Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 26-27/34-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.6L I4 103HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 23 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Aveo in the bottom 13% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
13%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Aveo in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Aveo also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Aveo Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Spacious interior
  2. Gas mileage
  3. Comfortable
  4. Looks of the car
  5. Zippiness
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Aveo
  1. Tighter suspension
  2. More aggressive exterior look
  3. Center console
  4. More horsepower
  5. Better tires
Submitted Mar 11, 2012

alecks
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Good gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I have an electrical problem. My engine fuse box white block is burned and my lights don't work.. I read I can get them soldered together but I wonder if I should just get another car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 2, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:2
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
We have the first year 5-door Aveo. Gas mileage is pretty good. The interior is pretty spacious for a small car. Lots of head room for taller people. The handling is not bad for this kind of car, and the ride and noise level are okay.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Timing belt premature failure is a known issue, seriously needs to be improved - it cost us a motor and left family stranded roadside for quite some time. Door latches seem to be a continual source of malfunction. If you live in a city with bad roads, forget this car. We replace the A arms annually, and need an alignment at least 3 times per year, a little bit heavier construction of the front-end suspension would be a really good idea. GM service during the warranty period was absolutely awful. I had to write several letters directly to GM Canada to finally get two recalls to get the EFI intake icing problem fixed after being temporarily stranded twice roadside in -30C temperatures.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
I would not strongly recommend this car due to the extremely poor quality of GM service, and the serious nature of some of the mechanical problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Interior is spacious, visibility is great and very easy to drive and park.
A/C and heating works much better than other cars I drove (including Chevy Impala).

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
More leg room. Although I don't find it uncomfortable, but I would feel better with a bit more room.
The engine temperature gage stopped working at one point of time so the whole dash had to be replaced. I would be interested into price but thankfully it was within warranty period :).

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Excellent car. I like it very much. Other than the engine temperature gage I did not have any problems with it. I would consider buying it again if in market for a car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 8, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Gas Mileage.
Surprisingly roomy.
Our Aveo has all the goodies - power locks and windows, keyless entry, cruise control, radio with cd and aux input for i pods and mp3 players, and an a/c that will freeze your butt off!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I don't like the location of the cup holders but it's really not an issue if the car is in drive...

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Great Great Great car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 12, 2010
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
The size makes it easy to find parking space.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
It is very costly and most of the parts are made of plastic.
The cup holders are in a bad position.
Doors and Windows malfunction a lot.
Besides, something is always falling apart and breaking or have to be fix even when the car is considered to be fairly new to beginning with. Overall this is a very poorly made car and just not worth buying.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
This is one of the worst car to buy - buyer beware. I am so surprised they haven't done a recall on this vehicle. It is very unsafe and unreliable. It has bad electrical problems. The thermostat popped in the middle of a major intersection and ended up costing over $300.00 to fix, because it was made of plastic and they had to order it from the dealer which was very costly.

In fact, most of the main parts always have to be brought by the dealer, which is a complete rip off, and then you have to paid for the labor which is so expensive.

I believe they made this car so poorly and costly that it is not worth the money. It is much better to buy a Toyota, Honda or Nissan where you have a better chance of getting the parts for a much cheaper price including labor and a much better and safer car compare to the 2005 LT Chevy Aveo. It seems like as soon as you resolve one problem, up pops another one. Please don't be fooled because people think it suppose to be good on gas and because you are only going to end up paying an arm and a leg for the rest of the vehicle and you will surely not get your money's worth.

So do yourself a favor and run as far away from this nightmare of a vehicle. It is very unsafe and could put you and your loved ones' life in danger in the end, and it's just not worth it. I pray that the Chevy would just recall this vehicle before someone gets seriously hurt or worst die. The car malfunctions a lot and the driver side lock slip in between the door and the lock would lock without you doing it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 22, 2010

Greg21
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Gas millage :), my 4 dr. sedan SVM cost $9,290 brand new.

I have 77,000 miles on it and it still runs like new with the exception of making sharp turns to merge onto the highway - seems to stop the fuel from flowing to the engine momentary.

I'm 6'2 and have plenty of leg and head room in the car. The ride is surprisingly quiet and smooth. Test drove a much nicer Honda Civic and guess what, my car was still quieter, the Honda win all the other categories.

My next small car will be the Toyota Yaris but until then I love everything about my Aveo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Nothing, you get what you pay for. But standard anti lock brakes and stability control is much needed on a car this small.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Stick with the basics when buying this car, i.e. 5sp manual trans no cruse no air. If you can't live without those options, than buy a Honda Civic or Toyota Yaris.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Handles wonderfully, fits myself and three kids with all our baggage. The split rear seats can be "rolled" out of the way making a lot more space when I need to haul cargo. And of course the gas mileage, took it from Golden to Victoria for a work related conference the return trip through a mountain pass with snow and fog, two semi trucks off road, one trailer riding atop the cement blocks meant to keep traffic on the road not down the side of the mountain, and another semi crashed on fire, but my lil Aveo made the trip without a hitch!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Rear defrost isn't working yet. The light in the dash still works. Only one cup holder for the backseat passengers.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Very pleased overall.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2009
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
Great on Gas but that's it!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
WOW! Where do I begin? The shifter has broken several times and I bought the car brand spanking new in 2005 at that time they only had 50,000 mile warranty and I waited too long to get the shifter fixed which is of no fault to Chevy. I take full blame for that. Nonetheless, I took the Aveo to the dealer and had the entire shifter unit was replaced it cost over $350.00. I was told that it did not come with their normal lifetime guarantee warranty but only a one year warranty (figures right?) well wouldn't ya know, exactly 1 yr and 1 month later it broke again!! Talk about being pissed off... So now I drive the damn Chevy around with the shift lock release button because I refuse to pay for a damn faulty part twice.... And that’s not the only issue I’ve had with the Chevy but I won’t take up all your time. So, to sum it up there has also been electrical problems with the damn car will not start in park but it will start in neutral (crazy right) and just these last two week (08/04/09) my brake lights wouldn’t shut off and it would drain my battery. I was told this is also an electrical problem but surprisingly it wasn’t too costly to fix ($42.00).

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Because of my lovely experience with the Chevy Aveo I will never purchase another Chevy vehicle in my entire life unless Jesus himself comes down and tells me to!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2009

Eric Bullard
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I like the gas mileage in this car. I have taken it on a road trip from Ohio to Maryland, up to New York and back to Ohio. All with a full load of passengers and suitcases and bags (had to strategically place) and achieved an average of 34 mpg on the highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I have had problems with the shift lever breaking on me, had to replace twice. It would lock in park and I would have to use my key to override just get out of park. Also my lock cylinder fell into my door panel. I took off the door panel to fish it out and put back in place. Two days later I cannot open my car door from the inside and the window will only roll down halfway.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
Overall I think that this car is cheaply made. I think that I can buy a car that 10 times more reliable for just about the same price if not a few thousand more (Toyota Yaris, Honda Fit). I will never, ever, ever buy a Chevy again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 20, 2009
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I like the roominess for it being a small car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?
I have had an electrical problem since the beginning. I did not take out additional warranty. If the car blower is on when you turn off the car and then start it back up, it blows the fuse. Then it takes out the relay. I have replaced the relay twice but not since 2007. I waited too long and the relay warranty is not covered. So, I have to come up with cash to replace again. The radiator over heated while I had it running and the door open. I swear the two are related but they tell me no way. It damaged something but that was covered on the 100,00 powertrain warranty. I have not replaced the relay and now my driving lights do not work nor the low fuel light. More electrical? Which is not considered to be part of the powertrain. I have to pull my manual out and see if I can locate the fuse diagram and see if it is a fuse. I am very frustrated and scared that this will continue to worm its way through my little car and leave me stranded!! I thought when I bought a brand new car I would be able to just drive it and maintain it. Not have to worry about major issues. I should have known though, my Lumina was a lemon from the start too! Trust in Chevy....not the next time I go to buy a car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Aveo Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Aveo?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Aveo? 2005 Chevrolet Aveo Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Aveo | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact