Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,523 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Ford Focus

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-26/32-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 136HP
2.3L I4 151HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 29 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Ford Focus in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Ford Focus in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Ford Focus also consider:
2005 Ford Focus Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Ford Focus
  1. MP3 6-CD changer
  2. Comfortable ride
  3. Acceleration
  4. Overall cute design
  5. Steering and handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Ford Focus
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. Gas cap lock
  3. Cup holders
  4. Doors do not shut smoothly
  5. Electrical problems
Submitted Oct 17, 2012

Tracy
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Everything. Bought it in 2006 with 16K miles. I am now at 150K six years later. Never ever a major problem outside of the regular wear and tear.

I love this car.

The first on in my 27 years of driving that I paid off and refused to trade in on a new car! I am keeping this gem!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Some of the factory components wear out too quick. The knob to the air vents to switch from what vents it blows air out of has wore out and it is stuck on one setting but I will get that fixed easily.

Vibrations.......ugh. BUT, I can deal with that. It's not major yet and I am working on fixing that.

The seats stain easily. Even with just water. I would put in a different interior but it is easily to clean the seats but time consuming.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
I would buy another Ford Focus! It has been a joy driving. It is my everyday commuter car. I drive 80 miles plus round trip daily and it is great!! It's sporty and I LOVE the trunk space and how the back seats lay down for more storage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Bought a 2005 ST dealer certified pre-owned and have had very little problems with it.

Had to replace the alternator at 65K and now the stereo initializes by itself every few days. Trying to figure out what the low battery message on the stereo means.

Put some strut braces on and handling was improved, but still needs to be lowered about an inch or so. Overall, an excellent little car that is fun to drive. Have taken it on quite a few long road trips and seats are surprisingly comfortable on long drive times.

The young kids with their tricked out Hondas and Toyotas are quite surprised when I scratch the tires in second gear!! Nice power range and good handling for a factory stock.

Keep your standard maintenance up and you shouldn't have very many problems.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Trunk lid doesn't pop enough with the electronic lock, have to click and pull up at the same time.

Does wear out tires and have to keep it perfectly balanced and aligned constantly.

Needs a better clutch, I notice a bit of lag from third to fourth under hard acceleration.

The fuel pump is very loud when I first turn the key and the fuel pressure doesn't build up for almost a second. Looking to replace that as soon as possible.

Had to replace the rear brakes after only 20K miles, have never had to do that before. My mechanic said the factory rear pads were made with very cheap materials.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Overall, in my opinion, an excellent little sports sedan that is fun to drive and sturdy enough to be an everyday driver.

Nice looks and just different enough from the standard Foci to get a notice. Have to admit that I love the exhaust note with the standard aluminium exhaust. Can definitely tell that it's not a standard Focus! The red ST badge looks cool too!

Comfortable interior and excellent stereo sound. All electrics and mechanicals work fine and surprisingly don't require very much attention. The factory parts do wear out pretty quick, but with good replacement parts things work fine. The handling is actually great for a boxy little sedan.

Again, overall a great little car!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 6, 2013
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Exterior design is nice, handling is ok.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Big trouble for engine vibration!!! it started around 100K, sent to dealer,changed mount,plugs etc. NEVER GOT FIXED! And dealer keep saying is "ok".

It vibrates when idling, winter time normally will be worse.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Do not like it because of engine vibration.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
I have a wagon and it's great on gas.
Good storage room in trunk.
Good leg room in front and back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
To have the back seats to fold down flat would be good.
Does get speed wobbles at high speeds.
Factory stereo is old school.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Have never had problems with our Focus wagon.
Apart from the styling, this is a very good car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
The Focus has a nice sporty look.
The A/C and the heater work great.
It has good fuel economy.
The trunk is huge for a car this size.
The rear seats can also drop down to give you even more space when needed.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
The rear brakes squeal horribly. I have had them replaced with high quality brake shoes and it stopped for about a month, then the noise was back. They aren't wearing out, it's just a cheap design.
As the miles go on it tends to vibrate causing parts of the interior to vibrate and buzz.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Overall it is a good affordable economy car. It has good power and fuel economy. It just tends to get annoyingly noisy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 13, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Easy to get around.
Maneuverability is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
The exhaust system can be improved - noisy.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Have been a Ford owner all my 70 plus years. And have never had a exhaust or exhaust system noise that is this loud and the dealer calls this normal. One must talk loud to be heard by the passenger. The reverberations are very annoying.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 2, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Just about everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Live in the north and when the brakes are cold they squeal for a little bit.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Love my ZX5. Love that I can park in tight spaces because it's a good size. Have only replaced the tires once and have over 50,000 miles. Stereo has good sound and like the features (convenience package on left side of steering column, sound feature that makes stereo louder at faster speeds). Completely happy with my car and only would get rid of it to get something bigger.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 17, 2010

Terry Rega
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
It's fast pickup when needed.
It's great sporty look.
Drives very smoothly and has a variety of windshield wiper speeds.
Great feature.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
It vibrates when idling. Would like it smoother.

Put the side view mirrors closer to the car or make them so you can adjust them closer. I have to be very careful when going in and out of the garage. Have hit them several times on side of garage.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
I am very upset that after only 17,000 miles my transmission has lost two gears and I have had to wait two weeks to get in for service with a loner car. The rear trunk is up too high and makes it very hard to see when you have to back up. Also, can't see that well over the rounded hood to park easily. Would like it a little sleeker looking.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 20, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
I have had nothing but problems since I drove it off the lot. First of all, the key got stuck in the ignition the day I bought it and I had to bring it in and wait 4 hours for it to be serviced. Next, the trunk pops on its own and the doors lock and unlock by themselves. The trunk will even pop open while driving, or while the car is completely off and I am walking away from it. The airbag sign is lit every time I turn the car on, and stays lit the entire drive. Oh, and then there is the problem of my back doors being completely useless. Upon trying to open them, one completely does not open and the other one would not shut again because the latch broke. $400 dollars later (to fix only one door), I finally think that I am done ranting. Other than the fact that the body is made out of the flimsiest plastic, and the newest problem is the turn signals in the back do not even work. One day they just STOPPED WORKING. No amount of bulb changes or fuse replacements are going to fix that hot mess. I HATE the focus, and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.

Just take them all and demolish them.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
It is possibly the worst car ever made.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 30, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus?
Acceleration is nice and handling is good.
Very adequate (stock) for this type of vehicle.
Interior is plain & boring but sufficient in space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus?
Different cupholders. Rear light bulbs are biggest pain to change in any car I've ever owned.
Interior can use sprucing up badly.

2005 Ford Focus Review:
Overall a good car for travel and everyday driving. Needs maintenance on a more than regular basis to keep good performance.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Focus Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Ford Focus?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Focus? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Focus? 2005 Ford Focus Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Ford Model Lineup:
2005 Crown Victoria
2005 Escape
2005 Escape Hybrid
2005 Expedition
2005 F-150
2005 F-250/F-350
2005 Five Hundred
2005 Focus
2005 Freestar
2005 Freestyle
2005 GT
2005 Mustang
2005 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Ford Focus | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise