Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-24/26-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 144HP
3.9L V6 240HP
3.5L V6 201HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 42 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Malibu in the bottom 25% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
25%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Remote starting
  3. Roomy inside
  4. Quiet and comfortable ride
  5. Powerful engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Better interior
  2. Include floor mats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. Center console too far back
  5. Low quality gas gauge
Submitted Apr 16, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Gas mileage excellent for this size car. Can maintain 32 mpg at 65 mph.
Sound system very good.
Tight body rattle free, and all body parts fit nicely, and good paint finish.
All havc controls work perfectly.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Spend more time and money to correct the many defects most owners relate to. Bulbs burning out, premature rear brakes wearing out, rack and pinion problems, rattling noise in steering column (dealer charged $100 to grease), my garage does free at oil change time.

Needed wheel alignment at 26,000 which dealer would not do free, causing premature tire wear and replacement at 30,000 mi. Unheard of for a new vehicle.

Seat upholstery stains too easily, always have to clean it. Seats also too hard, but this is common in all cars this size, unlike the comfort of my mini van seats.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall, after reading the others reviews, I can't complain. As everyone knows, even Toyota has their share of problems. Maybe if GM were to be more concerned with quality, and being more responsible when it comes to recalls, I would consider another GM product. They have to do better before I will buy another car.

I have 95,000 miles on mine, and will probably keep it for another few years. It is running fine and hope it continues to do so. All manufactures have their share of recalls in all sorts of products not just cars. If they don't address those issues, they lose.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 8, 2017
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Gas mileage is good, engine runs great, and most parts are reasonable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Front end is bad, power windows are a problem, carpet is cut to short, and the CD player is junk.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Front end has been a nightmare, I have had the wheel bearings replaced 3 times since I have owned the car. I bought it used in 07 and had front end work done right away. Replaced the CV shaft twice. Fuel pump replaced which was costly cause it is located inside the tank. Brakes and rotors are low end problems. Paint job is poorly done.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 8, 2015
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Good on Gas
the exterior looks good

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Bulbs die every month especially passenger tail light
brakes suck
cd player doesn't work anymore had to get a car stereo
interior stains to easily
Front two tires worn out less than a year old
got a/c fixed last year in August14($300)Blowing Hot Air Now in May 15 Same Problem!

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Don't Buy It!
I Will Never Buy An American Car
I Will Be Buying a 2016 Infiniti Q60!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 12, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Mine is the Malibu Classic, and really I don't like a thing about it, besides it does look good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Worst car I have EVER bought! It now has 79k and my wife won't drive it! The car shuts itself off while driving and will not restart right away, but when the tow truck drops it off it always restarts??? Also many times after stopping to run an errand it also will not restart, and my mechanic can't find a code or a problem! The car is a death trap, also the power door locks will not unlock when you want to get out!

Sorry to say my next car will be a Camry. Chevy pushed me over the edge!!

BTW I still own a Camaro 5.7 and a older Malibu with the 3.1.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 19, 2013

Marg Bayer
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
The engine is very solid and has good performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
The Quality of the Malibu needs to improve:
The air conditioner went at 36,000 miles
The front steering rack went at 30,000 miles
The brakes needed a total replacement at 32,000 miles and were rusted.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Wanted to buy a North American car to support workers.
The quality of the GM product needs to improve before I will buy another GM product.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 30, 2012

Miles Garrison
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Very good engine.
Good gas mileage.
Good ride.
Relatively quiet interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Have had to replace many bulbs, recently replaced both front headlight assemblies due to electrical short caused from overheating. Power mirrors stop working this year. Manual power door lock switches do not function as they should.

Solenoid in automatic transmission had to be replaced at around 100,000 + miles earlier this year ($1200 fix). Thump from front strut mounts every time there is a change in direction (started at about 40,000 miles).

Something new today, had three passengers, a consistent bump-bump-bump from the rear wheel located to the outside of a curve. Brakes not applied. No noise on straight sections of roadway. Have not solved this issue yet. No noise when driver and front passenger only. GM sent me a letter extending the warranty on the steering column to 150,000 miles or 10 years. Wife recorded some unusual chatter on cell phone from the steering column. It has not occurred with me.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I have owned a Dodge, a Plymouth, two Chevys, a Buick, three Fords, and two Toyotas.

The two Chevys no doubt have been the most problematic vehicles I have owned. And the only ones I wished I had not purchased. Reliability after 100 K has not been good with Chevys.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 12, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Lots of room.
Fairly good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Better electrical system in regards to the tail lights. The passenger tail light burns out continuously. The problem has worsened to the point where I have to buy whole head light and harness. I went to the a couple of Chevy dealers and they said that they have discontinued ordering those parts.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall it runs okay, but I noticed on the reviews that the tail light burning out is a constant problem. GM should do a recall on about that issue.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 26, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Good gas mileage for a V6.
Good acceleration.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Just about everything except the engine and transmission needs to be improved. The car is noisy and is of poor overall quality.
Fit and finish is terrible and just about everything squeaks or rattles in it.
An excellent example of why GM got into the financial trouble it did. GM should visit their foreign competitors to see how it should be done.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
We purchased this as a used car with only 30,000 mile on it as a GM certified vehicle. What a joke that program is. They supposedly did a 300 point inspection. We had the battery, steering column, radio, resonator, front lower ball joint and control arm, door seals, heater fan, and many other items fixed under the GM warranty. We are still struggling with trying to get the wind noise improved from the rear doors. The drive train is excellent in this car but unfortunately, everything else is total junk.

Everything rattles in this car, the interior stains easily, the car is noisy, the seats are uncomfortable and more than likely just about everything other than the engine and transmission will need to be replaced before I get a couple of years use out of it. It is now showing signs of rust in spots. I'm not sure I could have designed such a bad car if I tried.

Overall a big disappointment but I hope to get a few more years use out of it. I won't be buying any American made cars in the future. 100% pure American made junk!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2011

Evan Kerr
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
My 2005 Chevrolet Malibu has over 110,000 and it is still running just like new. It has had no problems at all. Best car and I will always have GM cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 3, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Great fuel Mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Intermittent Power steering shaft constant problem.
Front-end complete junk - all new parts but 1 wheel bearing by 114,000 kms.
Steering sloppy like a sedan from the early 80's.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Was great on gas, sucked in the snow and steering was sub par for a 2005 very loose. Interior stains very easily. Cannot roll down right rear window without busting you ear drum while driving. CD player never worked right, driver door leaked when it rained.

I did all highway driving at that and had that many problem. I could only imagine if I was on a country road. Too many cons against the 1 pro.

Also had a 2002 Malibu and I have since sold them both and got a Honda.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu? 2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact