Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,179 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Expedition Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Ford Expedition

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14/17-19 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.4L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 10 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Ford Expedition in the top 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Ford Expedition in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Ford Expedition also consider:
2005 Ford Expedition Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Ford Expedition
  1. Heated/cooled seats
  2. Seats 8
  3. Power fold 3rd row seats
  4. Towing capability
  5. Exterior design
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Ford Expedition
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. Sluggish performance
  3. Poor quality of material
  4. Reliability
  5. Power folding outside mirrors
Submitted Apr 23, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Love the third row seating/storage and the electronic seats folding/up/down. Overall very spacious & comfy seats. Smooth, quiet/powerful drive and acceleration can't be beat, handles smooth, glides on the road, paint holds up well even in horrible hot FL.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
I'm short, so would like seat to go a little higher. AC is very noisy and have had repeating problems w/a.c. In fact, my expedition is in the shop now for 2nd attempt to fix a.c. So bad that back a.c. blows hot air and front blows tepid cool but never cold. Front passenger electric window has had "slow going up" problem since we bought car in 2009 (we are 2nd owner).
One time on a cold day 38* (in Miami) had a major problem w/ the car shutting down to "limp mode." It acted like it stalled w/ no warning but it didn't/ car engine still on. Error light came on and then boom, no forward power. Had to coast off side of road. Put it in park, back into drive & nothing. It would however drift a little in reverse. Took it to the shop, hooked it up, found on computer an error but would not say where. Shop re-set computer and it hasn't happened since. (I call it my ghost car.)

2005 Ford Expedition Review:
Over all great car w/ a.c. problems in some models. I would buy it again even knowing what I know.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 16, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Love it!
Lots of room and looks good inside and out.
Folding third row with a push of a button.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
I pay $200 in gas every 2 weeks :/
Only complaint, but that's to be expected, I guess.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 1, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
-3rd row seats, power fold down 3rd row seats.
-Interior space, storage box.
-Heated/cooled seats.
-Love to see more and sit higher.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
-AC sucks in the Eddie Bauer version (the air is nearly warm). I was wondering if I need to pay for AC recharge.
-Hate the noise.
-Too big.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 10, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
My Expedition maneuvers into parking spots and in general like a car.
The take off is wonderful.
I love the 3rd row seat you still have leg room and when you need extra storage all you have to do is push a button and the seats fold flat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
The cons however are the breaks squeaked like crazy so I had to replace them with a better pad.
Also the molding around the car seems to break really easy so maybe instead of plastic holding molding to the car it should be metal.

2005 Ford Expedition Review:
As much as I love my car I hate the fact that every couple of months something new is wrong with it.

It only has 40,000 miles and the catalitic converter already had to be replaced and a coil went out in the engine. The ac has broken 2 times now and I am experiencing electrical issues. Plus the rear hatch/ window leaks even though the window has been replaced, the weather stripping also replaced, and the window has been aligned 2 times it still leaks.

I know many people with this vehicle and they have had no problems. Mine must be a lemon!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 16, 2009

Spencer
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Looks good in and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Our engine needs to be replaced at only 66,800 miles and Ford is un-willing to help me out. I have to come out of pocket $7500.00 for an engine.

2005 Ford Expedition Review:
I am very dissatisfied with Ford. No one should have to replace an engine at 66,800 miles because a valve breaks of and drops in to cylinder.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 4, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
I love the performance, power and four wheel drive since we live on top of a mountain and are constantly driving uphill.
Also, the interior room is great.
It is wonderful to be able to fit so many people in it and not feel crammed.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Better gas mileage and better stereo.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 9, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Everything!!
My third row seat folds flat electronically and I have homelink which allows you to open you garage and various components!!
It has heated and ac cooled front seat a nice option and rare in suvs!!
Air suspension which make the vehicle drive like it's on pillows.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
More power is always nice, maybe factory headers, and front and rear axle lockers.
Better stereo equipment.

2005 Ford Expedition Review:
I think Ford should offer different engine options and better factory stereo equipment maybe by linking up with an aftermarket stereo company like many other auto manufacturers have done. Infinity, Bose, Kicker are just a few I have seen personally.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition?
Everything

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition?
I would rate my 2003 better, because of two features I miss in my 2005. Which is the programable door opener, and the electric buttons to lay the 3d row seat down that my 2005 does not have.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jul 26, 2012

deep snow dweller
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Ford Expedition?
Quiet.
Safe.
Comfortable.
Better in all respects than my 1998 and 2003 Eddie Bauer Expeditions- except for premium sound.
Plenty of power with a 6-speed transmission.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Ford Expedition?
Premium stereo needs more than bass and treble control; subwoofer needs separate control.

Sync needs an interface rework; not intuitive; not logical; not particularly useful.

The center console is a bit smaller than the 03 Expedition and considerably less useful. Ford- are you listening?

Treadwear rating on the original tires is only 200? Pencil erasers!

Navigation locks out input when vehicle is moving- which might be OK for the driver but is entirely irksome if the front passenger wants to set a new destination or search.

2012 Ford Expedition Review:
This is my 3rd new Expedition. This is the smoothest, quietest, and most comfortable of them all.

But the premium stereo with navigation disappoints; muddy bass & dull highs at highway speeds. The other two EXP's had better sound but no navigation.

Having owned a first, second, and third generation EXP, I will probably get a 4th generation, should Ford produce it.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 7, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Expedition?
The truck is great considering my family was driving a Dodge caravan around. The people that have the issue of having it being in the shop most of the time bought the wrong truck...

We bought our King Ranch Ford Expedition (full loaded) in 2006 and haven't taken it in for repairs once. It still looks brand new and I love how smooth it drives.

It can easily go up to 95 mph and seem like you are driving 60 mph so I'm not sure how they say that it's noisy driving over 65 mph.

I can barely feel the large bumps in the road with this vehicle also.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Expedition?
Get a better navigation system. The CDs are not cutting it. It's annoying and some of the places aren't on there because they are in between CDs. Each CD is a different region that's the only problem.

2006 Ford Expedition Review:
It's an overall great truck and love having it to drive around. It climbs the hills easily and the traction control is great. The traction control saved us from having some accidents also. The truck can make turns while having all the wheels locked up without losing control. I have tested the Rollover Stability Control and I have to say it drives like a car practically. There are times where I would be driving to fast on an unfamiliar road and a sudden sharp turn would come up and I could brake and turn without really worrying if I would rollover. Sure the tires would squeal but it did not feel as if it was going to rollover.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Ford Expedition Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Ford Expedition?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Expedition? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Expedition? 2005 Ford Expedition Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Ford Model Lineup:
2005 Crown Victoria
2005 Escape
2005 Escape Hybrid
2005 Expedition
2005 F-150
2005 F-250/F-350
2005 Five Hundred
2005 Focus
2005 Freestar
2005 Freestyle
2005 GT
2005 Mustang
2005 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Ford Expedition | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise