Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Silverado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-16/17-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.3L V6 195HP
4.8L V8 285HP
6.0L V8 300HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 25 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Silverado in the top 44% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
56%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Silverado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. XM Radio
  2. Auto folding mirrors
  3. Best fuel economy in class
  4. Daytime lights
  5. Digital MPG readout
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado
  1. Exterior & interior design old
  2. Reliability
  3. Side-curtain airbag
  4. Better crash test results
  5. Lumbar adjustment
Submitted Aug 21, 2017

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Has never given me a single problem or left me stranded anywhere.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2013

Jeffrey Poole
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
It was relatively cheap when I bought it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
I would crush it or sink it in a lake.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
This is the worst vehicle I've ever owned. Since I bought it all of the electrical systems have failed. This is my first and last Chevy. DO NOT BUY.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 30, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Love it! Great heavy duty truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
The plastic around the back tail gate handle falls off on a lot of them.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Great truck - would recommend...
Most important, American made!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 11, 2011

Sweetleaf
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
I call her big red pretty stellar. Been a good truck. Always a Chevy man. Like a rock.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
More room in back.
More lift on suspension would be sweet.
Could use a wider stance in back for more stability and less sway.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 12, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
My truck has the 5.3 H.O. It pulls really well, has a lot of power, and it handles well at high speed.
Great exterior lighting, great towing package, good breaking system.
It drives extremely well on long trips wile pulling heavy loads.
Four wheel drive works really well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
The motor has made a pecking noise since day one, was told that's just a Chevrolet.
Not the best fuel mileage.
The steering box messed up with less than 50,000 miles.
It IDLES extremely low sounds like it's going to quit.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Pretty good truck, it has done everything I needed it to, if it didn't have some problems it wouldn't run at all. Everything has their downfalls..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 22, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
I LIKED MY 1995 BETTER. BETTER RIDE.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
I HAVE WIND NOISE AT THE REAR PUSH OUT WINDOWS OF MY 2005 SILVERADO EXT CAB. HOW CAN I FIX THIS PROBLEM? MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP SAID REPLACE THE REAR WINDOWS. THERE MUST BE A CHEAPER FIX.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
LOOKS GOOD, NO MECHANICAL PROBLEMS, JUST NOT THE TRUCK MY 1995 WAS.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
I like almost everything about the truck except the fuel cap problem.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
The fuel cap problem - It keeps telling me to tighten the fuel cap which I did. I even replaced it with a new one. I took it to the dealer and they said there was a line with a sensor that was at the back of the truck that needed to be changed to the front in order to correct the problem -$300.00 to correct. I asked if the sensor could be change and left where it was and they said it had to be moved to the front they GM would not let them leave it where it was and that GM would not warranty it we had to pay for it. I would think if GM knows it's a problem and it has to be move they would cover it as a warranty item and not make it a consumer problem.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2009

john
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Great ride.
Hauls well.
Reliability is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Radio died and engine service light came on but was corrected under warranty.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Great truck for the price, will consider a new Silverado in future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 13, 2009

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Bought mine new
Interior very roomy & comfortable
Auto lights great
Auto folding mirrors & large
Auto adjusting rearview mirror
Dual air controls
Pulls my 25ft Fifth wheel great
I went 58,000 miles before changing tires to Michelin MTX's.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
Needs better gas mileage...I only get 13.2mpg (combined city/hwy). Only get 10mpg pulling the RV.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
Overall a nice truck. Like it well enough to stick with Chevy Products as I'm not at all impressed with Ford or Dodge products or prices.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2009
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
nothing good about this truck

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?
50,000 miles of problems. now it will just die like some one turned off the key while driving.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
worst truck i have ever owned. had a 1992 that was the best. what has happen to GM? next truck will probably be a toyota.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Silverado Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Silverado? 2005 Chevrolet Silverado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Silverado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact