Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Odyssey Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Honda Odyssey

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Van
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 10
MPG: 19-20/25-28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 244HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 18 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Honda Odyssey in the bottom 28% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
28%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Honda Odyssey in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Honda Odyssey also consider:
2005 Honda Odyssey Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Honda Odyssey
  1. Smooth VTEC engine
  2. Power sliding doors
  3. Ergonomic design
  4. Hideaway back row seats
  5. Side curtain airbags
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Honda Odyssey
  1. Better fuel economy
  2. Electrical issues
  3. Improve dealer service
  4. Wind noise
  5. Brakes - vibrating brake pedal
Submitted Aug 16, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
I like everything about the van.
Although I would rather have a power lumbar support.
I own an EX-L with Navi and RES.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
If you don't get a lemon, than nothing.
Although if you get the navi. it should come equipped with parking sensors!

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Love the van and I never thought I would like a mini van, thought they were mom-mobiles, but this one is sporty looking.

Gas mileage is great considering it's only say 60 pounds away from being a 3 ton vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 9, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Very tight steering.
Road noise quieter than a Caravan.
Ample amount of room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
When the power doors are in disengaged they are very heavy to close.
Would not change anything else a this point.
Towing capacity is very low for the rated hp.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Just purchased a 2005 ex-l model. Drove it from Toronto to Sarnia. Total of 280 kilometers (174 miles) and consumed exactly 25 litres. This worked out to be 31.63 mpg imperial and 26.34 mpg us gal. Works out to being .38 cents per km and .61 cents per mile.
Who needs a Volkswagon! True story November 9, 2010.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 1, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Super reliable unlike North American cars (especially in cold and wet weather).
Lots of room.
Lots of pick-up-and-go on the highway.
Feels safe.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Lots of squeaks and road noise.
Turning radius is terrible - takes two or three attempts to get in/out of parking spots.
Hard to navigate when backing up - too many blind spots.
Breaks do wear out quicker.
Takes a while for the hot air heaters to warm up and clear the windows on a cold winter morning.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Even though the Odyssey has a bad rep for transmission problems, I haven't had any yet myself (I've owned mine for 5 years now). Other than the standard wear and tear, I haven't had any troubles with it. My neighbor owns a Caravan (same year as my Odyssey) and he's had it towed for major repairs at least five times. Even in a cold Canadian winter morning, my Odyssey starts the first time, every time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 4, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Drives nice when it runs, good power, great for traveling.
Kind of fun to drive.
Great cargo and people room.
Like the stability control in Winter.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Road noise, brakes don't last.
Rotors warping, excessive pedal effort.
In the shop for numerous recalls.
Honda dealer unable to properly diagnose problems any time it has been in.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Initially really enjoyed the vehicle for traveling.

Around 45k miles the power steering pump made noise. Dealer said no problem found. Took in back in the Spring, still no problem found. Excessive steering effort at low speed. PS pump was shot, fluid was black, no problem found?? Changed pump, pressure lines, now the PS rack is leaking. Dealer now wants $1100 to fix that while leaking all over my driveway and garage. IF they fixed it the first time we brought it in the rack would have been fine.

At 55k miles has a spark plug blow out of the cylinders after retuning from a 30 hour road trip. At least we made it home. Did not take it to dealer, they obviously demonstrated they can't diagnose anything. Now only about 60k miles.

Last Honda after owning 5 of them. I have worked on this vehicle more than the last 6 I owned. This vehicle drives no where near as nice as my Chevy pickup....sad.

Now the tranny has a weird vibration at 45 mph, a shudder that goes away. What next??


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Interior and exterior design.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Get rid of The PAX tires. Seems like a fat car when I drive it. Hard to judge closeness to curb.
Transmission is tight when put in reverse from park position.
Seems to go steel to steel sound when put in gear, especially on incline driveway.
The ECO economy system for motor fuel efficiency seems alway weird sounding.
Engine light comes on in car a great amount.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Would not buy another Honda van.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 3, 2009

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Large

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Too many Problems with the car. UnStable. Check Engine Light goes on again and again. Poor Customer Service. Parts and Service are very expensive.
Mechanics are not comfortable in servicing the vehicle.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Problems are difficult to diagnose. Very unrealiable. Poor Quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 28, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Smooth, Quick acceleration, responsive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Increase fuel economy. Increase reliability/quality.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Performs well. Had transmission issues at 24 months and replaced power stearing pump at 33 months, hideaway seats required repairs after 14 months.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 24, 2007

mgorman
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Power sliding doors

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
We have had a 2003 and now our 2005. The 2005 has louder road noise, the leather and carpet are not holding up well at all. We will not purchase another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 18, 2007
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Spacious, comfortable, reliability

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Better gas mileage, less road noise, more torque.

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
Overall a good van, I still take it over the Sienna.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 26, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
Most everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey?
The 05 had a front end problem with shimmy. The dealer never could correct it. Appears to be a factory defect in the first models of the 05

2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
I would buy another without hesitation.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Honda Odyssey Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Honda Odyssey?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda Odyssey? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda Odyssey? 2005 Honda Odyssey Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Honda Model Lineup:
2005 CR-V
2005 Element
2005 Odyssey
2005 Pilot
2005 S2000
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Honda Odyssey | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact