Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,846 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Equinox

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-19/23-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 94 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Avoid ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Equinox in the bottom 10% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Plenty of room
  2. Sound system
  3. Style
  4. Comfortable driver seat
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Cheap interior material
  3. Better seat cushions
  4. Noise
  5. Turning radius
Submitted Nov 2, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Style.
Extra roomy interior--every time someone rides in the back seat they remark on it.
Height from ground.
Leather seats.
Love, love, love! the open space between the front bucket seats and the armrest/storage bin that folds up out of the way (perfect for stashing my purse, storing books on tape, and hiding smaller shopping bags when I leave the car).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Visibility really sucks due to over-sized posts on either side of the windshield.
Need option to fold down head rests on rear seats to help rear visibility when rear seats are vacant.
Improve gas mileage.
Noisy ride--have to keep the sound system cranked up to hear it.
Cheap looking plastic interior, paint chipping from radio knobs.
The "?running boards?" that jut out on either side of the car. My legs ALWAYS hit them getting in/out of the car so I end up with dirt, salt, or mud on whatever I'm wearing.

The 2nd year the car went through a period of refusing to start. It was totally dead--no clicking or signs of life at all. I'd tow to the dealership and it would start fine for them. They could never find anything wrong. I think they finally got fed up with me and replaced the ignition. So far so good.

Now in year 4, I'm having a problem with the key getting stuck in the ignition. I'm not talking jiggle the steering wheel and it will slide out stuck. I'm talking I had to flag down two men in a parking lot to help me stuck. One yanked on the steering wheel while pulling on the key and the other laid on his stomach across the passenger seat pressing on the brake pedal with his hands. Somehow they got the key out. Two weeks later it happened again after dark and when I was alone. I tried the same moves they did and after several minutes the key very reluctantly and with much effort came out. I ruined my key chain I was pulling so hard. Now I'm careful to pull the key out very slowly so I can stop pulling when I feel it binding up.

The newest problems are some noises while driving especially on highway exit ramps.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I never thought I needed or wanted an SUV until I was recovering from hip surgery. I had two requirements: the driver's seat needed to be the proper height from the ground plus I needed the slipperiness of leather seats to ease entry/exit to the car. Turns out the Equinox was the perfect height plus I could get leather seats in a reasonably priced vehicle. No more stress and strain on already painful joints. Of course, it didn't hurt I liked the look of the Equinox!

Overall, this car has worked out well for me and I'm glad I bought it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 27, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
I think it is very comfortable and I love the room it has.
Contrary to what others say I think it is great on gas, to be an SUV.
I love the buttons on the steering wheel.
Five cupholders is probably my favorite things.
I love almost everything about it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
I would make the radio and temperature buttons out of something where the paint won't come off.
Install some handles above the doors.
Have duel climate control.
Make the buttons on the steering wheel so they don't stick when it is cold outside.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I love my equinox and when the time comes to trade I will get another one. All of the things like brakes and other repairs people are complaining about are common with any car and has nothing to do with the way the car was built.

In 2004 I decided it was time to trade my ten year old Monte Carlo and I began looking around for another car. I saw on the Chevy website that they were coming out with the Equinox the next March, so I decided after reading up on it that Equinox would be my next car and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made and was well worth the wait.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 19, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Its sharp looking.
Handles great.
Roomy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Radio button paint wearing off.
Stains on interior from getting in car when raining.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
This is the best car I have ever owned and I plan to trade it in for a newer Equinox in a few years. It gives me a headache to see people complaining about things that have nothing to do with the car.

If your kid broke a cup holder that's your fault. If you get dents and dings that's not the car doing it, having touch ups done on the paint isn't the car's fault, how many cup holders do you really need? It has five.

No it's not that great on gas, it's an SUV. Why do you want to turn off day running lights that's a safety feature? If you're replacing breaks often you're breaking too hard and driving too fast.

Oh and the check engine light comes on because you need to reset the internal computer after you get an oil change, read your manual when you get the oil changed most likely the people you take it to don't know how to do it, look it up.

In short stop complaining about stuff that you would get from a car, you bought an SUV.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Handles excellent, the steering is nice and tight. It sits up higher than some other small SUVs. Seats are firm and comfortable. Stereo does what it is supposed to do. Gas mileage is not bad, just average, but okay. I loaded the back full of mortar and blocks a few weeks ago, and it still drove great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
The brakes seem to have an issue that we cannot resolve. We bought it used with 110k. We upgraded the pads to the most expensive that Autozone carries. It took away the vibration and noise, but in a few weeks it came back. Rotors are in good shape, so I'm not sure what's causing that. Other than that, the interior stains when wet, (even with rain water). Lastly, the paint has been chipping off of the climate controls and radio dials.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
It's a pretty decent vehicle. It was fairly cheap, fit in our budget, and is also big enough for our toddler and her 3,000 stuffed animals. It can haul a fair load. Other than the braking issues, I would definitely recommend the Equinox.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 4, 2013

a russell
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Roomy.
Overall interior is great.
Easy to read instruments.
Comfortable seating.
Nice stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Better turning radius.
Better placement of window buttons.
Less overall dash.
Better gas mileage.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I'd recommend this sports utility. A great family car, but could do better on outside noise and gas mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 31, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Everything it was perfect for me and not as big as other SUV's. At the same time being easy on gas.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
I would make replacing of the radio easier. To replace the factory radio is very costly because of pieces needing to be ordered in order to change radio. Its not as hard when dealing with older year cars. The new ones should be just as easy to replace.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
After all I would still buy another one it goes through the snow with ease. Someome already bought one after seeing me with one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 19, 2012

brandon
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Nothing

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
This car is the biggest piece of crap I have ever owned! It was in the shop 7 times in the first 3 months of me buying it and they still couldn't figure it out! Since then I am constantly replacing something every time I get one thing fixed another thing breaks, everyone I know that has this vehicle as well have the exact same problems that I have had!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 20, 2012

kristine
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Roomy back seat that moves front and back.
Adequate head room.
Heated front seat.
Digital temperature on rear view mirror.
Controls on steering wheel.
Transport large objects when back seat and front driver seats down.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
*Terrible turning radius. You have to back up several times just to clear a simple turn.
*Interior paint on radio, heat/cool buttons, side door handles does not hold up.
*CD player does not work when cold.
*Difficulty removing key from ignition.
*Cannot engage emergency brake when cup holder out from arm rest.
*Dangerous visibility with backseat headrests which are the same size as front driver & passenger.
*Drives like a truck and is not a smooth riding vehicle.
*Horrible gas mileage.
*Ball Joints and Suspension Rods need replaced often.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
Not a fan and will would never recommend buying this year/model.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2012

Nicole
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Looks.
Roomy for the kids in the back.
Ok gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Paint is chipping in the interior.
Vision is like tunnel vision.
Starting is becoming a problem...

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I really like the look of this SUV.. I like the way it drives..


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 15, 2012

Teresa Ford
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Roomy.
Looks sharp.
Drives real smooth.
Gas mileage for an SUV is pretty good.
LOVE IT!!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?
Use a colored plastic like the dash for the console where the radio and such is, as the paint is wearing off.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
I have wanted one since they came out and I finally got one. They hold their value pretty well and I am happy I bought it...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Equinox Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Equinox? 2005 Chevrolet Equinox Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Equinox | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise