Log in
5.7 million people served. 5,062 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Dodge Durango Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Dodge Durango

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 12-16/15-21 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
4.7L V8 230HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 11 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Dodge Durango in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Dodge Durango in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Dodge Durango also consider:
2005 Dodge Durango Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Dodge Durango
  1. Hemi engine
  2. Navigation
  3. Heated seats
  4. Power
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Dodge Durango
  1. Gas mileage
  2. More horsepower
  3. More aggressive tire package
  4. Make it bigger
  5. Easier door open and close
Submitted Apr 21, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango?
I bought mine with just 24,000 km's on it and have put on an additional 220,000 km in just over 5 years.

Believe it or not with the exception of regular oil changes and brakes twice (which I did myself - easy), the only thing I had to repair was one of the front stabilizer bars and that only cost me $200! It hasn't even had a tune up yet!!!

I love my Durango and have to admit it's been the best vehicle I've ever owned. Plenty of room for our family of 5 and then some. Comfort and performance are definite assets with this vehicle and a whole lot of fun to drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango?
Gas mileage is definitely something to consider before you purchase this truck. It's a pig on gas literally plus for those of you who don't read the owners manual, it requires mid-grade gas - not premium and not low grade so factor the additional cost ABOVE regular (it's about 10 cents more per litre).

2005 Dodge Durango Review:
Best vehicle I've ever owned.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango?
Tows anything!
4X4 is excellent.
Interior is nice and roomy.
Acceleration is great.
Heater works amazing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango?
TRANSMISSION - Fix it and make them last longer.
Make the 4X4 hold out longer. 4X4 broke with regular use. Not off road driving!

2005 Dodge Durango Review:
TRANSMISSION goes out Way too early at 80,000 miles. Bought used and Will NEVER buy Dodge again! Looking at a second Transmission only 18 months later! Durango breaks often and is always EXPENSIVE to Fix! Bought used for 8,900 and have already put in 8,000 to fix and counting. Thanks Dodge, NEVER again!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 18, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango?
DRIVES GREAT.
VERY ROOMY.
HANDLES VERY WELL.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango?
GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE.
I'M CHANGING BRAKES EVERY 6 MONTHS.

2005 Dodge Durango Review:
LOVE THE CAR. VERY NICE, COMFORTABLE RIDE AND DRIVE.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 10, 2010

ALAN STEVENS
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango?
NEVER HAD A PROBLEM IN THE SNOW.
VERY POWERFUL VEHICLE.
EASY TO MAINTAIN.
DRIVERS VIEW IS WIDE OPEN ROAD.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango?
GAS MILEAGE IS BRUTAL.
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT EARLY.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 8, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango?
We just bought this vehicle used and we really like it. It's powerful, has 4-wheele drive, and comfortably fits all three of our children (in their car seats mind you) in the back! We also like having the option of the thrid row seat if we want to bring along friends or family. Very roomy!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango?
They don't hold their value...

2005 Dodge Durango Review:
Overall, we are extremely happy with our choice.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 18, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2005 Dodge Durango Review:
i need to find the location of the egr valve in the 4.7
can you help


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 29, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Dodge Durango?
-Unbelievably quiet and smooth highway ride.
-Responsive, stable handling.
-Adult-sized third row of seats.
-Ultra-supportive and comfortable seats in all three rows.
-Top-notch interior quality and design.
-User-friendly dash layout.
-Surprising V6 fuel efficieny for a 5,000 lbs SUV. (I've averaged 19 mpg in town, and 25 mpg on the highway.) Don't be fooled, the V6 has PLENTY of power for any and all driving situations. I clocked a 0-60 time of 8.1 seconds which is plenty fast for a 5,000 lbs SUV.
-Excellent safety (IIHS Top Safety Pick Award Recipient).
-AWD does great on snow and ice.
-Tough yet elegant exterior styling.
-6,200 lbs V6 tow rating is better than any competitor.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Dodge Durango?
-5-speed Transmission can be frustrating at times, but I know an 8-speed is on the way for the near future.
-Would like to have the larger touch screen found in the Journey and Charger.

2011 Dodge Durango Review:
Overall, I'm extremely pleased with my 2011 Durango Crew AWD 3.6L Pentastar V6, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a well rounded, safe SUV that can comfortably haul seven adults.


Rate this review:
2
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Dodge Durango?
The exterior of the new Durango is amazing! It's sleek, it's rugged, and very classy all at the same time.

I just test drove the new 2011 Durango, the Citadel version and I was blown away by all the features this SUV has. It's a good thing my kids were not with me, they would have me purchase because of the Sirius TV feature it has.

The power at take off was smooth and very responsive. When applying the brakes it stopped immediately without the worry if it was going to screech the tires by applying the brakes too hard.

I have been a big Suburban fan for the last 15 years. I think it's finally met its match with the new Durango.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Dodge Durango?
There is only one thing that I would change in the whole vehicle which would be to add the option of having captain chairs in the second row for easier access to the third row. Other than that, this SUV is perfect!

2011 Dodge Durango Review:
I would recommend to anyone who is considering an SUV that has all the power of a big one, and roomier than the other midsize SUV's. You will not be disappointed with the way this SUV handles, performs, and looks.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 7, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Durango?
It's roomy for me and my 3 sons.
3rd row seats.
Aux for my mp3.
Gas mileage is really not that bad. Especially with hwy miles. But I don't commute far from home anyway.
It doesn't drive or sound like a truck.
It's stylish enough for a woman to drive.
The steering is really easy and parking is a breeze although it's a bigger vehicle.
Engine is quiet. Sometimes I don't know it's on.
It has a lot of room for cupholders and for my cosmetic items.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Durango?
Interior plastic is cheap and parts keep falling off.
It's kind of basic on the inside. (I guess it's just the color.)

2006 Dodge Durango Review:
I love my Durango and can never see myself getting rid of it. I am a prissy female and it's still perfect for me.

It's enough room for me, my husband, and my boys. It's nice when we take trips. It has more than enough room. When going on playdates with other moms, I am able to fit 3 kids on 3rd row seats, PLUS three car seats on 2nd row seats. I still have room in the trunk to put a cooler and diaper bags and things.

I love my music and the stereo system is very loud. Love it!

It's perfect for me and I love it. I thank my husband almost every day for it lol. I still haven't had any major repair issues. Just normal fluid changes etc.

Oh I have the 2wd. Handling is still not bad. I don't have the hemi engine. Don't really need that though. I have NO intentions on pulling ANYTHING with my baby lol.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 17, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Durango?
Very comfortable on long trips, I am 6'4".
Power seat.
Power rear hatch with remote.
Alpine stereo system with 6 disk CD/MP3 player.
Automatic headlights.
All wheel/4 wheel drive easy to use.
Power adequate for any condition with 4.7 liter engine.
Gas mileage is as expected, about 19.6 mpg average.
Steering and handling very good.
Steering wheel mounted controls easy to use for cruise control and stereo.
Runnung boards and grab handle for passengers.
Color, Atlantic Blue, easy to care for.
Very tight turning radius for this size vehicle. Better than most smaller cars.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Durango?
More room between console and seats to retrieve items that fall into that space.
Intermittent erratic idle. Dealer couldn't find any problem.
Better windshield washer pump motor, and separate motor for rear washer.

2006 Dodge Durango Review:
I purchased the Durango new and it was the most comfortable SUV that I test drove. Even the back seats are better than the average SUV. I go to places that most other SUVs have to use 4WD to get into, I just leave it in all WD and it gets through. I have only used 4WD one time to get out of loose sand. Rough roads are no problem, the suspension can handle even dirt roads with protruding rocks like they weren't there! The steering is responsive and quick, The cruise control is very precise and maintains the set speed to within 2 mph, up hill or down hill. The Alpine stereo is awesome! With Sirius satellite option, I can listen to the same station everywhere I go. The cloth seats are durable and comfortable, even in the desert. I can pack all my camera gear, suitcases, and cooler in the space behind the rear seat with room to spare, even with the third seat up. There's even more room with the seat down, enough to haul a washer and dryer! The addition of a collapsible basket for groceries along with the cargo net is a great little self-bought option. The items carried in it don't roll around. The remote controlled rear hatch is great when it's raining, because I can open it before I get to the car to load the items in before they get too wet. All in all, the Durango is the best vehicle I have owned, out of 12.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Dodge Durango Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Dodge Durango?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Dodge Durango? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Dodge Durango? 2005 Dodge Durango Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Dodge Model Lineup:
2005 Caravan/Grand Caravan
2005 Dakota
2005 Durango
2005 Magnum
2005 Stratus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Dodge Durango | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise