Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,687 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Five Hundred Model Year - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Ford Five Hundred

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 19-21/26-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.0L V6 203HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 33 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Ford Five Hundred in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Ford Five Hundred in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Ford Five Hundred also consider:
2005 Ford Five Hundred Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Ford Five Hundred
  1. Gas mileage
  2. AWD
  3. Plenty of room in cabin and trunk
  4. CVT
  5. Command seating position
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Ford Five Hundred
  1. Reduce road noise
  2. More color schemes
  3. Transmission whine
  4. Rattles
  5. Louder backup sensor
Submitted Aug 17, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
I like the interior room, trunk space and way the car handles in any type of weather (AWD model).
A classy, luxury car for the money.
Great look, great ride and great performance.
Very satisfied overall.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
My only issue with this vehicle is the amount of brakes that were already replaced. The vehicle has 92,000 miles and has had 3 sets of brakes and rotors (not including the manufactured set that came with the car) installed and now the front end feels like the wheels are going to fall off. It's been in the shop twice for the front end noise and rattles and I've been advised that nothing is wrong! Either the mechanics are deaf or they are blasting the radio while driving but regardless, they should surely feel the vibrations on the front of the car and they don't seem to find anything. If I let a family member take a test drive without giving them any knowledge of the problems, they immediately pick up on this issue. I just don't understand why the mechanics don't feel or hear the problems. I guess if they can't put it on a diagnostic machine to tell them what is wrong, they aren't knowledgeable enough to figure it out!

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
Restructure the brakes and rotors as well as doing something with the suspension. This car is a great buy for the money but is a "diamond in the rough" at this point in time. Ford needs to stand behind these manufacturer defects to loyal Ford customers as myself and my family. The dealerships don't want to be bothered with anything that they can't make money regardless of the issues at hand. Disappointed by my repairs and issues and hope that it will be resolved in the near future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2012

Linda Winburn
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
The interior is exceptional with lots of leg room and ease of operating different buttons.
The ride is smooth, leather seats comfy, and overall size a bonus.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
I went after a car that was noise free and thought that was what I had found, but was I ever wrong. It is hard to hold a conversation in this car. The transmission went out at 46,000, the brakes need constant attention, air conditioner went out, the back doors fill with water and slosh around after going through a car wash and the list goes on! Ford is not recognizing any of these ailments with the 500.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
We have always been a Ford family, but after our experience with the 500, there will never be another Ford bought by us.
If Ford had only owned up for the problems it would be a different story.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 10, 2012

Wayne
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Many pros.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
I have the AWD everything has worked great for me. Had to replace brake pads after 45,000 miles. & left rear speaker, but crackle is back think it is the radio problem.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
I have lots of praise for my Ford 500 AWD. How many Ford 500's were manufactured for the year 2005?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 8, 2012

anne kantor
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Almost everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
I have had a lot of problems with tires and some with brakes.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
If I could buy a 2011 or 2012 500 I'd do so; that says it all!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 2, 2011

Daniel Marsh
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Lots of head room.
Comfortable seating in front and back.
Lots of leg room, just a pretty good car inside.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
The only con I have with the car is that when they shut of with black smoke pouring out of the vents and dash and then catching on fire while theres nothing I can really do only watch. ANYONE WHO HAS ONE THEN I SUGGEST THAT YOU GET THE CAR FULLY SERIOUSLY CHECKED WIRES AND ALL. I LIVE IN NEWFOUNDLAND AND THAT'S WHAT HAPPENED TO ME......


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 27, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Body style.
Winter driving AWD excellent.
Roomy interior.
Great trunk space.
Good power.
Good mileage.
Engine has been very reliable.
CVT transmission has worked very well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Bad Ford Dealerships in this city.
Paint chips visible in a few places.
Broken upper engine mount.
Brakes.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
Overall very satisfied more so than with any other car that I drive on a regular basis. Keeps me from wanting another car because it feels good and I have had it paid for now for 3 years with minimal maintenance. I like Fords.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 16, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Exterior looks good.
Interior is very roomy.
Trunk is very roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Problems within weeks of buying brand new 2005 SEL model; hesitation when pressing gas; into dealer a couple times - problem always came back. Gave up on it. Finally, as I put more miles on it, that problem went away by itself. I don't put very many miles on, but despite that, now at only 20,000 miles (and out of warranty) it started making a horrible, very loud grrrrr, moaning noise (loud enough to be embarrassing!) and a separate problem of repeated "pop, pop" on right when you turn the car on or off. Paid dealer $300+ to tell me the pop, pop noise was the air inlet actuator (hubby replaced fairly cheaply and took care of that problem) and supposedly the grrr, moaning noise is due to the wheel bearings needing to be replaced (which I've read should never need maintenance and if there's a problem, it's due to failure!). Dealer wants somewhere around $1300 to fix...denies any problem or recall issue here. Also have the "bubbling" issue on the dash, water issue in rear right door.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
I'm totally disappointed in the performance; especially with as little miles as I put on. I will have to seriously consider whether I would buy another Ford. I would love to get rid of this one...but like most who have posted here, I'm "upside down" in it and will take a beating in the wallet if I sell it/trade it. Most disappointing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 14, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Looks nice and roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Too much maint.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
Flywheel went out which cost $1300! Power steering pump went back which cost $400! On my third set of brakes and rotors! Trans sounds bad and I need struts already! I am sick of this car but I'm stuck with it. :( Will never never never buy another ford. Give everyone that owns one of these cars their money back!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 29, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
The interior is great. Plenty of room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
At least let us know of the secret hidden problems and have techs who know what they are doing, not guessing.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
After 5 1/2 years, a 1500 hundred dollar break job, a left rear door that keeps filling up with water, and service techs who guess why my awd light keeps coming on after an oil change. An ESTIMATED BILL OF 2000.00 > THIS IS THE LAST FORD PRODUCT I WILL EVER BUY. I HAVE HAD 10 FORDS BUT IF THEY CANNOT MAKE A CAR TO LAST 36000 MILES, FORGET IT.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 19, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
This is my ultimate favorite car I have ever owned, I have had 16 over the time I have been licensed. I have kept this one the longest, it's a great car for real estate as I am a Realtor. I just turned over 100,000 miles today, 3/19/10.

I am on my 3rd set of tires & 3rd windshield. Just recently had to replace back brakes, rotors, everything. One month later the front ones went and had to replace calipers, everything. So that totaled $1800. This is after the rotors were replaced by recall at the local dealership about 1.5 years ago.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred?
Not sure. Read my review.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
I now have a serious problem with what we believe is the pilot gear. This car has been hooked up to diagnostics at the local dealer, stethoscope through the vents etc and they couldn't figure out what my "percolator" car was doing. My transmission acts like it wants to run away at times and you cannot have the a/c on and put it in reverse at the same time without a firm hold on the brakes. My brakes man commented it was a pilot gear problem, most likely not the transmission from the sound of the engine. I am being told to dump the car if it's a pilot gear and if a new transmission it will run around $4500.-5000.00! I asked for the transmission to be serviced at the dealership at 56,000 miles and they refused stating they do not service the sealed transmissions until 100,000 contrary to the direct mailings I receive from Ford stating it should be serviced every 50,000. The percolator sound started at 46,000. My car is long out of warranty so I'm faced with a difficult decision. I still owe on the vehicle and I love my car, but I feel like it is going to self implode now that it has turned over 100,000. What to do...?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Five Hundred Model Year - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Ford Five Hundred?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Five Hundred? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Five Hundred? 2005 Ford Five Hundred Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Ford Model Lineup:
2005 Crown Victoria
2005 Escape
2005 Escape Hybrid
2005 Expedition
2005 F-150
2005 F-250/F-350
2005 Five Hundred
2005 Focus
2005 Freestar
2005 Freestyle
2005 GT
2005 Mustang
2005 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Ford Five Hundred | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise