Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-20/22-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.8L I4 175HP
3.5L I5 220HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 25 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Colorado in the bottom 20% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
20%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Colorado in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Colorado also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Solid build
  2. Simplicity of interior
  3. Sturdy feel
  4. Practical layout
  5. Bang for the buck
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Colorado
  1. Engine performance
  2. More interior sizzle
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More comfortable seats
  5. Blend design
Submitted Oct 26, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
It's biggest pro is that it has been exactly liked I hoped it would be when I bought it new over 150K miles ago - I still like its looks, it has been great for hauling many many small loads as well as several cross country trips, fits in the garage, and has been totally reliable. In short, if I had to do it all over I definitely would.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
As much as I have enjoyed this truck the turning radius is pretty poor - oh well. The gas mileage could have been better - 20-22 in the city, 26 or so on cross country trips - but not bad. The original equipment tires (Generals) were very basic, but they worked and when the time came I replaced them with larger, better quality tires.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
This is an extended cab, five cylinder 3.5 litre engine with the manual five speed transmission - a setup that has not been available for years .... too bad, it has been excellent for me!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 30, 2012

Mary Poston
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
The size is just right for me.
Drives good.
Love the sunburst color.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Did not like the stock rims and small tires. (I changed all that)
CD player broke after the first year. I replaced it with a new stereo system.
When it is cold the windshield forms ice on the INSIDE of the truck.
The cloth interior seats started to pull apart at the seams on the back rest part after about 2 yrs. (I stitched them up)

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Overall, I love my truck but it really does need improving. I plan to keep my Colorado because it is paid for and it drives great. (So far.)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 14, 2012

justn
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Good gas mileage, sturdy, can tow a surprising amount.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Stock rims suck. Stock tires too small. Tailgate is too.... Bland.
Engine is too weak. (I have the 4-cyl.)

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
It's a good small truck. I was debating between this truck and a 2006 Tacoma and I'm happy with my decision. I would have this one over a 2000-2007 Tacoma any day.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 12, 2012

Walter Rhodes
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
I purchased it brand new - it now has 120,000 miles and it has never left me hanging. Engine runs like it did the day I bought it. My wife has a newer model vehicle also a GM if make big trips I trust my truck more.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
General Motors and their vehicle service system. There is little communication between dealership service shops and GM. Radio went out they fixed. Two recalls one on break light which they repaired and another the first year that I can't recall what the recall was. You would think you spend $27,000 on a car from them they would treat their customers with more respect. Been holding that in for 6 years. Also not happy about the Isuzu version. If I wanted to drive a foreign truck I would have bought one. Stop being a sell out GM.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Trustworthy great truck the inline 5 cylinder is great and still has the power it had when I bought it. Great utility truck. Driven this truck to the end of the world and back. Treat her great and she will do the same.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 14, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
It looks good even though it won't start all the time.
Very safe (if it won't crank up, you can't get rear ended from no brake lites).
The stereo plays loud enough to cover up the road noise.
AC is vary cold (because it only works on high mode).
The brake lite issue was covered by a recall.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
I feel that the factory should cover the repair cost of the no start glitch.
And the ac blower problems that is clearly poor design problem.
Fuel economy not as advertised.
Road noise and rough ride can be expected.
You never know if the truck will start and the dealer can't find problem.
Head lite lenses need replaced every 2 years and are overpriced.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
The truck was vary over priced and undependable with only 45000 miles, needs repaired too often for me to ever buy another one.
I am glad I still have my 2000 tundra to tow my Chevy Colorado to the repair shop.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 10, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
This truck is very roomy for a compact design.
My particular truck has been very dependable (70,000 miles with no problems) and the fuel economy isn't bad, considering I have 4 wheel drive.
It also rides good and handles well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
The engine is a bit underpowered. My next Colorado will be equipped with the 5.3 litre V-8.
A little more bling in the interior wouldn't hurt either.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
All in all, I'm very satisfied with my Colorado. Its size, dependability, fit and finish are very good. As I said in the Cons section, I will be buying another Colorado.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 13, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
What is there to like?
Windshield wipers act-up had fixed and they still don't work.
Speakers been replaced twice and guess what, they are bad again.
Had a recall on exhaust.
Heater went out.
Took truck to the car wash and the paint washed off in chips.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Chevy dealers and manufactures, help customers get these fixed and not charge them an arm and a leg for the faulty manufacturing of these trucks and care about customers and not their wallet. This would be nice but like that will ever happen. If you own a Colorado, good luck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 13, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Very quiet.
Very economical.
Easy to tow with motorhome.
Gas mileage is about 25 mpg.
4-cylinder motor is easy to tinker with!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Did it already. 17-inch wheels and bigger tires. Works well...a door lock on PAX side would be a nice change.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Overall, a good buy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 29, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
I like all of it.
The engine ( i-5 ) works for me. It's peppy enough.
Fit and trim is good on my truck.
The front looks sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Beef up the rear - wants to sag a little when loaded, so I installed a rear set of firestone air bags, it was a great add on, we pull a 13 foot pop up camper with ease, have to down shift on hills but that saves the transmission.
Needs better suspension on rear - other than, that I got what I paid for.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
It's a great little truck. I do not understand the other owners who had tire problems, maybe they do not maintain them properly, check air, rotate them every 3000 mile. I must admit the generals that were on it when new I gave away put on a set of michelins, ( a great truck tire ) after 32000 mile tires still looked new.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?
Leaking intake valve, misfires at low rpm. Started at 42,000 miles, dealership tell me it's a manufacture defect. General Motors said they won't cover it. Dealership denied telling me it was a manufacture defect. UN AMERICAN. I WILL NOT QUIT and you shouldn't. 3,600 dollars to fix it.

My tires wear out fast.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
Awful. General Motors built a poor engine with a manufacture defect that cause the buyer a lot of money to fix on top of a monthly payment. Unacceptable, shame on them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Colorado Model Year - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Colorado?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Colorado? 2005 Chevrolet Colorado Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Colorado | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact