Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,415 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Ford Escape

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 19-24/24-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.3L I4 153HP
3.0L V6 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 32 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Ford Escape in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Ford Escape in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Ford Escape also consider:
2005 Ford Escape Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Ford Escape
  1. Plenty of power
  2. Comfortable seats
  3. Great visibility
  4. Looks good
  5. Huge sunroof
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Ford Escape
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Rear headrests prevents seat folding
  3. More powerful AC
  4. Less wind noise
  5. Firmer front bucket seats
Submitted Nov 3, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
Styling, front grille, size, easy access, ample storage, leather seats (so comfortable), moonroof, adequate acceleration, trouble-free.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
More padding on dash, easily accessible cup holders, loose shifting transmission, no outside temp., moonroof switch replaced twice.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
Bought new. I first rented one before purchasing it. Took a risk buying my first Ford since imports displayed better construction/durability in past years. Has 103,000 mi. On second set of Continental tires. Had disc brakes replaced, but still have original back brakes. Love driving this car! Always garage parked and detailed every year, it looks showroom fresh. Silver/black. Perfect vehicle for me, a retiree.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 9, 2013

Margaret I. Nash
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
I call it my "Pretty Girl"...it does look cute!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
Gas mileage. AND why do I have so much brake dust on my rims, after only 1050 miles of short trips and a few 60 mile trips? (My trucker nephew pointed it out to me the other day. I bought it used at 127K.) How can I improve my mpg...what should I have checked?

I usually like cloth or naugahide seats...BUT these cloth seats. :(


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 12, 2012

jameswells
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
Good in snow.
Lots of interior room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
They got to come up with better wheel bearings. I have 70000, replaced 2 on one side 1200.00 dollars - crazy.
Air conditioner not working well, had it recharged twice - 240.00 bucks.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
It's an ok suv, but over priced.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 2, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
Great Pick-up.
120,000 miles and still going strong.
I fit in it (I am a large man). I don't fit in a RAV4
Great work vehicle.
Averaging 24 mpg with the V-6 and 4WD.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
Steering wheel blocks the driver's side middle air vent.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
I got this vehicle used for my son. I have been using it at construction site in New Jersey. Every weekend, I drive back and forth from Tennesse to New Jersey. It does well on the highway and on the job site. I have owned 2 other escapes; a 2005 Sonic Blue V-6 4WD and a 2006 Sonic Blue I-4 FWD (Wife's) Both of these vehicles got better gas mileage than the Window Sticker said the should (26 mpg for V-6 and 30 mpg for I-4). I had no problems with any of the Escapes I owned. I would not hesitate to buy a Ford Escape again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 14, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
like the interior - easy to get in and out of using the running boards -

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
not great on gas - lots of outside noise - I took out the extended warantee and it was a good thing i did or it would have cost me a small fortune to keep on the road

2005 Ford Escape Review:
I have replaced the brakes more times than i would have liked - brakes totally failed both within a matter of seconds. I could have been killed had this happened on a busy road - thankfully it happened late at night and no other vehicles on the road.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 1, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
Like the way it rides.
Air great.
Gas ok, not great.
Like the Look.
Easy to get in and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
Do something with the transmission, had to have one put in last yr. 2011. Very unhappy about that major cost. They guaranteed it for 3 yrs.

We might get an Explorer next time, if the gas does better than in the Escape.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
If it wasn't for transmission problems, and oh yes, accidentally spilled a soda in gearshift and it sometimes locks in park and we have to beat on the push in button to get it to go out of park. Took to garage and they took it apart and cleaned it and said it needs new insides. Cost around $200 to clean it and it still sticks but I'll beat it for they want a few dollars short of $900 to replace it.

One more thing, can't keep the cloth seats clean, a raindrop leaves a spot. Do not like that at all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
Great paint job...still looks good after 6 years.
Good interior space and hauling capacity.
Good operation in inclement weather...Montana winters.
Styling is still contemporary.
Good vision.
My wife loves it.
Overall good performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
The original Continental tires are terrible...road noise.
Noise in the cabin is excessive.
My transmission failed after 6 years, though it did not function properly for some time prior to failure. $3500 to fix.
Air Conditioner is not engineered to deliver consistent cold air.
Brakes went out after 4 years.
Cloth seats are hard to keep clean.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
Overall, this has been a good car to drive for the past 6 years...I bought it new in 2004. I have my doubts about the engineering of the transmission because of the failure of mine and reading of similar complaints from other owners. The road noise is the biggest issue...the Continental tires are the biggest offender but there are also issues in soundproofing and the transmission. Be careful if buying a used 2005 model.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 10, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
(V6) handling is very nimble.
Good feel.
Cargo space in back is roomy for infrequent light hauling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
Very poor gas mileage.
Rotors or brakes must be changed frequently....just had new brakes put in last summer along with wheel alignment and the vibration again is very noticeable whenever I braked. Since 2005, I had to replaced the brakes three times.
Back seats became frayed and worn out within first year.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
I do not know if I will ever buy a Ford Escape again...an iffy.....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 14, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
I love the 6 cylinder. It delivers the power as required.
It rides comfortable. It is definitely a retiree vehicle.
As you enter the vehicle you don't have to fall into it, nor do you have to climb into it...this is most appropriate for the ladies (regardless of age).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
The coffee holder needs a bit rethinking.
My tires are new, but do not match the engine in terms of firm grip.
The back wiper ought to provide a better wipe on the back window.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
When on the 401, the Escape (w/ 6 cylinder) easily lasts 4 hours on a tank of gas. I desire to buy another Ford Escape.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 27, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape?
The pickup and comfortable seat.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape?
Improve the ac.

2005 Ford Escape Review:
I am bringing it to the dealer for a new tone ring in less than six months. Only have 28,000 miles on it. Did ford have a problem with this? It cost me 300 in march for a new one and now I need another new one. Taking it to dealer tomorrow (obviously not too happy). Otherwise I like my car and would buy another one. My first Ford after always buying Volvos.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Ford Escape?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Ford Escape? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Ford Escape? 2005 Ford Escape Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Ford Model Lineup:
2005 Crown Victoria
2005 Escape
2005 Escape Hybrid
2005 Expedition
2005 F-150
2005 F-250/F-350
2005 Five Hundred
2005 Focus
2005 Freestar
2005 Freestyle
2005 GT
2005 Mustang
2005 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Ford Escape | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise