Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda CR-V Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Honda CR-V

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 21-23/26-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 156HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 10 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Honda CR-V in the top 35% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
65%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Honda CR-V in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Honda CR-V also consider:
2005 Honda CR-V Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Honda CR-V
  1. Great interior design
  2. Fuel efficient
  3. Fun to drive
  4. Rear door opens like a car door
  5. Passing ability
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Honda CR-V
  1. Quieter ride
  2. Rattles
  3. More color combinations
  4. Spare tire hinders rear visibility
  5. Adjustable fit cup holders
Submitted Jun 30, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
Open-air feeling in cabin and walk thru ability.
The MPG in city (19-22) depending on AC on/off and traffic and the appearance.
I like it much better than the '07 design that is smaller more Matrix looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
The biggest gripe I have is the highway noise and the AWD hum at about 47mph.

2005 Honda CR-V Review:
I purchased my CRV SE trim as a carefully studied move to finally leave my legacy of sport sedans and try a small ute out-something that did not guzzle gas and haul something besides me around. I was wary of the 4cyl. but it has proved me wrong in just about every aspect except hwy passing. I have learned to compensate the pass by pressing the drive button when passing and it gears it down quickly and off I go at a fairly decent pace. What is the most amazing thing though is that this little puppy is the ONLY vehicle I EVER owned that hasn't worn that glad to own it feeling out of me. It is so reliable and usable that my satisfaction does not yield and that says a lot from me. I mostly owned more expensive vehicles NOT SUV's. Troubles always were a part of the BMW, Mercedes and even Lexus and I chose to except it but I now see that there are some cars that performance falls under a whole new category and for a whole lot less! What's next for me? I dunno know. I do not like the new CRV's skin. For now I will enjoy this one. I did have the thing sound deadened with a rolled material applied underneath the interior trim and floor from Canada. The road noise on the highway was like being in a prop plane! The sound level is much better now. Perfection except for noise at highway.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2012

Ryan
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
Somewhat spacious.
Good intro suv.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
Fuel economy.
Comfort.
Quality.
Road noise.

2005 Honda CR-V Review:
I have had my CRV for three years after getting it from the family as a car to take to college.

While I was somewhat glad to have seats that fold forward to increase cargo space, it is still a very small suv. The rear seats recline and fold forward towards the front driver and passenger seats, but it is not just a flat expanse in the cargo area. There are bumps and protrusions that prevent any sort of organized hauling of boxes or items in the back.

The rear seats are by far more comfortable than the front seats, with no lumbar support, and although I bought the SE model, the seats and finish are still subpar (manual seat adjustment all around).

The ride is very rough and unforgiving, and the tiny 4-cylinder engine produces not only a minute amount of horsepower, but also TERRIBLE gas mileage. I get around 16/22, which is absurdly low for this small of a vehicle. I live in Boston and traffic is not great to say the least, but you would think a 4cyl from Honda would produce somewhat better mileage. Will NEVER be buying another CRV or 4cyl from any auto manufacturer- v6 from here on out.

You also can't tow anything above 1500lbs, which basically eliminates anything worth towing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
I've only owned mine a short time. I bought it used and so far I really like it.

The little engine is peppy enough and I'm 6'5 and have leg and headroom which surprised me.

I like the location of the gear selection, the parking brake being integrated into the dashboard is great too. The seats are not as comfortable as I'd like but the butt warmers are a treat on a freezing NW day. I love the fact that if I get in a jam I can load my dogs and hunting gear and take off.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
The road noise is very bad. I am surprised and I'll be looking for something to put under all the floor mats to deaden that racket.

Seats are not comfortable for a person of stature. Need to do better in that department.

The fuel economy isn't as good as my wife's Malibu of the same year and it's a six.

I'd like to see a selectable 4 wheel drive instead of the full time all wheel. I think that holds the MPG down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 4, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
Better gas mileage, add overdrive on transmsssion

2005 Honda CR-V Review:
Gas mileage terrible 15-17 in city,20 on highway


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
mpg

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
quieter


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 6, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
Usable and flexible interior space, peppy engine, reliable (so far)

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
More standard (safety) features, better fuel economy, easier routine oil changes (look at the filter location).

2005 Honda CR-V Review:
At the time we bought ours, ABS was an expensive option in EX only and we wanted an LX. Same for the optional side airbags which should all be standard across the board. The standard Bridgestone tires wore out at 28,000 miles but with a tread wear rating of 165, I should not be surprised so we replaced with premium tires, and for less cost than the original B-Stones. We were also concerned with transmission issues so we bought the extra warranty and use synthetic and so far, no problems after 50k (not that there should be, but after the Acura tranny problems, I wondered about Honda). Our neighbor's identical unit lost the tranny at 40k, but the dealer made up for it with reasonable costs. (2003 model)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 6, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V?
I LOVE the rear door opening as a regular door. Will NOT buy 2007/2008 model because of that, Also. I love the open front space. Again, I do not like the newer way of having the gearshift ttake up the front floor space. Too bad... Honda took something that wasn't broke.... and broke it.Also, love the way my rear cover works ... better than the 07/08.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V?
I wouldn't.

2005 Honda CR-V Review:
Sure wish you would listen to the old CR-V customers... I talk to people in parking lots, who have the 05/06 models and they won't buy the 07/08. Everyone who has the 07/08 model that I talk to never had the cr-v before, I am a photographer, and the fact that I could close the rear door WITHOUT my hands is so great... and being able to cover my equipmetn in the back is also so nice. I'll drive this car til it quits... but I want be buying another CR-V unfortunately because of these things.... I am looking for another car with the rear door that opens and close like a door.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 4, 2009

greg
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda CR-V?
Turning radius.
Comfort when driving on long trips.
Handles well.
Quieter than our 1999 CR-V by a mile.
VSA is awesome, especially in Canadian winters.
Winter driving is a snap, even in deep snow.
Increased time periods between visits to the dealer for oil changes, etc.
Absolute reliability. It's something to have a good warranty. It's something else to never have to use it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda CR-V?
Gas mileage is lousy compared to our 1999 CR-V. We achieved up to 35 mpg per Canadian gallon with our 1999. We have yet to average 30 mpg per Cdn gallon with our 2008. Both have been on extended road trips of 5000 km or more.

Built in Bluetooth capability is a necessity.

Extortion-type costs at dealership for changing cabin filters, tires with TPMS. etc. We change the winter/summer tires elsewhere and also install the cabin filters ourselves.

Normal maintenance costs are much higher than at domestic dealerships.

2008 Honda CR-V Review:
We liked our 1999 CR-V so much, I replaced my Acura with a 2008 CRV.

We have been all over the States and Eastern Canada with this vehicle and like the 1999 model, it keeps on giving and going.

We knew we were getting more horsepower with the 2008 model, but didn't realize the trade-off in mileage would be so severe. It's the only negative about this vehicle, especially with high fuel costs.

Would recommend this vehicle to anyone, especially in Canada where the winters can be severe.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 25, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda CR-V?
GAS MILEAGE!!! For an SUV, I get 28 MPG in mixed city/hwy!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda CR-V?
Rear cargo hatch needs door release lever inside cabin.
Front driver's armrest should have the ability to independently adjust position.
Front drivers seat on EX-L needs to be powered.

2007 Honda CR-V Review:
Of all the new vehicles I've owned (7 in the last 15 years), this one is my first Honda and THE BEST so far!! She delivers a welcome 28MPG mixed driving (have hit 33MPG on the highway ~ albeit doing 59 in a 70)!!!! Roomy, SMARTLY designed!!!, Great on-board computer to calculate range and mpg, LOVE the XM Radio - my first on wheels and will certainly keep it!
Exterior finish is near flawless; ditto for interior trim.
Rear seats fold down and up and are not only adjustable horizontally, but RECLINE AS WELL!!!! A Very, Very nice feature for rear seat passengers!
Barring any unforseen events, this vehicle will be my first long-term "keeper," and I've invested considerable resources into her under that same premise (i.e: tinting, fog lamps, 3M Clear Bra Protection, deluxe sunshield...). She's svelte, sexy, and very comfy too; Fun to drive and fun to be in! Get the Leather (EX-L), check out the Borrego Beige and Green Tea exteriors, pass on the Navi (a 5X overpriced option that you can always aquire as a "plug-in" from companies like Garmin ~ my last vehicle had one and it is only occasionally useful, unlessyou live in a city). Comfortable ride, great MPG, and Plenty of Room. The New American Dream!!!!!
I'm now an official 'Hondite.'


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 19, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda CR-V?
I love my Honda CR-V. This is my third Honda and my second CR-V.

This car is a dream to drive. Things like turn radius and handling are excellent, which is a big plus for me.

I have physical challenges - fighting with the steering wheel feeling like I'm driving a sherman tank isn't an option for me. My CR-V I can turn on a dime with ease. It makes doing a three point turn for the driving test a snap.

The av is a great feature.

Nito tires are great to have.

I get fantastic mileage in town or on the road. I had to drive for six days straight across NC VA WVA KY IL and bordering state to get to my son's graduation from bootcamp and Parade In Review located at the Naval Recruiting Station at Great Lakes IL. My CR-V proved to be the best car for this trip. Plenty of storage and cargo space. A smooth ride. I got great mileage during the huge gas crisis. Convinced me.

There is no better car for me and I will continue to buy Honda CR-Vs.

The car has a great looking exterior - mine is saphire blue with a contrasting pin stripe. The interior is a gray - the combination looks fantastic.

The safety features are excellent. The car has so many airbags, fender guards and other features that make me feel protected in my car.

We have had some severe snow and ice storms. The car proved herself again. I drove home with the snow blowing so hard and sticking to the road. Where other cars slid, I made it home without any problems. I love my CR-V.

Here we have excellent repair and maintenance department that will come out to my house, pick up the car, and return it in a timely fashion. Nice to have when the oil needs changing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda CR-V?
One thing I really wish Honda would do is bring back the tire that was on my 06 CR-V that made the car look so classic to have the tire zipped or encased with the Honda logo. This was a great look and it was a full sized tire, not the donut small tire the O8 has. I really do not like this change at all.

Another thing I would definitely ask Honda to do is go back to the window design of the older CR-V. I always crack the window a little. In any type of weather water leaks in badly down the inside of the door. This never happened in my 05.

The power seats and lumbar features should be standard on all CR-Vs. I hope Honda exec s read these posts, then they might redesign all the CR-V s to accommodate anyone under 5 ft 6. No matter what I do I wind up sitting with my knees almost in the dashboard so I can drive. The seat won't adjust far enough for me. I need an adult boaster seat to back the car out of the drive way, parking lot, etc. The visibility when backing up is poor and I can never see the front of my car when on the road.

However the pros far out way the cons.

2008 Honda CR-V Review:
I will stick with Honda and the CV-R because there are many many excellent aspects of the car that far out weigh the few small and minor cons.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda CR-V Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Honda CR-V?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Honda CR-V? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Honda CR-V? 2005 Honda CR-V Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Honda Model Lineup:
2005 CR-V
2005 Element
2005 Odyssey
2005 Pilot
2005 S2000
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Honda CR-V | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact