Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Uplander Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Uplander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Van
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 17-18/23-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 201HP
3.5L V6 196HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 45 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Uplander in the bottom 10% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
10%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Uplander Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander
  1. DVD player
  2. Back up sensors
  3. Smooth ride
  4. Remote start
  5. In-dash MP3 player
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander
  1. More torque
  2. Reduce blind spots
  3. More cargo space
  4. Turning radius
  5. Easier fold down back row
Submitted Sep 2, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Probably about the best body styling among minivans.
Plenty of family-friendly features, lots of room especially when seats are removed.
Reasonable but not stellar fuel economy.
Nice tight turning radius.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Abysmal reliability and quality.
Under-powered and very poor in snow.
Interior design is nice enough, but even Happy Meal toys are built better.
Mobile phone, emergency road kit, AAA membership and something to calm the wife down are must-haves with this GM product.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
I have 73K miles on mine and not expecting it to see 100K. Trouble started at 6K.

Biggest problem is the "haunted" power sliding doors, which sometimes won't open, open by themselves, cause the alarm chime to ding for no reason, or won't stay closed for reasons known only to the doors.

Struts are rattling. Was getting ready to buy the third set of tires and brakes but need the money to fix the A/C, which just stopped working.

Starter sometimes stays engaged after the engine has started. Transmission is starting to slip. Radio on-off and compass rarely work, headlights flicker.

Could probably fix it all for around $25,000 if I thought GM would cooperate and had an exorcist on staff. My last GM "vehicle".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 6, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
I like the room that the vehicle has and I also like the third seat, which gives me the ability to carry more passengers when the need arises.

I, unlike the others on this site, really think this vehicle has a good turning radius, as I can get out of many tight spots that my former mini-van, a Chrysler produce, couldn't.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Again, unlike most of the reviewers at this site, I HATE the DVD player, because it NEVER worked, right off the lot. It has been in and checked, replaced, and checked again and again, and it NEVER has worked correctly. It is a piece of junk!

I also have had problems with the transmission, the computer system, the CD/radio, the alternator, starter, and the remote engine starter. All of this occurred before the warranty was up, but every time I took it into a dealership to have it worked on, the mechanics never found anything wrong with any of these things. And, as soon as I left, EVERYTHING fouled up, as per my complaints. I called Chevrolet customer service countless times and complained, but they could only send me to another dealership. None of these problems were ever resolved! To this day I still have trouble with ALL of the aforementioned items!

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
This vehicle is a piece of junk, which Chevy NEVER should have manufactured. But, they did and they won't admit that they made such junk, for I have been on the phone with them for years since purchasing this, and they have never, ever helped me resolve any of these problems, and in my opinion, they never will!

I have had Chevy's before and loved them, but now, I will never buy from them again. My next car will be foreign!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
I am coming from a 2000 model explorer limited which I loved but didn't suit my growning family - no 3rd row. So, I love the room. However, I struggled to find a vehicle with 3 in middle row and 3 in back --- that I could also afford. I love the DVD, I love the semi-leather that I have, so far the gas mileage is good (comparable to the explorer limeted). The best thing for me and 3 under 6 is the double power sliding doors!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
I purchased a 2005 model in 2008 for cost issues - I could actually afford this car and the perks (DVD, sliding doors, leather etc...). My best friend has a Venture that she loves and I followed suit. On day one, the little clips that hold the second row seatbelts in a better position for kids - one broke in half. On day two, the second one broke. I will get these replaced when I first need to take it in for something more serious, but I don't hold much hope that they will survive any longer.

On my particular uplander - there is absolutely no cigarette lighter/plug for my cell phone except in the cargo area behind the 3rd row (not very convenient for cell phone usage). I understand that an ashtray package was an option - but the plugs too???

I purchased a great little console gadget at Wal-Mart because there does not seem to be enough room for all the "stuff" a mom needs to keep in the front seat. However, there was plenty of room for my little add on and I like it because it is soft sided and therefore nothing rattles when I hit a bump - so perhaps I am better off.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
I have only owned for a few weeks - so I can't respond except to say that my kids love it and I am happy to have been able to afford what I wanted - I am in the middle of a divorce and so I couldn't afford many of the cars that I might have liked to have had. I purchased a 2005 with part leather and DVD and dual sliding doors with 44K miles for $12K - I'm happy!

I have read horrible reviews - so I opted for the extended warranty at Driver's Way for $2,000 - for 4 years or 48K miles. My trade cancelled out the expense and if i need it - it covers pretty much everything except brakes, oil and tires.

My friend with the Venture has never had any problems with hers - so I am hoping for the best.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 1, 2016

Reg Ealey
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Having just purchased it, I thought it was a vehicle I wanted to buy as I almost bought one new in 2009. BUT, having read the reviews of some of the owners AND having looked at the receipts for work done by the Previous owner, with the vehicle having only 136,000 km., did I make the right choice??

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Again, having just bought this Van, I am totally flabbergasted that some brain dead engineer did not see the need to include a cigarette lighter ( for a power inverter ( charging cell phones, powering emergency lighting and many other uses) in the design of this vehicle.
GM will have to step up and take some responsibility for the problems this vehicle has given to those who have described their issues. Some potentially dangerous or possibly have to answer to z Class Action Law Suit for the failings of this vehicle, which does not den to live up to GM standards. SHAME ON GENERAL MOTORS.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
Maybe someone can explain to me how General Motors can ignore all these complaints and conclude it won't affect their sales.
I certainly sympathize with anyone who bought a G.M. Product, thinking it was built to G.M. Standards and finding that some Idiot didn't think a cigarette lighter was necessary and that the vehicle they bought in good faith was s piece of junk and possibly NOT "road worthy". DISGUSTING.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 31, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
The ride is just outstanding.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
No comment.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
It would be nice to be able to find out the real price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Well we liked the new look of the out side and the room of the inside,
seats are comfee, stereo when it works sounds nice, the stearing is nice and tight, like making a left turn and let go of the wheel and we keep going left, but the alignment shop says it is in spec. the fuel economy is good, a little betterr that our 99 windstar. the paint looks nice where there is any left on the body.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
I feel screwed, the dealer ship had us feeling that we were getting a safe and dependable long lasting vehicle that Chev would stand behind. I did'nt think they would stand as far behind us as they could. they must be tight on cash, and wanting donations, I've had all the issues everyone else has had, electrical, suspention,tires, transmission, still starting even after it is running, we have had very few issues with our 99 windstar and ford stood behind everything!!!!
not like Chev, seems like thay robed everyone who bought a Uplander. I strongly feel they should have recalled this vehicle off the ROAD !!!

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
One Expensive Pile of Junk !!!! Never Never will we buy from GM, after how we have been treated... BUYER BEWARE......


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 28, 2012

John SC
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Styling is very good, IMO.
Pleased with interior.
Overall, good van for us.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Midship seats will not move forward or backwards, makes for a long trip for my kids when I'm driving, (I'm 6ft4, so seat has to be back a ways for me to be comfortable).
ABS light constantly comes on, had problems with sliding doors, and remote is a joke!

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
This van is a pretty good van, for us it has been anyways. Will I get another minivan from Chevy, no, just too small now as my family has grown too much for one. WIll look at a Tahoe or similar next!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 24, 2012

Jorge L. Negron
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
EVERYTHING.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
LONGER WARRANTY COVER... I ONLY WANT TO TRADE BECAUSE WARRANTY EXPIRED ... IF I HAD A LONGER TERM WARRANTY I COULD KEEP HER FOR 5 MORE YEARS ...
GREAT ECONOMY IN GAS AND LOTS OF POWER... INSTEAD OF UPGRADING WARRANTY I WOULD LIKE A NEWER VEHICLE , THAT'S ALL... NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT MY BABY...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2012
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Roomy, dvd is great for the kids. Its runs good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
I have had to replace both front wheel beqarings twice. Tommorrow I will replace the passenger side for a third time since I have owned the vehicle. It would be a great vehicle except for the faulty wheel bearings. I just changed the last ones 6 months ago. I am going to buy a ford from now on.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 26, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
High clearance from the larger tires which was the reason I picked it. I have just over 100k miles on it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?
Lots of electrical problems.
Sliding door contacts rusting.
Abs light randomly coming on.
Eats tires - its been through 4 sets.
Rough starts.
Spare tire loosens on its own once used.
Unexplained clanking and clunking noises when going over even small bumps.
Front bearings wear really fast - from the first sign of wear to near complete failure is measured in weeks.
Radio has been replaced twice and started glitching again (random loss of power).
Seat started cracking.
Exterior molding peeling off - was repared in first 6 months and started peeling off again.
Weather stripping falls off.
Rear wiper stopped working - front wipers needed to be completely replaced.
Transmission slips even after doing a full flush and fill.
Power steering fluid seems to deplete with no sign of a leak.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
A very poorly designed and built vehicle. I wish they spent more time designing it properly instead of slapping bigger tires and a new style on their former minivan. If they had built it from the ground up, I think it would have been a great vehicle, but instead we have a mish mash of whatever parts they could find thrown together into a defective money pit.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Uplander Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Uplander? 2005 Chevrolet Uplander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Uplander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact