Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,204 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford F-150 Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Ford F-150

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/18-20 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.0L V6 153HP
4.6L V8 231HP
5.4L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 23 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Ford F-150 in the top 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Ford F-150 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Ford F-150 also consider:
2005 Ford F-150 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Ford F-150
  1. Interior design
  2. Nice handling
  3. Great seats
  4. Plenty of power
  5. Sight lines from behind the wheel
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Ford F-150
  1. Longer bed with 4-door version
  2. More storage compartments
  3. Acceleration
  4. Gas mileage
  5. Place of odometer
Submitted May 17, 2012

harley blackman
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Drives very good.
Rides good even with bigger mud tires.
Looks great.
Big enough to haul the crew around.
Sounds very good with true dual exhaust with magnaflow mufflers.
Has a lot of power, more than I need.
Pulls farm equipment, planters, headers, big trailers etc. easily.
Does good offroad and in the snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
Improve gas mileage - I have a 5.4 4x4 and get anywhere from 12.4 - 13.6 miles per gallon depending on my driving. That is running 285 bfg all terrains and now I have 275 procomp all terrains.

Spark plugs, had to take it to a ford dealer ship to get fixed, normal mechanic wouldn't mess with it due to the placement of them. Truck has 131k on it and is on its second set of spark plugs.

Window regulator has gone out on the driver and passenger side, rigged the driver side window to still work passenger window don't work.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
I have had this truck since 2010. It had 77k on it when I got it.

The truck is on the farm and on beach trips. It's very reliable. My friends love to drive it because it looks good. Since we got it in 2010, I've only tinted the windows, put moto metal rims and procomp tires on it, put H.I.D. headlights in it, toolbox and true duals. I get alot of complements.

I love my truck, and I plan on keeping it til the wheels fall off then fixing it. (: I will probably have another Ford.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2013

scott rouch
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Looks great.
Drives like a dream 4 wheel drive.
Does what it needs to do in times of bad weather here in Indiana.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
5.4 liter gas mileage could use more factory setting to get over 17 mpg..
THE SPARK PLUGS WERE A NIGHTMARE!!! 4 of the 8 broke off so I had to buy a 127.00 extractor tool (which worked great) gave truck better power after plugs changed..
Power window buttons gave out.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
In all I would buy another one, but will make sure all service has been done before driving off the lot.. I do love my 2005 Ford..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 13, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Ride.
Smooth transmission shifting.
Very comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
GET RID OF THAT CAP OVER PLUG DEAL, CAN COST YOU THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO CHANGE THE PLUGS DUE TO THEM BREAKING OFF IN THE HEAD!

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
Don't buy used that is out of warranty.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 10, 2011

charlie963
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Comfort.
Power.
Looks.
Gas mileage.
Over 28000klm. and it does not burn oil or have any fluid leaks whatsoever.
However I have a vibration from 45 klm. per hr. to 70 then it goes away over that speed. At 60klm. it will buck when shifting into o/d. If I take out of o/d, it will not buck, anybody out there got any info on them prob.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
Perfection is an art. What can I say.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
Great truck. I also have a 2010, it's a supercrew, same engine as my 05.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 30, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Plenty of room.
Drivability is nice.
Nice 4:11 gears in the rear end.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
Rear Window leaks when it rains. Interior gets wet and looks horrible.
Towing a little underpowered, had to power chip it to tow my toyhauler.
Front suspension ball joints not greasable or changable.
Tie rod ends and ball joint need replacing at 30,000 miles.
Window regulators fail.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
Decent truck but mechanical wise a nightmare.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 28, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Love the exterior, have been a Ford fan for a while!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
We are having trouble with our 4 wheel drive. It keeps slipping when it encounters rough terrain? Would like to know if anyone else has encountered this issue, and if so please contact me, as we have a friend looking around on how to fix the problem and so far no answers?

Also tranny not changing gears while hauling, properly.

Wish we had gotten the 5.4 instead of the 4.6 need for hauling power, and truck should have more support in the rear end to help with hauling.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
Great truck, use all summer to pull horse trailer, been in situations and truck always comes through.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 24, 2010

mike707
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Looks good, short wheelbase 4 door.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
New trany @ 58k. Death wobble @ highway speeds. How do I fix front end?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 17, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Great running truck.
Body and paint is very good--over all.
This truck will last me a LONG TIME---even if it is used.
A damn good truck (used or new).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
I would not do anything else---.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
The engineers that work for Ford have hit the nail on the head with this 2005 truck-----.
Great performance-- great body-- great paint-- and my truck has over 100 thousand miles on it and I would not trade it for a new one because--- it just keeps on --keeping on---- why trade something that is TOUGH--and RUGGED--and WILL RUN---LIKE---- FOREVER.
I will be buried in my "USED" 2005 FORD TRUCK>>>>>


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 19, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
Great truck.......strong and good looking.
Tight body with great amenities!
Lots of power.....drives better than a Mercedes.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
Back power window shot at 3 years....$400 expense.
CHANGE SPARK PLUGS AT 50,000 miles....otherwise you'll have problems.

2005 Ford F-150 Review:
Buy one....NO better truck out there!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 28, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150?
I like my 2001, that's why I bought a 2005 but, my next truck won't be a Ford.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150?
I had to have my transmission rebuilt. I only have 32,500 miles on it.
I don't pull trailers or anything else. I don't drive harshly, I'm 51 years old and my driving fast days are gone. I mainly drive it to work 15 miles away and home. Fords 3yr/ 36,000 miles warranty is a joke. I had to pay to fix my truck out of my pocket, because of the 3yrs.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford F-150 Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Ford F-150?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford F-150? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford F-150? 2005 Ford F-150 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Ford Model Lineup:
2005 Crown Victoria
2005 Escape
2005 Escape Hybrid
2005 Expedition
2005 F-150
2005 F-250/F-350
2005 Five Hundred
2005 Focus
2005 Freestar
2005 Freestyle
2005 GT
2005 Mustang
2005 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Ford F-150 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise