift at times to pass if you need speed.

INTERIOR - It is comfortable, but it is a sports car. It's a little noisy, could have been made a little more sound proof.

The radio flip cover is too close to the shifter. My wife opens it up and it hits my hand since it is always on the shifter.

2007 Honda S2000 Review:
As noted from other comments, the best car for its money.

I test drove the z350, Boxster and others. The dependability is incredible at a reasonable price. I think this car will do nothing but go up in value over the years. Especially since there were so few made.

A huge plus is the glass window. I believe that was included on the 2004 and up models.

The top goes up and down in seconds.

It beats the MGB, but It doesn't have the MGB feel. That will hold its own for eternity.

I hope this helps for someone considering buying a S2000.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 14, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda S2000?
Everything! Sounds like a Ferrari/Italian performance machine due to racing technology, sounds better than a Porsche and most Audis too. It garners looks everywhere it goes and it's not a luxury brand, nor a Ferrari, etc. It is one amazing machine and there will not be anything like it ever again other than an F1 car. You take it out on a bad/tough day after work, etc and drive it safely and hard and you will feel so relaxed afterwards, it really soothes the soul. Wife or girlfriend will scream and giggle :D esp when u surprise them in a tight turn. I always thought roadsters were about looks, this one is stiffer than some hardtop/coupes/sedans which is amazing and only BMW and Mercedes can be made that strong.

One of the only real sports cars made to be driven and driven hard, being a Honda you don't have to worry about breaking anything even after major abuse, maybe brake pads, clutch and tires and oil.

My daily driver is a 2008 5 speed manual Civic sedan. Insurance for identical coverage for my S2000 and Civic, the S2000 is about 25% cheaper than the Civic DX 1.8L. It's a sports car and is cheaper to insure than a regular relatively affordable car!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda S2000?
-Put an aftermarket intake.
-put a more raw F1 car sounding exhaust to exploit the F1 technology that went into this car!
-Soft top latches are manual (though top is powered).
-Tint the windows so that I don't get so much attention.

2006 Honda S2000 Review:
The best car ever made, would take this over a Ferrari if I had the money to buy a Ferrari and the Ferrari had a waiting list of over 3 months, I would take this over the Ferrari. This car is that good! I hope they don't make anything like it while one own an S2000 and hope they make something just as good or better for when moving out of an S2000 and looking for a replacement.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda S2000?
Performance.
Handling.
Visual Appeal.
Flexibility.
Convertible.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda S2000?
Tilt Wheel.
More seat adjustment.
Convex mirrors.
Better sound system.

2006 Honda S2000 Review:
Performance:
Let me start by saying the S2000 is a true driver's car. It rewards being piloted by skilled hands, and is not fond of the ham fisted. The six speed transmission is the best out there. Lets get another thing out in the open.....this is NOT the fastest car out there. I'd bet that a Mustang GT could out accelerate it in a straight line. However, once you hit the twisty bits....the S2000 is in the element it was designed for. It can be driven in daily traffic without complaint, but I think is much more at home when blistering down a winding back road. This car has an amazing performance envelope. It hits VTEC around 6000 rpm, and rockets toward the 8000 rpm redline with a quickness. I've had 3rd gear as low as 15 mph with no bogging, and then ripped to 80 before having to find 4th. It still amazes me that it can be driven at low speeds with such ease, and then you have such a top end rush when you want to play. That kind of flexibility is rarely found in anything but a gymnast.

Handling:
This car was built for one purpose....and that is to go round corners. Forget drag racing it or anything in a straight line, just hit the twisties...keep the revs up and carve apexes. It simply has the right combination of chassis balance/power/grip. It's double wishbone suspension does an incredible job keeping you planted to the road and communicates what is happening at both ends of the car very well. There is little to no body roll in corners. Turn in and mid corner stability are incredible. Even for as tightly focused as it is on performance, it does not ride that rough. You will feel small bumps in the road, but they are well damped and not harsh.

Visual Appeal:
Some say the body is a bit dated by now, but I think they got it right the first time and have not had to make any major changes to the car. I think it fills the gap between the Mazda M5 and BMW Z4. The M5 being a "girls" convertible, and the BMW being more luxury than performance. My car does have the available front fascia and raised rear wing, and I think that really completes the look of the car without being overdone.

Flexibility / Design / Reliability:
This car was designed to be a convertible from the beginning. That being the case, Honda created a extremely stiff chassis that does not have much flex. All the money spent on design of this car seems to be in the engine and chassis. Exactly where it needs to be. Even for as high revving as the motor is, there have not been durability issues. There were a few in the first model years, but that seems to have been corrected when they went to the 2.2 L motor.

Interior:
The interior is very well laid out. Again the focus is on the driver having what they need at their fingertips to get the job of driving the car done very efficiently. The S2000 has great seats, and the controls are laid out so the driver has what they need close at hand. The only notable exceptions are the VSC and Cruise Control switches are well behind the steering wheel. Not that this is a large problem because there is little reason to ever mess with these to start with. As I noted in the "Cons", having a wheel that tilts and more seat adjustment would be nice to have. It would allow the driver to tailor the driving position to better suit them. Also having slightly convex driver and passenger side mirrors would help with the large blind spot due to the convertible top. The stock sound system is not much to speak of. That is the only area that I've upgraded with aftermarket parts. The convertible top is held by two latches and will go up or down in 6 seconds. Don't plan on packing too much, you only have 5 cubic feet of space in the trunk.

Operating Costs:
I average between 22 - 27 MPG in a mix of city/highway driving. If mostly highway, it's not unusual to see 30+. For a sports car, it's more than I would have expected. I get my oil changes done every 3500 miles at the Honda dealer using Honda oil. Since the tires are different sizes and directional, they can't be rotated. So I have my alignment checked every other oil change (7000 miles) and I've not had any problems with uneven tire wear. It has a conical type air filter right from the factory.

Summary:
The S2000 is a very capable, and yet flexible sports car. It's a car that is very easy to live with considering it's performance envelope. It's not a car for everyone, and there are trade offs. The best thing I can say is that if you want a true 2 seat, driver orientated, convertible sports car....this will not disappoint you. After almost a year, I still get a wide grin every time I hit the big red start button and fire it up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 22, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda S2000?
"Glued to the road" handling.
Fantastic high-rev engine.
Excellent transmission.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda S2000?
A bit difficult to exit from the driver's seat.
A tilt-up steering wheel would help.

2006 Honda S2000 Review:
I bought this car to replace my old '87 300ZX Turbo, which I really liked, but was having lots of mechanical problenms. The first thing I noticed was how great the S2000 handles--like a slot car. Turn the wheel and it goes where you want it to. The 6-speed took a little time to get used to because the gears are so close together compared to my old "Z" and especially my Jeep. But once I became acclimated, it is really slick and precise. The V-tech engine is truely amazing. I took it easy during the 800 mile break-in period and on the first warm day of spring, I put the top down and went out for a drive on back roads. WOW!!! I didn't get the kick in the seat of the pants like my old "Z" gave me when the turbo kicked in at about 3K, but the V-tech is just getting started at 5000 rpm. This engine accelerates all the way up to the 8K redline. I'm glad it has a rev limiter because it's a little hard to see the digital tach with the top down and sunglasses on, and the engine doesn't seem to loose power near the top end like most cars. I can say this was the most fun I've ever had driving a car, and I look forward to much more.

This is a true sports car in the classic sense--built for driving, but not very practical. Just what I wanted. In college, I owned a Triumph and then an Austin Healey. In my 20's I had a Honda motorcycle. The S2000 seems to combine all the best characteristics of these vehicles from my younger days. It has classic looks, handles great, and revs and accelerates like a bike. Even better, the top goes down easily, the climate and stereo controls are functional and easy to use and you can actually hear the music while driving at high speed with the top down.

I would recommend the S2000 to other aging boomers like me who remember and love real sports cars and to any younger guys who appreciate the thrill of fun driving more than status symbols. I'm not sure about women because there's not much room to bring home anything from shopping trips. (Only kidding.) Seriously, this can't be your only car if you have kids, dogs, or have to go to the grocery store.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 22, 2013

anony
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda S2000?
Beautiful exterior, combined with a sleek interior.
Pretty spacious than what it looks from the outside.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda S2000?
Noisy at highway speed.

2008 Honda S2000 Review:
A beautiful car which I consider the best bang for the buck. I could not find another car in a similar price range that provides better performance, sound or looks. Plus it's a Honda so the reliability is always there. The best car I have every bought, by FAR.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda S2000 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Honda S2000?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda S2000? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda S2000? 2005 Honda S2000 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Honda Model Lineup:
2005 CR-V
2005 Element
2005 Odyssey
2005 Pilot
2005 S2000
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Honda S2000 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact