Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-25/29-34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 145HP
2.4L I4 171HP
2.0L I4 205HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 43 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt in the bottom 19% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
19%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Aug 24, 2013

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I've had my 2005 cobalt since 2006. It is stored inside for 4 months during winter. This spring I noticed the hood has faded so bad, people ask whatever happened to your car, you should email Chevy dealership. My question is, would you people paint the hood as this is not normal as I've checked out other 2005 Chevy Colbalts in this area and they are driven all year round and paint has not faded. Please help.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2013

James
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Av jack to plug in ipod.
Power seats.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 20, 2012

Emmy-Lou
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good looker. Other than that, nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I have been having nothing but problem with the car.
Electrical windows work at times and don't most of the time. Now have problems with engine coming on and shutting down the car.
Had to change brakes twice on and have only owned the car 6 months.
Guess I should have done better homework on cars before buying, I went for the looks.
Interior is crap. Electrical is crap, not much more is any good - can't wait to get rid of it. I won't be buying any more Chevies and I've been a Chevy buyer for a long time.

Replace it with a Toyota.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I have nothing good to say about this car. I haven't had one day of driving this car without having some kind of a problem with it. Again, will never buy another Chevy product.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 23, 2012

Renee
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Great for a first car that doesn't require a lot of driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The engine sucks.
Too many electrical problems.
Poor exhaust system.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I bought this car for my daughter as a graduation present. At first it was wonderful but then she needed to increase the amount of driving she did in it. That is when it started to fall apart. I would not recommend this car to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2012

Justin
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Quick, easy to customize with millions of aftermarket choices of parts.
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Better transmission, exhaust system, less electrical bulls*** better brakes.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
This car is OK for grandmas who use it to go get groceries. On Friday and church on Sundays.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 14, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good on Gas, great engine, still have it with 96,000 miles love it roomy in front, i have a 2.2 L engine upgrading it in the summer of '12 to 2.5 L turbo

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
cheep paint cheep rims Alloy had 3 wheel bearings gone 100 dollars each, back seats are okay if the front are all the way up if not the person in the back is screwed

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Bought my cobalt with 3 different tires got that fixed a little better on gas miles


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It's cute.
Good on gas.
No problems at all..

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Make the window downs electric and to lock it.
Stains easily.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I like it. My 1st car and no problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2012

ryguy2121
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It's amazing.
It has good gas mileage.
Fast for a 4 banger.
Looks cool.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Bad interior.
ABS brake sensors.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Overall, a good car. Hopes it gives me good years.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
* Looks expensive but really isn't.
* I get about 32 mpg highway which is nice.
* Small inside but yet roomy at the same time.
* Most parts cheap to fix.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
WELL!, for starters my front driver speaker cuts in and out a lot, key would get stuck in the ignition numerous times (had this fixed), vibrates constantly going 60 mph and can't figure out why, paint on radio wears off like crazy, door handles are peeling, interior stains no matter how fast you try to clean it and that includes the floor, brakes wear faster than usual, vibrates and makes rattling sounds in the front end... shall I go on?

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
All in all, I got a great deal on this car and it only has 111k miles on it and everything is all at once going wrong. It is a very cute car and looks pricey but yet at the same time was very cheaply and poorly built. It is your standard basic car and that's great and all, but I really think they could have put a little better parts in it to begin with.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 26, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
1. Good gas mileage.
2. Decent power and acceleration.
3. Cheap parts.
4. Nice appearance.
5. Spacious interior (front).
6. Easy to do self repairs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
1. Power windows and locks.
2. Engine randomly stalls (especially in cold weather).
3. Power steering failure.
4. ABS failure.
5. Cheap paint.
6. Upholstery stains very easily.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
For the price you get what you pay for. The 2005 cobalt has some good qualities, but many flaws. Many issues developed over time. In my opinion Chevy did not focus enough on the quality of the components on this vehicle. The issues that arose were very preventable if more QC was involved in the manufacturing of the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact