Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet TrailBlazer Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 14-16/17-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.2L I6 291HP
6.0L V8 395HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 50 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer in the bottom 20% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
20%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer also consider:
2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer
  1. GPS system
  2. Sound system
  3. Strong engine
  4. Comfortable ride
  5. Brakes
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. Loud exterior noise
  3. Cheap interior
  4. Overhead sunglass compartment
  5. Tighter suspension
Submitted Aug 17, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
We have driven our Trailblazer 135,000 km. Replaced tensioner pulley under warranty and one strut. No other repairs. Replaced tires at 87,000 km and changed the diff. fluids. Great riding vehicle. Still looks great. Living in central Canada it's nice to have the 2, all and 4 wheel drive options. Another nice option is the lift glass in the rear door. Makes loading easier and nothing falls out when you open it. Carries up to 8 if 4/5 are children or 6 comfortably for shorter trips.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Overall gas mileage could be improved but one has to pay for the options, including a great towing capability, and storage capacity of this vehicle. We get in the low 20's on the highway. It can drop 2/3 mph into heavy winds. Tailwinds can mean 25 to 27 mpg. Higher speeds do not impact mileage as we have driven on many interstates at 80mph and no deterioration in gas consumption (we actually got 29 mpg 3 times with a strong tailwind running at 75/80 mpg on an Interstate). The only interior suggestion is the middle seats are a bit too close to the front ones and are fixed. Gas costs are only part of the operating costs and with minimal repairs our overall experience has been excellent.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2017
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
I drive with my 2 year old son and because it has so much room I can fit just about anything. Groceries, stroller, diaper bag etc. It meets all my needs for what I was looking for in a suv. It's safe and comfortable. It's drives smooth. I've been very happy with my trailblazer and have had it for a year and 2 months now. Only had to replace the water pump. Not bad.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Better gas mileage for sure
I would rather have letter seats than cloth but that's minor.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
This is my second trailblazer both were 2005. Both never disappointed me but yeah I wish they did better on gas that would help me. But I love my trailblazer. It's a great truck


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 21, 2013

Amie
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Love the way it drives in the snow & the controls for 2wd all the way to 4low options. Its very roomy all the way around. This is the second one I've had the privilege to drive & it doesn't disappoint. Seats are very comfy. Dash controls are very accessible & easy to use. It has everything you need.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Stronger longer lasting brakes would be nice. Every single one I've seen or had the arm rest is always broken & it drives me crazy!!! I just recently bought this 05 & it shifts strange, I am unsure if its been chipped & its supposed to be this way though. Wish all the models came with auto adjustments on the seats to lift you up to someone short like me can see better. The L6 4.2L motor is tougher to work on but its a great motor.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
Love just about everything on this car except the new price to buy it so I keep having to buy used which I don't like. Hope to own a trailblazer for life!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2013

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Roomy, nice look, love the leather and sunroof.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Better Gas mileage!! Sucks!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 17, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Great interior - nice comfy seats and great trims.
Love the air conditioner in the back - very helpful.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Lower cost not worth the price.
Change gas mileage.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
Not the best car - it is not recommended.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
It has loads of room, great in snow, tows a boat fine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
It has had so many problems we refer to it as the "rolling turd".

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
I bought this as a certified used car from a Chevy dealer with 66k miles.

It now has 88k miles and the problems have been:
1) Fuel gauge stopped working. Fixed by dealer under warranty.
2) Trans lost reverse. Dealer said it needed a complete rebuild which was done under warranty.
Then the warranty ran out:
3) AC has a leak and won't hold a charge for more that a few days. This has not been fixed.
4) Exhaust manifold cracked. $500 to repair.
5) Speedo works occasionally. Dealer quoted $300 to repair.
6) Catalytic converter completely clogged and vehicle lost all power and mileage dropped to 9 mpg. $500 to repair.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2010

Lindsay433
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Love the interior, black leather, bose, dvd..
Don't mind the gas mileage, and it PLOWS through the snow.
Exterior has held up very well! No signs of wear and it is a 2005!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
My gas gauge stopped working at 60k, always replacing lights and brakes, headlights flicker all the time.
It's also very noisy when driving on the highway.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
It's been a decent car, have spent way too much in repairs though. Total in 2 yrs has been about $3500.. and I haven't even fixed the steering linkage or gas gauge..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Size.
Maneuverability.
Excellent tow vehicle when it runs right.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Sell it.

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
Poorest quality vehicle I ever owned, problems since new.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2010
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Like the ride, it is very smooth.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Gas gauge to work. I have 2 2005 TrailBlazers and both gas gauge have gone out on them. Is there not going to be a recall on these? From what I have read there is a lot of these gone out.

More leg room.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
Overall look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?
I have had two TrailBlazers. Both were 2005 and the transmission went on both of them. Once you start creeping close to 80-100k, you might as well forget it. It's time for the junk yard.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet TrailBlazer Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer? 2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact